We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal experience from a family run company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air Milford

Air Milford
1 Tex Smith Lane, Queenstown, New Zealand
+64 3-442 2351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Air Milford is a family owned and operated business, specialising in personalised sightseeing excursions for visitors who want to experience the very best tours of Queenstown and the South Island of New Zealand. Air Milford purposefully remains a mid-size New Zealand tourism business. This allows the company to stay committed and focussed on offering its guests exclusive, niche sightseeing tours of the Queenstown, Fiordland and South Island regions. Air Milford is a tour company - not a transport company. The Air Milford team have an intimate knowledge of the scenic wonders of Fiordland, Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, Mt Cook and the Queenstown region. The 'hands on' tours take in magnificent fiords, New Zealand native forests and glaciers. Guests will be introduced to New Zealand's stunning native birds, seals, penguins and dolphins. Our modern aircraft are meticulously maintained and we are proud to have achieved one of the Civil Aviation Authority's (CAA) highest audit ratings for operations and safety.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A personal experience from a family run company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We did the flight to Air Milford as part of a Jucy trip from Queenstown and glad we did!

We got picked up and dropped off at the air field from our hotel and flew in a 14 seater plane to Milford, once we got there our pilot and owner of Air Milford  (Hank) got us on a shuttle bus and organised our cruise tickets once we got to the jetty.

We then got on our boat - where we received a free muffin and unlimited amount of free tea and coffee and off we went, as the road was closed there was only the 14 from our flight and a few others on the whole boat.  The commentary was very detailed and there was also a handout which explained the landmarks along the way.

Once we returned to the jetty Hank was there to greet us again and asked if we wanted to walk back through the forest to the air terminal - the answer was if course yes! It was a 15minute walk and Hank stopped along the way to point various things out to us!

We then got on the 45min flight back to Queenstown where again Hank pointed things out to us and let us know when thins were likely to be bumpy (all in all though as a nervous flyer Hank put me very much at ease!)

Once we landed in Queenstown there was transport to ate us back to our hotel.

All in all a special thanks to Hank and for making our trip to Milford Sound possible and enjoyable

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Flightseeing Milford Sound Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Milford Sound is one of the most scenic areas of New Zealand's South Island. You can access it from different locations and it SHOULDN'T be missed for anything.
I was lucky to be on a Fly-Cruise-Fly tour with Air Milford and I can absolutely recommend this tour.
It's an approximately 45-minute flight to get into Milford Sound, then you take a cruise into the fiord and out to the Tasman sea on a small boat, which is great because they can get really close to the wildlife and nature, such as waterfalls. And then flight back on a different route so we got to see different landscape from the sky.
Matt, the pilot, was incredible. He flew us smoothly over the top of the mountains and pointed us major points of interest and explained a bit about the area.
Also, all the staff are very friendly and willing to answer questions.
I absolutely recommend Air Milford for a trip that will leave you in awe of such spectacular landscape and country!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Owner at Air Milford, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Hi Erika,
On behalf of your pilot Matt, and all of the Air Milford staff, we wish to thank you for taking the time to write this trip advisor feedback. It means a lot to our business, but also to the trip advisor guest who is looking for a memorable holiday. The best thing about this feedback is your firsthand knowledge working in the tourism industry – as a front of house staff member, if anyone has a grasp on the quality of activities; you are the one to say so.
We look forward to sharing this type of experience with your cliental, and many others.
Happy New Year! From Air Milford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular, must do, great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a wonderful flight/cruise/flight to Milford Sound. It was the highlight of our trip. Matt our pilot was terrific, describing all of the spectacular sights we passed. Don't miss a trip with Air Milford!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Owner at Air Milford, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Many thanks for your swift review, via Smartphone application. I look forward to passing your comments onto our senior pilot – Matt Cameron. In fact it’s feedback like this that makes our pilots feel really proud to be flying here in Fiordland, NZ.
Safe travels, and all the best for the year 2013.
Air Milford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a last minute inclusion in our trip to New Zealand and turned out to be one of the most enjoyable experience we had in South Island. The trip was so special as this was our first ever small aircraft travel. Though initially nervous about the trip, after meeting the crew in Air Milford we knew there was nothing to worry. We traveled with our three children - the youngest being 7 months old! - and there was absolutely no issues at all. The amazing thing about the trip is that the trip is to Milford Sound, the flight takes you over some glaciers and you can see the mountains and glacier tops quite closely. Throughout the trip it is breathtaking scenery - be it lakes or mountains - the sights are just awesome. The cruise (in Milford) following the flight was also well organized in a big boat and suit large families with young children - absolutely safe.We saw small seals resting in the rocks and even enjoyed the small shower under the waterfalls!

The return journey was through a different route and it was more scenic views with detailed commentary by the captain. After this travel my kids wanted to do more small aircraft travel!!One important point to note for those travelling with children is that the flight is just smooth like any large commercial flight and there is no extra turbulence with the added bonus of the most pleasing scenic views of fiordland!

Air Milford's experienced crew and their choice of aircraft makes it easily the most recommended for those who are looking for a safe, secure and scenic experience of the fiordland! Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Owner at Air Milford, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Valued Air Milford Customer,

What a fantastic trip advisor report you have provided potential guests – for this we are truly grateful. Your words have helped clear up many of the misconceptions about flying small aircraft here in the mountains – such as the quality of our equipment being suited to the task, only flying when it will permit a safe & enjoyable flight, the views you will encounter, and the options we provide our guests for both big & small boat cruise excursions.
But most rewarding of all is to hear how much of a buzz your children got from flying with us! As a family owned & operated business, we love nothing more than getting this type of feedback. One day, I would like to think this experience will draw them back to gift their parents a trip, in return for all these memorable childhood travels!

On behalf of the whole Air Milford team, Merry Christmas & safe travels over this festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

One of our "must-sees" while visiting Queenstown was a trip to Milford Sound, which unfortunately due to the unpredictable weather - it took us 3 days until it was clear enough to fly. Everyone at Air Milford from Anthony to our pilot, Mike, were professional and incredibly friendly -- and we could have not asked for a smoother flight. We also appreciated that they had one of the larger planes available vs. other operators, which helped a nervous flyer in our group. Would absolutely recommend Air Milford to anyone!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmilford, Owner at Air Milford, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Andrea,

On behalf of the Air Milford staff, we would like to express our sincere thanks for writing this meaningful passage. The two key points that readers will benefit from are:

1. Book on your first available day in Queenstown. Inclement spring weather can sometimes extend early into the New Year, and as the description implies this is one trip you can’t afford to miss when in New Zealand. Our latest reports suggest that the Milford Road will be closed on numerous occasions this summer due to avalanche risk, so there is no better time to fly.
2. We have purposefully chosen to operate the largest aircraft into Milford Sound, for passenger safety, comfort, and viewing pleasure. All Air Milford aircraft are high wing Cessna’s built & designed specifically for flying in the mountains.

We value the time you have taken to share your comments, and recommendation to fly with Air Milford.

Yours faithfully,
Antony Sproull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Milford also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Air Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Milford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.