We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, stunning view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Club Resort to your Saves list
Oaks Club Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 - 179 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Can't fault this place. Clean, huge lounge area and deck. Bedrooms also spacious. Fully equipped kitchen. The view is to die for. About a 10-15 minute stroll into town along the lake.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: 802 is two bedrooms with a massive deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming back and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    79
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
78
102
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

First trip to NZ Family of 4 2 adults 2 kids aged 9 and 10. This place was chosen specifically from the photos on the web and also having what we needed. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with washer dryer dishwasher and large family sized fridge. The bedrooms were clean warm and cosy the children had their own bathroom with heated floors on the entire apartment. Lots of cupboard space and living area was huge. We had a fireplace that broke a couple of times during our 10 day stay, and it was cold on those days. Short drive into Queenstown definitely get yourself a rental car as it makes the experience more fun as you can go anywhere.!
The only really annoying thing about this place is the car parking and access it is a very tricky entry and steep driveway down into the car park. Other than that it was great !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. Our apartments are an excellent base to explore the Queenstown region. I am pleased your family enjoyed staying with us. I apologise for the issues with the fireplace. It is a fantastic inclusion in winter. I hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Only 1 thing stopped the Oaks Club Resort getting 5 stars. No restaurant on location.
Everything else was fabulous. The views were amazing. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the service was excellent. All staff were friendly and very accommodating.
It is located about 15 minute walk along the road to the centre of Queenstown, or a short bus ride for $3 which stops right out front, or you can do the 35 minute casual stroll around the lake shore, which is gorgeous and recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Kia Ora and thankyou for your comments. The apartments are spacious, comfortable and have "wow" views. I am pleased the team were friendly and accommodating. The walk along the lakeside track to town is sensational. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Queens town - Room no 904 ( Great View and and its with terrace Jacuuzzii facing the Lake ).
Its has amazing view and locations . It is not in the city but worth the view .
Best for Couples .One of the best views .
Dont miss it

Room Tip: Room with terrace and Jaacuuziii . Room no 904
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Kia Ora and thankyou for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed one of our Lakeview Spa apartments. Relaxing around (or in!) the spa is a fabulous way to enjoy the views over Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountains. I hope you return to Queenstown and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent a few days here - sensational views of the lake; terrific balcony with outdoor furniture; very plush 2 bedroom suite; very clean and high quality fittings; fully equipped kitchen, very friendly staff and just a few minutes from town. Exceptionally quiet. Mattresses a little too firm for me. We could have stayed a few weeks. Great value for money. Only drawback is no on site restaurant if that's your requirement but there are so many options in town why bother...highly recommended

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the extra for a lake view - its worse the money - you'll never want to leave t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your comments. Our modern apartments feature balconies and as you say, the views are sensational! We are well positioned only 3-4mins drive from town but far enough away that it is quiet. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was superb, the view was spectacular! Our four night stay here was the most comfortable time of our two weeks in New Zealands south island. We would recommend this accomodation to any families or couples looking for comfort and a little luxury. :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your comments. We are proud of our property and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were impressed the minute we arrived and it only got better from there for our 6 night stay.
We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment called 'The Chewynski Lookout' and it had our family impressed.The decor was nice and there were mirrors everywhere which just added to the feeling of space in the apartment.
We have three school-aged children and our budget didn't stretch as far as a 3-bedroom apartment so at our suggestion we were allowed a rollaway bed for our third child for an extra $35 p/n. For budget-conscious travellers, apparently you can request a non-serviced rate upon booking (I don't know how much this brings the price down but if you're only staying for a short while then it's probably worth considering).
The staff were friendly and welcoming. They offer 30 minutes free wifi per day in the beautiful lobby.
I visited the gym once (because it was raining). It was a very small windowless room with one treadmill, one cycle and one weights machine fortunately no one else was using the gym at the time because it would have felt very cramped otherwise. I suggest doing the 3 km walk into town along the lake's edge as a fresh air alternative if the weather is favourable.
THINGS WE LOVED - The view from our own private balcony!!! These apartments have arguably one of the best views in Queenstown. We ate in as much as we could because it was a shame to leave the view behind. We loved having a washing machine too.
CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM - Master bed and pillows were way too hard. Given that we cooked and ate in a lot, the kitchen was not stocked anywhere near well enough. Please consider adding the following items asap... trays for the oven so that you can cook things in it, detergent so that you can handwash dishes and wipe down benches and stove top, spaghetti server, BBQ utensils for cooking and cleaning.
OVERALL - Would definitely stay here again. Or if I had a spare $400,000 lying around I'd buy one!

Room Tip: I don't believe that there would be any suites here without a view, so don't pay extra for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thankyou for your comments. I am thrilled that you had a fabulous stay with us. We are very fortunate to have such a sensational position and balconies (apartments) to take advantage of the views across the lake to the mountains. Un-serviced rates are an option for all bookings. The washing machine and dryer are convenient inclusions. Thankyou for your recommendations, we will investigate. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Club Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.