We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shotover Jet

Shotover Jet
Shotover Jet Beach, Gorge Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
+64-3-442-8570
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$102*
and up
Ranked #41 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World famous as the ultimate jet boating experience, Shotover Jet has thrilled over 3 million people since 1970, and now it's your turn! Take a unique breathtaking ride through dramatic and narrow Canyons, and hold on tight for Queenstown's only exhilarating full 360° spins. 'Can you handle the canyons?' with award winning Shotover Jet, 'The World's Most Exciting Jet Boating Ride' and the only company permitted to operate in the spectacular Shotover River Canyons.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was the 3rd time i was trying jet boating. but this has to has to be the best..We booked this in town and we only had to wait 15mins before the mini bus took us to the starting point. We were provided with life jackets n pics clicked.Then began an amazing thrill; cruising at fast speeds in a canyon river, just feet away from the cliffs and only in inches of water. We kept on shouting wow..oooo...woww.. and 360 degree turns were to selling point..a must experience thrilling journey..the beauty if the shotover river added to the amazing exp.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    229
    54
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Exhilirating Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of my trip. Awesome fun, hold on to your seat!! The cold breeze in your face and the odd splash of water really woke us up after a bit of a hangover!! Ride goes for about 20 minutes and these guys have awesome control over these amazing machines.

Thoroughly recommend it. Also, the day we went you could ride again for only $10 more if you wanted to go again straight away. I didn't, but one other fellow was on his 4th trip - and it wasnt even lunchtime yet!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exhilerating ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wow! We loved it. Our driver was excellent and gave us lots of thrills. Very friendly too. Felt safe all the time. I am amazed that even though the staff must deal with so many people they still manage to smile and make you feel that you are special and want you to enjoy your experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower hutt
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was really fun, our 6 year old son loved it, felt safe but at the same time found the ride exhilirating. Wish we could have gone on several times, its great that once youhave been on you can have more rides at only $10 which is great! Thought the photso were over priced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“so much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked this in town and were able to go out straight away, we only had to wait 15mins before the mini bus took us out which was awesome. The staff are all so friendly and nice and the entire process was very efficient, getting wet weather jackets and life vests, photos taken then on the boat.

the ride is exhilarating and we did get pretty wet on those 360 turns but dried out pretty quickly afterwards as it was only our heads and lower legs. I always wear dangly earrings and had on some lightweight wooden ones, they literally almost flew out of my ears so I recommend not wearing long earrings ladies :-)

We took advantage of the second ride for a massively reduced price and the second ride was a lot rougher then the first which shows that probably every trip on this could be different. I could have done it again however after the second one it was time to head home.

this is a great Queenstown attraction and heaps of fun for all ages.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shotover Jet also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Shotover Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shotover Jet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.