We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust the Chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amisfield Winery Bistro

Amisfield Winery Bistro
10 Lake Hayes Road, R D 1, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
(03) 442 0556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Trust the Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The trust the chef menu is great. Try the $100 a head menu and they match e wine for you. Four courses and great food. Great service as well.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    107
    51
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Suggested by the owners of the cottage we rented for the week. Chef's menu and the meal was wonderful! Even with a bottle of nice wine cost was very acceptable. Limited seating so make reservations in advance.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Am surprised at the mixed reviews - this place is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have dined at Amisfield annually now for about 5 or 6 years and have always had a stunning experience. I am really surprised that anyone has rated this place as 'average' because it is anything but.

I think the 'Trust the Chef' is a great experience, particularly done over lunchtime in such stunning surrounds. We dined as a group of three and were all thrilled with everything served. I also ordered the grilled haloumi as an extra as I think this is something special.

It's worth saving some room for desert - the pressed chocolate tart was nothing short of sublime - diet be damned!!

My only tiny grumble is that the restaurant often alternates the main in the "trust the chef' and it would be nice to give customers the choice or ask them if they have a preference. This is only because I found myself a little jealous when the table beside us (doing 'trust the chef' also) received pork belly which I adore!! Our alternative was divine so this isn't a complaint.

I think this is one of the best South Island dining options and will go out of my way to dine here when given any opportunity. The setting suits both family groups (although have never seen kids here), and couples.

o.k, thinking about Amisfield has made me hungry so I'm going to stop writing here. Stop reading other reviews, pick up the phone and make your reservation. Don't forget the pressed chocolate tart.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My friends and I travelled here today and fell in love with the cheese & wine!! We would recommend the Amisfield Pinot Noir 2008.... stunning...... best wine we have EVER tasted!
Beautiful scenery and excellent service... can't get any better that this! :-)

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice food but not value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. Did a wine tasting with a helpful lady.
Nice food but not exceptional.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amisfield Winery Bistro also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Amisfield Winery Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amisfield Winery Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.