We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best views on offer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral Lodge to your Saves list
Balmoral Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 York Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best views on offer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wonderful accommodation with amazing views! We stayed in the triple room which has a King size bed and a single (possibly king single). The bed and bedding were top quality and we had a great sleep. Breakfast was superb, the full english being offered as well as a plentiful continental breakfast. I didnt realise it was a B and B (which is my fault) and did find it different to being in a hotel however can find no fault (apart from the TV reception which was unwatchable) and really enjoyed catching up with the owners over a cup of tea in their gardens under the umbrella.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My experience in this place was excellent, I stayed in Balmoral Lodge for four days and I have just good memories about there. My room was very large, comfortable and clean, and the view was beautiful! The location was good as well, close to town, the garden was very gorgeous, with many flowers, excellent place for sit down and relaxing, and the service always was really good. If one day I have the possibility to return to New Zealand, I will stay in Balmoral Lodge again! Fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our first 3 nights in Queenstown were at Balmoral Lodge with the very gracious hosts, Les and Cis. Within walking distance of town and Queenstown Hill, we were served breakfast to order each morning with other guests. Les and Cis joined in with conversation and information for activities and local history. Our view of Lake Wakatipu was beautiful morning, noon and night and the rooms were warm and comfortable. Afternoon wine or sherry was always available and our stay was delightful from beginning to end. Highly recommend a stay at the Balmoral Lodge!!

Room Tip: Large upstairs room with gorgeous view of evening lights and Lake Wakatipu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This lodge is really a B&B, rather than an hotel. When we booked, we thought this was a small boutique hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. The host was terrific, accommodating and very helpful. Delicious breakfast served to order. Room large with private bath. Gorgeous view of the lake. A delightful experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The view from the lounge & bedrooms has to be one of the best in New Zealand.
Add to this comfortable,spotless,& well appointed accomodation & really helpful & friendly advice from Les & Ciss & you get a first class stay.
Quiet road but only a short walk to the town & quay.
Great breakfast, we would recommend Balmoral Lodge to friends & family as the right place to stay in Queenstown

Room Tip: Ask for the view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here with my two daughters in October - we had the 2 bedroom apartment with en-suite bathrooms. Well appointed, v clean and well equipped. We loved the spa bath! It goes without saying that the views were fantastic but then I have a soft spot for Queenstown! Hosts were very helpful and were happy to give local advice when we bumped into them in an eatery in town! Cannot comment on the breakfasts as we were offered room only when we booked. Garden is lovely but not quite warm enough to sit out. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had such an awesome stay at this Lodge. Very relaxing and had everything you need - rooms daily serviced so nothing to do but relax and head to town for drinkies and dining. Awesome hosts that were really helpful with local attractions to visit and things to do. Great location - short walk to town and beautiful views from your room whether upstairs or downstairs - would stay again for sure! Would recommend it for sure! Thanks Cis and Les for looking after us so well! (best breakfasts ever!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge

Address: 24 York Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmoral Luxury Lodge is situated on Queenstown hill just 800 metres to the town centre. All rooms are spacious with luxury bed linen & have ensuite bathrooms, coffee & tea making facilities, toiletries, bathrobes & Flat Screen TV, Fridge. Every room has stunning panoramic lake & mountain views and a Gourmet breakfast is included in tariff unless otherwise stated. Free Broadband internet access. Laundry facilities & free off street parking, 5 minutes easy walk downtown 10 minutes walk back, Four Star Plus. Gracious Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balmoral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.