We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Robins Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Rate Available
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good but could be excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Loved the room including the glass panel through to the shower-room (there is a curtain you can pull across which certainly stopped us being troubled by early sun through the top-light). Neat little kitchenette which was well stocked including wine and cheese in the fridge (we had stopped on route at a winery and bought both!). Evening drinks and canapés were nice and staff were generally helpful and friendly. We were disappointed to only get one hotel-sized shampoo to last 2 of us 3 nights (and as unstaffed overnight, no-one to approach to remedy this when we realised).
Our main grouse with this hotel was the breakfast. It is served in a canteen like room (okay we know the hotel has a minimalist décor). There is no buffet, just a menu from which you can make 1 choice or pay an extra 10 dollars for a second so for example, fruit came with muesli, but that would be extra if you wanted a cooked breakfast as well - having travelled around New Zealand for 3 weeks by now, this was unusual and we would expect better of a supposedly boutique hotel. To be fair, cooked breakfasts were good; however another issue was staff not always in room so couldn't access any of breakfast until they appeared and even then they were less than happy if asked for eg more coffee. A further irritation was that they ran out of marmalade on Friday and hadn't managed to restock by Sunday.
Previous reviews mentioned road noise but that didn't trouble us at all.
No pool and we didn't use room service so ignore these scores - computer glitch!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    68
    11
    0
    5
See reviews for
67
301
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, very comfortable rooms, very helpful, knowledgeable staff. We really enjoyed our stay. Free drinks and canapés at 6pm made a good start to an evening out. We would not look to stay anywhere else on our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! We where so happy to be greeted by a lovely modern decor. The space was peaceful and modern with out being sterile. Our room, on the top floor had beautiful views and we loved the design details.

We enjoyed a delightful cocktail hour every night and the staff was incredibly helpful in every question we asked from planning special meals to fun outings.

I would highly recommend booking here and look forward to visiting when we are back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had 4 enjoyable nights at the Queenstown Park Hotel. A few minutes walk to the gondola and to town, but far enough away from town that it's not a busy area. The air conditioning in our room didn't work so we were upgraded after 1 night - staff very apologetic about this, but the Remarkables room we were moved to was great, so no hardship for us! The staff were all friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations, taxi booking and suggestions for activities. Breakfast was nicely presented and a tasty range of options available. One criticism on the room - the floors are wooden, with only a rug under the bed, which was uncomfortable when I wanted to have a good stretch after a long hike. Maybe provide yoga mats? Tasty canapés and wine served in the early evening in the lounge - a nice touch to make guests feel at home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I just checked out of the Queenstown Park Hotel this morning. We (there were 3 of us) stayed there for 4 nights from February 4-8, 2014. I really would give it a 3.5 stars but there's no half points here at tripadvisor.com. This hotel is small, lovely, modern & clean. A boutique hotel done right in my opinion. My only reservation from giving it higher than a 3.5 stars is because we miss the other amenities that the big luxury hotels have such as a swimming pool, a gym, bell service, 24-hour receptionist, etc. which most small boutique hotels do not have. This is why my rating is lower than most reviews posted here. We prefer the big luxury hotels than boutique ones. The bigger name hotels (and there's not many in Queenstown) were all booked the days we were in town and we did not want to sacrifice comfort so we picked this hotel. It is rated highly on Tripadvisor and rightly so.

Upon quick check in, Edwardo & Marika gave us a warm welcome and immediately showed us our room. The room was very nice & modern but it was too small for the 3 of us so we requested a bigger room. Edwardo patiently showed us 2 other rooms to choose from and the situation was remedied. Our room was modern, bright & beautifully decorated with 2 comfortable double beds, fresh linens, etc. Furnishings & appointments are modern. There was a small safe, 2-burner stove, plates & silverware, electric coffee pot, toaster, blow dryer, iron & ironing board provided in the room. The bathroom was spacious, modern with a tub & shower, a single sink and heated towel bars. I love how the curtains were operated remotely by pushing a button from the bed. Location is in the quiet part of the town but a mere 5-minute walk to the busy central section of Queenstown. The Skyline gondola is very close by. They have a small & simple dining room downstairs but we did not eat there during our stay. They do not have drawers except for the 3 small ones inside the closet. The TV channels were very limited. I enjoyed the free internet. There was nobody at the front desk after it gets dark until about 7 am the next morning. If you want to get somebody during these hours, you have to ring a buzzer at the front desk and somebody shows up. I called one night from our room (around 10:30 pm) and the phone just rang and nobody answered. Since it was not too critical, I just let it go.

The best part was the free canapes & drinks daily from 6 pm to 7pm which also allowed us to socialize with the other guests. It was more personal and intimate after a busy day of exploring Queenstown. The canapes were artfully presented & delicious. The wines were always good. This was the best part of our stay and it's hard to get this in a big chain hotel. Edwardo was very friendly, helpful, efficient and informative. We appreciated all of these.

We had a memorable & special time in Queenstown. Our 4-night stay was not long enough to do and see the beauty of this majestic town. Boutique hotels have its own charms and Queenstown Park Hotel has it all but we still want the amenities only a big luxury hotel can give.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Good location just a few minutes walk to town centre. We had a Gondola room on the upper level which faced Robins Street and had a little balcony where you could watch the para gliders land on the land opposite. There was little street noise at night. Bed was very comfortable, room, bathroom and kitchenette spotlessly clean. The ceiling in the bathroom is glass, so while under the shower, you can look at the beautiful blue sky. Toilet is completely separate from the bathroom. I read about privacy issues because of the glass wall between bathroom and bedroom but there is a block out curtain. We once had a terrible experience with the (5*??) Beach Manor in Perth/Scarborough where the bathroom/toilet was in the room just separated by a curtain. It is nothing like that, don't worry. Lovely cocktail and canapé hour between 6.00 and 7.00 pm, Manager on duty so welcoming, friendly and helpful. When planning our next stay in Queenstown we will look at this little hotel first.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Contrary to other reviews we have read, we had a corner room with a balcony. The room was over sized and every amenity had been thought of. We loved the office set up in back of the bed, and LOVED the oversized mirror that swirls to become the tv. The nightly cocktail hour and appetizers was a big bonus and allowed us to meet some lovely other travelers. We would not stay anywhere else.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 21 Robins Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel is a brand new boutique hotel designed and built for the 5 star traveler in mind. Only 300 meters from the centre of town. Rooms are spacious and luxurious, each with its own kitchenette. Enjoy breakfast with fellow travelers or on your own courtyard or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.