We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive local wine tasting with no pressure to buy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queenstown Wine Trail

Queenstown Wine Trail
160 Gorge Road | Cenral Otago, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 3-441 3990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Making wine personal.... Join Queenstown's original wine tour. Enjoy spectacular scenery, fascinating local history and more importantly taste some great wines,in particular our Pinot Noir. Tours depart daily from Queenstown all year round. Our guides have local knowledge and a great relationship with vineyard personal.Our tours are relaxed, personalised and visit a selection of boutique wineries. We keep our tours small and travelling time to a minimum, so there is plenty of time for you to sample fine wine, food and local cheeses whilst interacting with winery personnel. For those who prefer the exclusivity of a private guide and vehicle, we offer full and half day tours exploring the wine areas of Gibbston Valley and Bannockburn. Our Wine Tours can be combined with a Jet Boat ride, Helicopter flight or the ultimate relaxation package, try our spa and wine experience. We offer complimentary pick up and drop off from accommodation or central Queenstown
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Extensive local wine tasting with no pressure to buy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The tour guide had a great depth of knowledge of the local wine. Each stop on the trail included extensive wine tasting with no pressure to buy. We included lunch at the Gibbston winery, the food and atmosphere were both beautiful.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have done several wine tours in different countries and this one is pretty much average. Our driver was nice enough but didn't really have an extensive knowledge of wines. The wineries were very nice with a good variety of wines and the scenery was nice on the way there and back.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing afternoon tour of the Central Otago wine growing region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was a great tour to get to know the Gibbston Valley wine region. We toured four wineries - Gibbston Valley Winery, Peregrine Wines, Chard Winery and Amisfield Cellars. At Gibbston Valley Winery we received a brief explanation on the history and techniques used in the region to grow and make wine, a tour of the cave where the Pinot Noir ages in French Oak barrels and had lunch outdoors with the sweet chocolate Labrador Macy. We thoroughly enjoyed the baby Pinot Blanc (2011, straight out of the barrel!) from this winery. Peregrine Wines has one of the more modern tasting rooms in the tour; the building is architecturally spectacular. Chard Winery served a flight of fantastic Pinot Noirs that had depth of character memorable to this lover of Central Californian Paso Robles labels. The tour ended with a glass of bubbly at Amisfield Cellars...The Fume Blanc was absolutely delightful! Our tour guide shared his knowledge of wine and of the region throughout our afternoon tour of the Gibbston Valley and was very personable, interesting and accommodating. I highly suggest this tour for both the novice and adoring wine lover.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great day out - with a good variety of wineries and stunning scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We took Lance's tour last year not quite sure what to expect, but we were very happy with the service and wine experience. We were picked up from our Arrowtown accommodation on the dot with Lance's minibus. There were about five other couples on board.
We started at Gibbston Valley with a wine cave tour and tasting. Then we had the option of lunch, plus we squeezed in a bit of time for cheese tasting. After lunch it was Peregrine, Chard Farm and Amisfield. We were dropped home, very happy late afternoon.
Recommended to all!!

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

We did the wine trail only to fill in as there was not enough snow to go snowboarding and it was a very pleasant surprise. The guide was local and knew loads about the histories of the wineries. We had a choice of which ones to visit so chose some specialising in great riesling as well as the Pinot noir that otago is famed for.

Thoroughly recommended but make sure you eat before you go or take advantage of the excellent food at on of the wineries

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queenstown Wine Trail also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Queenstown Wine Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queenstown Wine Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.