We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More pinot noir heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd.

Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd.
Rapid 2323 | SH 6, Gibbston Valley, Queenstown 9351, New Zealand
64 344 13315
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 201 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dine on sumptuous local cuisine in a restored 1893 church, take your pick from a portfolio of award-winning wines whilst you relax and enjoy the alpine splendor. Located 25 minutes from Queenstown, at the Cromwell end of the Gibbston Valley. Qualmark "Visitor Activity" endorsed.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“More pinot noir heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Here's another little gem of a winery. Situated in an old church, tucked along the Gibbston Valley, this winery produces excellent pinots for not over-the-top prices.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“How is this number 101? Food alone should be top 10!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visited as part of a tour with Queenstown bike hire at arrowtown.(fantastic company) waitiri was extremely hospitable, great setting, great wine, fantastic food which was some of the best we had in NZ. hope the owners don't want it kept too much of a secret as I've told everyone about it!!

could have spent the whole afternoon there! thanks to all!

Pat and Sinead

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful lunch in a gorgeous setting with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were in search for a vineyard lunch when we stumbled upon Waitiri Creek. It ended up being our favorite lunch during our entire stay in New Zealand. The hand-made pizzas are wonderful, which we paired with the winery's own dry Riesling. The staff was very friendly, and made some helpful suggestions for shopping and tramping in the area. We finished our visit with short pinot tasting, which is conducted in an old converted churchhouse. Truly a beautiful setting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwold, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine tasting, lunch, a walk and then coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We drove down to Waitiri creek from Jacks Point for lunch and to sample their wine. All just perfect (the sunny day and breeze helped that). Excellent wine tasting then pizza for lunch, walked a short circuit with the Mountain Buggy and then back for coffee. Left with 2 bottles of excellent wine which will be flying back to England with us tomorrow!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely riverside walk, excellent wines, first-rate pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had been planning to go to one of the bigger wineries in the area but they had no places for Sunday lunch. Disappointment turned to delight when we found this smaller winery on the SH6 at Gibbston. We were warmly greeted and encouraged to enjoy a leisurely walk along the nearby riverside loop before lunch. The menu is limited to a platter or pizzas, which are cooked on an outdoor wood fired oven, and they are really good quality with loads of topping on a tasty crust. We did a wine tasting first and then chose a glass of wine from these to go with our lunch. The wines are outstanding with Harriet Rose being the best rose we have tasted for a very long time. There is no charge for the tasting as long as you buy a couple of bottles and how could you resist such quality at cellar door prices. An added bonus was the friendly and informative explanation about the wines provided during our tasting by the owner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd. also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waitiri Creek Wines Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.