We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Queenstown NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral Lodge to your Saves list
Balmoral Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 York Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
SLC, UT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven in Queenstown NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great B&B with everything we wanted: Cool building in a great location w/big views in a very beautiful place. Comfortable beds, great breakfasts, spotless rooms, views to die for, kind & knowledgeable hosts; every recommendation was spot-on. Wish we lived closer so we could visit more often. Thanks Cis & Les.

Room Tip: All are good w/big views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Balmoral Lodge in September on our first trip to Queenstown and it absolutely made our holiday! The rooms have the most spectacular view over Queenstown. Cis and Les were such lovely hosts, very accommodating and put on a great breakfast every morning. Would recommend it to anyone and will definitely stay there again next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at Balmoral for 2 nights during my NZ trip. I chose the Lodge based on pictures of the views I'd seen (and on the fact that it appeared to be comfortable and centrally located). Pictures on the web could not do the real views any justice - they were fantastic! (Apparently all guest rooms overlook Lake Wakatipu, so you can't go wrong.)
I stayed in a comfortable room upstairs. It had a king size bed, massive cupboard, and a huge bathroom that included a spa bath. It was spotlessly clean, and there were tea/coffee facilities, and biscuits too.
The hosts, Sis and Les were incredibly friendly and helpful and gave excellent advice on things to see and which routes to take to see them (e.g. they advised that going to Wanaka via Cardrona was quicker and more scenic than taking the other route - obviously this would be different in winter. I was there in spring). Another guest didn't have a car and they kindly offered to drive him to where he needed to go in the town.
The Lodge is located slightly out of town. I had a hire car so was not bothered about whether it was in walking distance or not. The drive into town only took about 5 minutes. There is ample parking and the area is very safe.
I cannot recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms overlook Lake Wakatipu, so, any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved our stay at the Balmoral Lodge. We were lucky enough to have the downstairs two bedroom apartment. The views are incredible. The apartment was wonderfully equipped, all beds comfortable, the laundry is great (and detergent is included!) and there is a pool table off the living room. Leslie was a wonderful host. Queenstown is such a fabulous destination and this was a great place to experience it from. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had an amazing experience staying with Les and Cis at the Balmoral lodge, the views were spectacular, superb hospitality, we stayed in a superior super king suite with a spa bath, the beds were extremely warm and comfortable, executive class. We had bacon and eggs for breakfast while chatting with the hosts and look forward to a return trip. Handy central location, short walk to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthurton, South Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone wanting to come to Queenstown. The photos are true and correct and the scenery is spectacular. Les and Cis are fabulous, welcoming and very professional - we are very thankful for their expertise, local knowledge, endless help and friendly personalities. If you are not sure what to book, look no further. We were a group of two couples and have been more than impressed. We will be back.......one day.....

Room Tip: Any is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had an amazing stay. Les and Sis were very friendly with a great knowledge of the area. they were very helpful, even giving us a lift into town first thing in the morning, giving us an opportunity to eat their great breakfast before the day began.
With breathtaking views and an amazing spa bath (perfect after a day of activities) make this a very comfortable home away from home.

Room Tip: From what I could see all the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge

Address: 24 York Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmoral Luxury Lodge is situated on Queenstown hill just 800 metres to the town centre. All rooms are spacious with luxury bed linen & have ensuite bathrooms, coffee & tea making facilities, toiletries, bathrobes & Flat Screen TV, Fridge. Every room has stunning panoramic lake & mountain views and a Gourmet breakfast is included in tariff unless otherwise stated. Free Broadband internet access. Laundry facilities & free off street parking, 5 minutes easy walk downtown 10 minutes walk back, Four Star Plus. Gracious Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balmoral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.