We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fun time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Public Kitchen & Bar

Public Kitchen & Bar
Ground Floor, Steamer Wharf | Beach Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Wai Restaurant)
+64 3-442 5969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 179 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The newest offering by acclaimed restaurant group Wai Dining, Public Kitchen and Bar is now open on the Steamer Wharf. Offering exceptional local cuisine Public Kitchen is all about local produce caught in the hills or farmed down the road or caught off the coast. The closest restaurant to the lake the outdoor terrace is a must dining option to take in the views and enjoy the exceptional sharing dishes on offer. Open daily from midday for lunch, bar grazing, drinks and dinner. Open Everyday from Midday till late
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Fun place right on the pier with a telephone booth that is the entrance. Very fun place for a drink and the staff was friendly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    102
    25
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has a very nicely written menu that sounds very appealing. But the actual food is very disappointing - we had 4 dishes of which 3 were quite tasteless. The fourth - a venison osso bucco - was not bad. The staff were friendly and helpful. These is better for the same price elsewhere in Queenstown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I ate here on our last night in Queenstown and thought it was an excellent choice. We wanted to experience NZ food so we had local venison, Bluff oysters and Amisfield Pinot noir and couldn't fault the meal or the service. It was laid back but yet a lovely dining experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

everything we ordered was exceptional, and the beef ribs and pork belly were the best I have ever had. It was the first restaurant we ate dinner at when we arrived in Queenstown, and it was so good we returned for our last meal before leaving. Recommended by the managers at Mantra Marina Apartments

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exciting dining concept or lack of kitchen timing ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

After a beautiful tramp on the greenstone/caples track we went for proper dinner. The dinner concept (sharing plates) was carefully explained to us. 3 starters and 2 mains should be enough for 2.
So we placed our order and waited for the food to arrive.
The food came in one big wave, meaning we were doing starters and mains, beef and fish and mussles all at the same time. When you eat the one, the others get cold.

The proposed portion was far from enough. But the waiters only found out after they cleaned out all the dishes and cutlery. So we ordered another round of mains, then some dessert cocktails, and some coffee to finish it all of.
I know timing in a kitchen is one of the critical items to get right, but to solve it this way is, let's say creative. It is definitively not my preferred way of dining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Public Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Public Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.