We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big apartments, next to lake, views to mountains, walk to town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakefront Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lakefront Apartments to your Saves list
Lakefront Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   26 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Big apartments, next to lake, views to mountains, walk to town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The title of my review says it all, really. I stayed at Lakefront Apartments last week with an elderly relative, so was looking for two bedrooms, lake views, good value, and close to town. Lakefront Apartments is on the esplanade fronting the lake, a 5 minute, flat walk along the shore of Lake Wakatipu to the marina and the main shopping area of Queenstown. It is next to a motel and a backpackers place (Lakeside Motel) but is quite separate from the motel and the backpackers (so don't get confused and book the motel if you really want an apartment). The apartment we had on the second floor was huge, on 2 levels, with two big bedrooms, a bathroom with a toilet plus a second toilet in the laundry area, a dining table to sit 6 people, a working kitchen and laundry, and fabulous views from the balcony outside the apartment's living room across the lake to the Remarkables. I suspect the couch in the living room was also fold-out double bed - so that the apartment could easily fit 6 people - but didn't bother to check. Free carparking is provided on site. The staff member at reception was really helpful (organised a replacement broken light in the apartment asap). The place also was serviced daily with change of towels, etc. I booked over the phone and got the apartment for $NZ160 per night, which I thought was a really good price for this place. The fact that it was such an easy walk into town was also a real bonus. I'd be very happy to stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed on level 2 - not on the roadside, but still with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a superb location, just a shame that they are not priced to suit the decor and tiredness of the apartments. We recently rented a 2 bedroomed apartment. The pillows were like sleeping on nothing (very old and need replacing) as was the thin, old duvet inner (also need replacing!). The rooms themselves were fine, but the whole place could do with a good tidy up. Wouldn't take much - some new linen, coat of paint and the place would be transformed!
The servicing of the room was very lax, with only the towels getting changed (as instructed, if left in the bath), and the bathroom not cleaned on a daily basis. I could live with this if we were paying a lower price, but for what we were being charged I would expect more. Sounds like some of the other units might be in better condition - we were in unit 17.
Sorry, I don't normally moan, but do feel that we did not get value for money.

Room Tip: One that has been modernised!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just spent 6 nights in Qn at the Lakefront Apartments (3 bedroom unit) with my family. We had a great time, this place really was like a home away from home.
Heating throughout, and comfortable. Lots of space for the children to play with a good open plan kitchen, lounge area. Loved the laundry facilities in the unit - so easy to keep up with the laundry!
Excellent location being a 5 min walk to the town. No need for a car when you are this close to the action. Close enough for children to manage the walk.
The servicing was brief but all we required.
All in all a great stay and we would happily return. Reception staff were all excellent - helpful and friendly. Thanks team :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Lakefront Apartments were great. Daily serviced rooms with fresh towels and dishes put on if we hadn't done them. Excellent location close to town (only 5 min walk) with lake just across the road with great views of lake and mountains. Easy access to unit. Balcony on front to enjoy view more. Room for skis (we had four sets of skis and boots). Bus pick ups for Kiwi Discovery were right next door each day and everything was close by - town only 5 min and a convenience store just 100m away.

Room Tip: Apartments at the front have great balconies and views and easy access, but can be a little noisy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The apartment had a fantastic view. We were in number 10 a three bedroom apartment and paid $375/night so were very disappointed with dated decor, not warm when we arrived and only 2 different wines! When I called into reception during 'opening hours' no one came out. The site has tons of potential and is close to town but was below our expectations. Our unit was obviously not the one on their website?

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Fabulous location..but was really disappointed with the apartment.We paid $350/night and didn't expect to walk into an apartment straight from the 1980's..very run down. The pictures on the website are very misleading..would not stay here again for fear of getting apartment 10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great place,excellent views,well decored..........have been twice with them ,looking forward to many more...............

Room Tip: aparment no 3....excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakefront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Apartments

Address: 26 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakefront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Queenstown apartments - right on the water front. Two minute level walking distance to Queenstown Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lakefront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Apartments Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakefront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.