We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too salty and not tasty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of @Thai - Thai Cuisine

@Thai - Thai Cuisine
8 Church Street | Upstairs, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand (Formerly @ Thai Restaurant)
(03) 442 3683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Robina, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too salty and not tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The service was great and ask for a table near the window. However don't expect too much from the food. Our chicken and cashew nut and duck fried rice was bland and too salty. Was not too expensive which is some compensation.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had been traveling all over the country having our fair share of pub food, and wanted something different. This place did not disappoint! We were seated quickly and the servers were very attentive. The Green Curry was fantastic and the pad Thai was also tasty. They also appeared to do take out, if that is more your style. If you are looking for something different in Qweenstown, this is a perfect spot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Enjoyed a great meal for two. Yhe service was great, quick on order taking and receiving drinks and food. Lovely waitresses and waiter. Would have gone again if staying in QT another night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A bit disappointing overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were seated quickly then forgotten about, we had to attract the attention of the waitress to give our our order. We had a starter for 2 which was very oily as was our main of chicken cashew nut. The nuts were stale and over cooked, the vegetables giant sized and the chicken, while tender, had been fried in a batter which we thought odd. We will try a different place next time we return to Queenstown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We came in as a group of 5 for dinner. Service was lovely, the waitresses kept our water fresh and came to check on us and the food frequently enough to show they cared about our dining experience.

Onto the food: red curry with duck, pineapple rice, chili jam prawns with cashews, pad Thai with pork and fried egg noodles with chicken.

The curry was divine. It may be slightly sweet but it helps balance the subtle spice notes that come after each bite. The duck was tender, tasty and I would've ordered for more if I wasn't worried about freaking out the inlaws with my food intake. Our rice for this dish came in a teddy bear shape. Cute, but a bit weird.

The pineapple rice was wonderful. The crunchy fried noodles are good to eat with it. It may even be too much portion wise, but the hubby polished it off (truly, he took it for the team without so much as a blink of an eye).

The chilijam was a bit salty, but that could be because I eat only a little rice with my dishes. The portion was a bit small but the ingredients were cooked properly.

Grandauntie enjoyed her pad Thai and found it wonderful.

The fried egg noodles were saltier than what we at the table liked. It could be just us, as the table next to us added more soy sauce onto their egg noodles. So for that I can't give indepth info on beyond that it wasnt overcooked or soggy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed @Thai - Thai Cuisine also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to @Thai - Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage @Thai - Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.