We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pancakes and coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Restaurant

Captains Restaurant
11 The Mall, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
(03) 441 1633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Pancakes and coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here on Thursday, was amazing! I had pancakes which were freaking awesome! And the coffee was great too! Sitting outside the ladies thought I was mental (obviously in -4 degrees weather) but they were more then happy to come out and make sure I was happy! Love this place! Thanks to the two ladies looking after me! Service was great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    141
    24
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Perfect if you are looking for a warm atmosphere, good hearty food and great wines. The service is friendly and attentive, make sure you have the bluff oysters if you are visiting in season. Really nice way to finish off our visit to Queenstown.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mary had a little lamb...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We all know the story... Mary had a little lamb, it's fleece was white as snow; and everywhere that Mary went, that labm was sure to go''. Well... if it followed Mary to Captains in Queenstown, the chefs would have served that lamb up to Mary and she would have been a happy, happy camper.

As an Australian, you think you know your lamb and how it should be cooked - but was I wrong.

I have never, ever, had lamb that tasted as good as that served up but the masterminds behind the scenes at Captains. We had a variety of dishes with lamb of different cuts including cutlets, leg, little steaks and more. Each was cooked in a different way... baked, grilled, BBQ and more, Each was delicious. These guys really, REALLY, know their lamb, as shown by the multitude of awards they have received.

What else ? All the vegetables were lovely, the various entrees and starters really tasty. Everything was of the highest quality and freshness. A very good wine list with some interesting options including many local Pinot Noir choices - perfect with the various lamb dishes we tried.

Sticky date pudding? Ate it.. loved it. Cheesecake? Tried it, and immediately had order envy.

There is more than lamb available of course and for those of us who ordered the fish, the steak and the soup, happiness was assured. It was all good.

The staff are friendly and casual but very professional and proficient; we felt looked after and comfortable from the moment we sat down. The dining room is reasonably spacious with tables for 2, 4 and even a larger party of 16 or so, down the back and enjoying themselves. Cuttlery, napkins etc etc all fine.

Of all the places we ate in Queenstown, this was the standout. Amazingly good value for the quality of the food and cooking.

I will definitely be heading back next time we hit Queenstown (with Mary and her little lamb in toe).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant in Queenstown Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant upon the high recommendation of the tripadvisor reviews. The ambience was lovely and the service was friendly and faultless. The menu selection was great but the food quality was good but not outstanding, however, we did go with very high expectations. For example, the duck was not fall off bone or filleted. Ask for a table away from front door to avoid draughts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Top Contributor
716 reviews 716 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 240 cities Reviews in 240 cities
1,569 helpful votes 1,569 helpful votes
“great green mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

pretty nice tiny restaurant located in a good spot of the beautiful queenstown. we were attracted by green mussles and i can say that they have been the best ever eaten in my life. recomended it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Captains Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.