We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views, buffet tasty and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Restaurant Queenstown

Skyline Restaurant Queenstown
Brecon Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 3-441 0101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 184 restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $36 - $54
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Feast on delicious New Zealand cuisine for lunch or dinner, served up with the best views in town at Skyline Queenstown Restaurant.The famous Taste of New Zealand buffet offers delectable fresh seafood, salads, roast meats and delicious desserts, while the panoramic view from our windows will captivate you day or night.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good views, buffet tasty and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had lunch on a very wet day in Queenstown. The weather limited our holiday options so the Skyline was a good choice. The lunch package includes the cost of the gondola ride. Staff at the restaurant were very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineQueenstown, Food & Beverage Manager at Skyline Restaurant Queenstown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for your recent visit to our restaurant and sub consequent review on trip advisor.
We always relish glowing reviews from seasoned reviewer like you. The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoy your time with us.
Skyline Queenstown is a great all weather attraction so you can count on us when the weather turns out not so great.
Be sure to come and visit us for dinner on your next visit...sunset up here is just magical!

Best regards,
Pierre Poyet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    265
    168
    66
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for the views, not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a day off from Skiing & decided to ride the Gondola & have lunch up at Skyline Restaurant.
The views are amazing, let's get that out straight away. You have a panoramic view of Lake Wakitipu, The Remarkables & Queenstown, & on a clear day the view stretches away to the horizon.
Sadly the restaurant did not live up to the same standard. The lunch option is a buffet which you purchase with your return gondola ticket ($51/adult). There was plenty of food including a soup, cold seafood selection, cold meat selections, salad bar & of course hot mains including seafood, meat & vegetarian. There is also a dessert bar with tea & coffee. Sadly we found it all quite underwhelming. Most of the offerings were lacking balanced flavour & quite oily. The steak was tough & over cooked, the hot seafood options similarly dry & flavourless. The desserts were for the most part overly sweet & again lacking flavour.
This is the sort of location that would do well establishing a high quality a la carte restaurant, with a cafe for those who want to keep their pennies. Unfortunately the lackluster food detracted from our enjoyment of the stunning location.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineQueenstown, Food & Beverage Manager at Skyline Restaurant Queenstown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback on your experience of Skyline Queenstown restaurant.
I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy much of your dining experience. Be assured that I have passes your comments on to our Executive Chef and his team.
We cater to a large and varied customer based and aim to satisfy every palate.
I am confident that thanks to our continuous review system of our product on your next visit we will have dishes that tantalize your taste buds.

Best regards,
Pierre Poyet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kept looking out the window...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were tossing up where to go for our last night in Q'town and we're glad we chose this place. Once you get off the gondola you are struck by breathtaking views of Lake Whakatipu and The Remarkables. There are two dinner sittings - 5.45 and 8.15. Make sure you go for either lunch or the 5.45 sitting because you need to be able to see this view. We got there a bit earlier and booked a seat near the window (it's first come first served). There is a wide variety of food to choose from and although you might be able to get higher quality food at a specialised restaurant they still do a good job and provide an enjoyable meal. Also the service was exceptional. Overall a really good experience I would recommend to others.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineQueenstown, Food & Beverage Manager at Skyline Restaurant Queenstown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I am so glad to hear that we assisted you in ending your last night in Queenstown on a high!
The different viewpoints around the complex are indeed very special. Our lunch seating differs from our dinner seating and this is probably why many of our patrons visit us twice during their stay in the adventure capital. Also, your choice on dining time does depend on the time of year you visit, as our summer sunsets are well after 8.15pm.
I would like to pass on my most sincere thanks for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I are truly delighted that we were able to surpass your expectations.
Best regards,
Pierre Poyet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great meal with even better views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

As part of the tour, we caught the gondola up to the skyline restaurant in queenstown. Huge buffet style restaurant with so much food to choose from!! Had a lovely meal and then went outside for the views over the city. Not sure how much this buffet meal would have cost but would probably do this again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineQueenstown, Manager at Skyline Restaurant Queenstown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary post. It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the Skyline experience as a part of your tour.
We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the depth of our food and beverage offering and would visit us again.

Until then best regards,
The Skyline team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We thought we'd treat ourselves to a special treat - and this was it! The food was plentiful, varied, and devine! The service was spot on, and they handled the numbers well. The live easy listening music and of course the view made for a wonderful evening.
Once you get there early for your sitting, you get a beeper thing so you are free to go up to the observation deck etc without worrying about missing your spot in the queue.
If it is the view you want I suggest the early sitting and go as early as possible to have a look around before you get seated. Camera is definately useful!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineQueenstown, Manager at Skyline Restaurant Queenstown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks you so much for your valuable feedback. We are of course delighted that you had such a wonderful time up at our restaurant and at the top of the Gondola in general.
At this time of the year the early seating is a good option for day time viewing, however if you do choose to book the second sitting you can always make your way up earlier to enjoy both the day and night views. There is no restriction on how early one can come & there is plenty to keep you entertained before you dine.
Of course in the summer time our long daylight hours mean the sun does not set until well into the second sitting.
Thanks again for your glowing review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
The Skyline team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Restaurant Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Skyline Restaurant Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Restaurant Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.