We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal on a suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Beacon to your Saves list
Peppers Beacon
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   33 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great deal on a suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Without reservations, we stopped by the tourist office in Queenstown, and they found us a great last minute deal on a 2-bedroom suite here. With views over the lake, the room had a well-stocked open-plan kitchen, dining table indoor & out, comfy living room and 2 bedrooms, both ensuite. The decor is neutral and won't wow you, but the place feels modern, is really well laid out & comfy, and the views & outdoor space are fantastic. It is a short (10-minute) walk out of town, but for me this was a plus because it was away from the backpacker bustle of the city centre. The hotel also has a shared outdoor entertaining/BBQ area that you can use, and secure indoor parking. A couple of the staff seemed a bit inexperienced and gave incorrect info but were all friendly and eager. While it is nice to cook in the suite, do yourself a favor and make sure to go to Botswana Butchery for a least one meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora MayWhentee

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have been training staff recently, could I asked you to email me directly on donna.stewart@peppers.co.nz with more inforatmation with regards to this. As I would like to ensure we are giving the correction information out.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    177
    66
    41
    30
See reviews for
153
213
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

- Nice room (we stayed 5 nights in a 2-room Garden View).
- Friendly staff.
- Great value if you get a special deal.
- Wifi only in reception, and only free for 10 mins. Our plan also had 30 mins wired internet free in our room, which isn't very long so we didn't use it.
- No DVD player in room, but available if you ask for one. (Not region-free).
- Good breakfast! (included in our plan)
- Garden area is safe for small children.
- Easy walk to center of town, and the lake is right across the road.
- Easy underground parking.
- Our room didn't have washing machine, but shared laundry is free.
- Almost nobody else staying there, but lots of painting was being done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora Mark S

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team.

The Courtyard Painting as now been complated.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Donna Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel because we wanted a value for money over night stay. At $125 per night this was good value for the location B UT .... the smell in the reception area (a very unpleasant
cleanser dominated everywhere even in the out side corridors leading to my room. There was no air con and on a day which reached 29 degrees the rooms were hot.

When asked for Soy Milk the duty manager was not helpful ... he just said 'we dont have that' .. he could have told us that there was a convenience grocery 250 metres away.

The access through a car park dictated by the duty manager was grotty ... there is an alternative through an open courtyard up one further floor but we discovered this by accident

Not a place to linger.

Room Tip: chose a room with a proper balcony ... not just a half door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSBeacon, General Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora Mary G

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us.

You are very correct with the title of your comments, “It is the small things that matter”. Here at Peppers Beacon we all very focus on ensure a wonderful guest experience for each individual guest that stays with us.

It is very disappointing to read that you were not directed to the nearest Convenience Store by the person who you spoke with. We do normally carry both soya and rice milk as an alternative to dairy in The Galley our Breakfast Restaurant. I will remind the team that this is also an alternative to the milk in room in future.

With regards to the smell of our chemicals, we use Eco Lab products throughout the property.

Peppers Beacon is built in two blocks, to capture the great Lake views. We do suggest to guests checking in to use the underground car park when checking in to their room in the back building, as there is not any stairs and they can cross easily under cover.
Normally the receptionist staff advises arriving guests also of the facilities that include the BBQ and our lovely courtyard area. I will also remind the team of the importance of this information for the future.

I look forwards to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards Donna Stewart

General Manager
Peppers Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked Peppers Beacon for a second stay, just one night. Super cheap booking on Wotif.com and must have been upgraded from partial lake view to the most fabulous balcony and view over Queenstown and out to the Remarkables. Great room nice and clean, light and airy. The only complaint is the welcome letter told us all about the minibar the booking on wotif.com said there would be a mini bar and the menu in the room spoke of the mini bar of which there was none. Reception was only too happy to bring us beer but unfortunatly it was warm, they also bought us an ice bucket, long wait to cool the beer, but all in all that was the only complaint a fantastic stay and would request room 1003 next time we book.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Kia Ora Ronni 1,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Peppers Beacon.

We are glad that you enjoyed your room with the fantastic views of Lake Wakatipu and Remarkables. Thank you for bringing the error regarding Mini Bar to our notice which has now been rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Queenstown.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed three nights over the new year with another couple in a two-bedroom unit with a mini-kitchen (two burners and a small fridge). Others have noted the amenities, and the place is furnished as you see online, so I won't get into that.

We had a few disappointments: the blind in the bathroom (full-width level with the tub) would not lower properly, which meant that the neighbors and someone sitting in certain spots of our living room could see in. We had to call maintenance to fix that. The second day we did not get housekeeping service, even though I happened to catch the staff outside the neighboring unit and said we'd be out in an hour. Finally, wifi is only available in the tiny lobby, and only in 10-min. increments. For a place of this price and calibre, I expected more, but the other couple, who are New Zealanders, said that is not uncommon.

