We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position and excellent facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Club Resort to your Saves list
Oaks Club Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good position and excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Perfect for families as the rooms are well equipped and the views are great.Its also near the bus run to Remarks.I think for Queenstown its good value as we shopped around abit. A bit hard getting on and off the main road going in so mbe careful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club in Queenstown. It is wonderful to read that you found you room well equipped with great views. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    89
    40
    17
    9
See reviews for
83
124
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely spacious self contended apartments approx 1.5 Km,s out of town centre.Modern decor lovely lake views suited for family's and or friends traveling together.The kitchen is great if you want to eat in or just have some drinks and nibbles after a day of skiing or sight seeing.

Room Tip: Avoid 4 & 9 floors as they are thoroughfares from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday to Queenstown an enjoyable one. We are pleased you found your apartment to be modern with lovely lake views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Ok, we had two families of 3 staying in a 3 bedroom unit on the ground floor overlooking the lake. Yes, the room was very nice. Yes the view was very nice too. But...

1 & 2 Master bedroom's bathroom heater control; was not adjustable, showed Er for error. Fix it man came promptly, (this is the good service part) Fix it man could not fix the underfloor heating in the bedroom as the element was shot. It was winter and we never had heat in our bedroom for the whole week. (No discounts or apologies offered). This was a Saturday, we were told that another serviceman would be by on Monday morning to fix the bathroom heater control but by the time we checked out THE FOLLOWING FRIDAY no fix it man ever came.

3. The front desk closes down at 8:00 pm. Can you believe it?

4. One day we got back from skiing around 7:00 pm, we wanted a shower, the Maid had taken our old towels but forgot to leave new ones. I called Housekeeping and was told that if I wanted towels I'd have to go to the lobby to get them myself from the front desk! Good thing we'd discovered this before 8:00 otherwise we'd have been out of luck and unable to shower because the front desk closes at 8:00

5. No free wifi in the rooms, period. Seems to be a NZ wide thing. If you wanted free wifi you could go to the lobby (as long as you did it before 8:00 pm) and once each day you could get 30 minutes free wifi But only in the lobby.

6. The paid wifi that we got in the room. Best choice was 7 days for NZ$90.00. We thought FINE, we'll pay and atleast there will be wifi. But it only works for ONE DEVICE. Whatever you use to log on that first time is the only device you can log on with for those 7 days. Great when you have 3 business professionals, 1 University Professor and 2 - 13 year old boys. And if that weren't bad enough it turns out its 7 days OR 1000MB. Well, I'll use up 1000MB in the blink of an eye practically so a day and a half into our expensive 7 day run, guess what? We've blown through our alotment and have no more wifi !

7. The day we checked in we are told by the front desk, sorry, one room key only! We've 4 adults & 2 kids but one room key only? He says its a problem with their system, messed up. Lucky for us there was a different front desk person around 2 days later who when asked said sure, we can make extras, no problem. Good training for the staff.

8. Wifi in the lobby was out one morning. When asked the guy at the desk shrugs his shoulders and says sorry I don't know anything except it comes out of that little white box on the wall over there...

Any way, If you are looking for something a little cheaper and don't mind a few headaches go for it. We stayed at the Rees two years earlier which is 3 doors up the road which although it was much nicer and had less problems and better service it was also a heck of a lot more expensive, so its up to you, you can save a buck and take a chance...

