We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in New Zealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freiya's Indian Restaurant

Freiya's Indian Restaurant
33 Camp Street, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
03 442 7979
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Best meal we had in New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wandered into Freiyas Restaurant as one of our family members is vegetarian and was desperate to find some tasty vege options in New Zealand. We weren't disappointed. The food, both vege and non vege was delicious, the staff were polite, friendly and attentive and we dined before 7pm which offered special rates on most of the dishes. Another member of our family had lived in India for 12 months and was really impressed with the authentic Indian flavours of the food. We dined there twice during our 3 night stay in Queenstown. We would highly recommend dining at Freiyas.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    33
    14
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlemaine, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great masala dosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The best masala dosa I've ever had. Even better than the best in India. The prices are very reasonable for Queenstown and it is well located the city CBD.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was quite crowded and people had to wait outside to get seating place within. That is how much customers like Freiya's food. Maybe there should be a few more waiters to serve. We had twice someone else's dishes placed on our table. But the food once served, was excellent. A mistake perhaps but we were charged for an extra dish that we didn't eat. We discovered this only when we'd returned to Auckland the day after.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Real Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We enjoyed a great combo here, served by a Spanish waitress in an Indian restaurant in New Zealand!. Freiya's is centrally located, in the midst of Queenstown's shopping precinct. The décor is basic, but they have enough confidence in their food preparation to allow customers to view the cooks at work. Our Rogan Josh and Chicken Korma, together with some naan bread and boiled rice, was delicious. It was not too spicy and looked attractive when served, unlike some other Indian food we have had recently. Our Spanish waitress was friendly and efficient and our meal was served promptly. We saved money by eating at 6pm, within the 4.30-6.30 early bird period, great if you are on a budget.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“horrible service and high price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

25th dec, X mas day, I took my wife to Freiya's for Christmas treat. But I felt this was a wrong decision.
I found Manager In long hairs was just ignoring us, I felt bad in front of my wife that why did I took her to this restaurant, I tried to speak to Duty manager regarding this. but they ignored.

I will never go back to that restaurant again, even not suggest to anyone.

Over all food was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freiya's Indian Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Freiya's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freiya's Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.