Our unit had a large balcony overlooking the lake, but it was only warm enough to enjoy it the first evening. That said, if you can, do book a top-level unit (it's farther off the street, higher, and quieter, though I don't think any of the units would have been terribly noisy). On New Years Eve we were able to enjoy the fireworks from the large living room windows. Though it was a bit of a challenge with only two burners and a small fridge, we cooked two dinners in the unit as well as breakfasts, so it fit the bill. It's also close enough to walk anywhere in town you'd want to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Kia Ora Santa Fean-7,

Thank you for your recent feedback and review of Peppers Beacon. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your valuable points regarding the maintenance and housekeeping in nyour service that you had in your room which has been addressed to the respective departments.

With regards to Wifi, we are rolling ths service around the property which will be available in next couple of months. For your next stay, while making the booking, please ask for 2 Bedroom Lake View Suites which has fully equipped kitchen and is suitable for families who would like to relish the home cooked meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in a two-BR suite for two nights after some arduous hiking/tramping in Fjordland. This was the perfect place to recoup. The beds, showers, sofas, etc. all were first rate. The in-room washer/dryer was a blessing. The kitchen was fully stocked, so that we had everything we needed to make an ambitious dinner. We certainly paid more than the backpackers' lodges that had been our resting points on previous days -- but not nearly as much as the other high-end hotels in the midst of downtown were asking. Peppers is about a five minute walk to downtown, and if that takes the room rates down 20%, that's a pretty good arrangement, no?

Best of all, the balcony views of the lake and the Remarkables in the background were stunning. Dawdling has never been so much fun.

The wi-fi is funky (10 free minutes in the lobby; nothing in the rooms.) And if you're looking for a great deal of attention from the front desk, do be prepared to wait a little; often there was just one well-intentioned but quite busy staffer trying to sort out everyone's situation. But we always got treated well in the end, whether it was accessing the printer or getting one of the king beds turned into two twins. The folks at Peppers Beacon win highest marks for attitude.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Kia Ora George A,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the resort. We are glad that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable holiday experience.

We are pleased to know that our 2 bedrooms provided value for your money. However we have noted your feedback regarding wifi and we understand how much WiFi is important to our guests and we will have this service available in next couple of months. Staffing at Front Desk has been discussed with respective Department head to ensure that Front desk is manned accordingly.

We look forward to having you and your family again with us in future.

Kind Regards

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Recently stayed with friends in a 3 bed apartment for 3 nights. Excellent facilities in the large apartment (very spacious) - very comfortable beds and an ensuite for each bedroom. Everything was very clean. Amazing views from the room although the weather prevented us from using the large balcony. Very easy 5 min walk into town. Reception staff were extremely helpful - recommended a restaurant and made the booking resulting in an excellent meal at Bella Cucina. This is a must stay location and will visit again. When visiting Queenstown must try the Fergburgers - again an easy walk from Peppers - and well worth the wait for the best burgers ever!

Room Tip: We had an apartment on the 8th floor and there was no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinesh G, Manager at Peppers Beacon, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Kia Ora Debbie B,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Peppers Beacon.

We, the Team at Beacon, are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything satisfactory during your stay.

We look forward to having you with us again in future.

Kind Regards

Dinesh Gandhi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beacon

Address: 33 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#35 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New Zealand's South Island, the stunning lakeside Peppers Beacon is just 10 minutes drive from Queenstown Airport and an easy five minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. The resort offers beautiful lake, mountain or garden views with a choice of four luxury accommodation styles including hotel rooms, two and three bedrooms suites and a deluxe penthouse suite offering picturesque views of the lake and Remarkables Mountains. All rooms have a television and sky television, tea/coffee making facilities, alarm/clock radio, refrigerator, hairdryer, STD/ISD direct dialing and ironing equipment. If you enjoy the finer things in life and enjoy your space then the suites are for you and include a fully equipped kitchen, private balcony, CD player, high speed internet access (fee) bath, tea/coffee making facilities, washing machine and dryers (please request when booking) and fireplace (please request when booking). The resort's stunning location provides a tranquil backdrop for rest and relaxation or you can take advantage of the various facilities onsite. Complete a workout in the gymnasium then soothe your muscles with a sauna, relaxing soak in the spa or an in-room massage. You can prepare your own barbeque lunch or dinner amongst the manicured hotel courtyard or choose from over 100 fine dining or casual restaurants, cafes and bars in Queenstown offering a different culinary journey each evening. Queenstown is the Adventure Capital of New Zealand and offers a wide range of activities to keep you entertained all year round. Experience thrilling extreme adventures, submerge yourself in the scenic brilliance of the local region, enjoy a night at the theatre or explore some of the local boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beacon Queenstown
Peppers Beacon Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.