Room Tip: See my review above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club in Queenstown. It is disappointing to read of the issues you experienced while staying with us. We regret the maintenance issue your experienced with the under floor heating. We are currently investigating this issue. For after hours needs, any calls to reception divert to our sister property Oaks Shores, we hope this was communicated to you at the time of your stay. The wifi is an external provider and all fees and charges are listed at the time of log in and reviewing terms and conditions before making a selection. We appreciate the lack of keycards would indeed be an inconvenience and it is normal practice to provide additional keys to our guests upon request. After speaking with our team on site, it appears unfortunately at the time of your stay, our supplier had been delayed in the delivery of our restock of these cards, which is why on your further request, the staff member was able to supply them once they had arrived. This is certainly not a common occurrence or practice and we regret any inconvenience caused. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently travelled to Queenstown with our 3 young (10, 5,3) children. We stayed in a 2 bedroom lakeview apartment for 6 nights. The views were amazing!!! The apartment was spacious and well furnished! We had problems with our gas fireplace on the 4th night there. The service we received was great. although they were unable to fix it that night, they equipped us with blow heaters for the night and we were all warm enough. The fireplace was then fixed first thing the next morning, which was great. Overall, we found the apartment very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful and polite. We will definately try and stay here on our next trip to Queenstown!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent family stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that you found your 2 bedroom apartment to be spacious and well furnished. We are pleased to read that you were able to get your gas fireplace fixed and our staff were able to provide you with heaters until the next morning. I will pass your comments in regards to our staff onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent a long time looking at all the Trip Advisor reviews before deciding on the Oaks Club and had booked a two bed apartment for a week whilst we enjoyed the snow.
The street signage for Frankton Road from the airport isn't great (& Google maps wasn't working yet) and we initially turned the wrong way. Even once we were going the right way, it was still quite difficult to find the place as the signage on the main road is very insignificant.
The complex looks quite plain from the road view, but is very modern and attractive once you get inside.
We were very pleased with the apartment. Everything was modern and tasteful. The kids had their own bathroom and there was all the usual kitchen gear including dishwasher and microwave.
Each apartment had its own balcony looking out over Lake Wakatipu to the Remarkable mountains - I never got tired of looking at them. I'd been hoping for snow in downtown Queenstown this time (esp. as it did the last time we were there in November a couple of years ago), that would have been the icing on the viewing cake :o)
The complex is a little way out of town, but it's only about a 20 mins walk if you dont have a car (and you can catch a bus for the return trip which is uphill).
The only thing I was unhappy about was our particular apartment (701) which was above the driveway into the underground carpark. The main bedroom in particular had all the cars going directly under it and you could also see the cars from the living area if you didn't draw the curtains on that side. Fortunately there didn't appear to be too many people coming in late/leaving too early, so it wasn't too disruptive, but would suggest seeking another apartment if you can.
I was also initially concerned about street noise, but we didn't hear anything.
The complex has lockers for skis/snowboards, but you do have to ask. The staff were all very helpful and responsive to any queries.

Room Tip: Go for either a really low or a high floor and avoid apartment 701
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort in Queenstown. It is wonderful to read that you found our complex to be modern and attractive and the apartment was tasteful. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the amazing views and it was a shame you didn’t get snow in Queenstown this time. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

WOW WOW WOW, need i say anymore. Waking up to the views of snowy mountains is fanastic. Having coffee overlooking the lake watching the jetboats going past. Our apartments was two bedroom with seperate bathroom facilities in the kids room. Very comfortable all round. dishwasher ment NO washing up YEAH!! we jhave two children 11 & 13. Easy walking distance to the main street, front counter staff very helpful, very enjoyable stay. Only the second time staying at Oaks resorts, but will be joing up as members and recommending it to anyone and everyone. One of the nice things aswell is the privacy between rooms and after going into the mall for dinner, you can come back to quiet, no noise from the busy eateries in town.....:O). Special thanks to SYD, in the fron office for helping us out and dinner recommendations......

Room Tip: we were in room 705 with corner mountain views ..beautifull!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent family holiday at Oaks Club Resort. We are very pleased you were able to enjoy your apartment and the amazing views of the Remarkable Mountain Ranges and Lake Wakitipu. I will pass your feedback in regards to Syd at the front desk onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back to Queenstown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We lucked out on this place having booked it only the day before on line. Walking in to the flat we were all speechless both at the size of the place and the amazing views. The development is very modern and follows that theme inside, open plan, floor to ceiling windows and great fixtures and fittings.

We could easily have stayed here for much longer and the price was excellent value. We won't forget sitting on the large balcony taking in the view across the lake to the mountains sharing a few cold beers, great way to end our first foray to NZ.

Oh, and yes we asked how much the flat might be to buy as there was a for sale sign outside the whole development, the reply from the very helpful receptionist.........a cool 1million dollars..........so be a millionaire for a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Club Resort. It is wonderful to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday to Queenstown a memorable and enjoyable one. We are pleased you found your apartment to be open with great fixtures and fittings. We agree that sitting out on the balcony taking in the amazing views of the lake and mountains is a truly special moment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#32 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Club Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.