We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first ever B & B stay a success” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balmoral Lodge to your Saves list
Balmoral Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 York Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our first ever B & B stay a success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

In Queenstown our preferred properites are St Moritz and Millenium - now we have a third and its not a five star hotel its a wonderful Bed and Breakfast with friendly, natural hosts Les and Sissy. A wonderful warm sizeabale bedroom with big comfy chairs, fantastic bathroom. Will stay again..............and again.

Room Tip: Room #1 has fantastic views from the bedroom and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went on a skiing holiday and stayed in this lovely bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful and the hosts Cis and Les were great. They were very helpful, helped us book our bungy jumps and other trips. Breakfast was great and the views are amazing.

Would definitely recommend Balmoral Lodge to anyone visiting Queenstown. Fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the quiet location - I stayed 5 nights and never heard a drum beat. Breakfasts were an absolute treat, and nothing was too much trouble, can't wait to go back. Les and Sis were a treasure trove of cultural facts, and I hope Les finally finishes that jigsaw before he sends himself mad

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I would truly recommend this B & B to anyone. Les and Sissy were very welcoming and helpful. We were treated like family and wish to return.
The rooms were spotless and the view spectacular.
The breakfast was comparable to any 5 star hotel I have stayed with the added joy of good company.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places in New Zealand,not only have they got the best views of the bay but also have the highest level of customer care,the bed was heaven and the little touches made my trip. Thank you so much, I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Bay,breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The lodge is very warm and it's the ideal place to go for a winter holiday, it has all the features to make you feel at home even if you are miles away from it. We stayed 4 nights , breakfast was very genuine e the owners were extremely kind with us. If one day will go back to Queenstown , well, that's were we would like to stay...to highlight the laundry service ( specially because we were travelling since 3 weeks) and the stunning views from our room .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We rented the 2 bedroom connecting suite on the first floor for my wife and I and 2 children. It was perfect. Our suite had a lovely bedroom and great living area with kitchen. The TV had all the channels. The views from every room were panoramic views of the mountains and lake. It is a short drive (under 5 minutes) or steep walk downhill to the charming town of Queenstown.
The hosts of this B&B could not have been nicer. We stayed and winter, and the owner had thoughfully turned on the heaters in all the rooms so it was warm when we arrived. The rooms were spotless.
In the morning, a full breakfast, both hot and cold is available. We were made to feel at home, but our accomodations were extremely private, with our own entrance into our suites.
Thank you for a great time in your most beautiful town!

Room Tip: The connecting 2 bedrooms on the ground floor turn into one amazing family suite - with your own pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmoral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge

Address: 24 York Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmoral Luxury Lodge is situated on Queenstown hill just 800 metres to the town centre. All rooms are spacious with luxury bed linen & have ensuite bathrooms, coffee & tea making facilities, toiletries, bathrobes & Flat Screen TV, Fridge. Every room has stunning panoramic lake & mountain views and a Gourmet breakfast is included in tariff unless otherwise stated. Free Broadband internet access. Laundry facilities & free off street parking, 5 minutes easy walk downtown 10 minutes walk back, Four Star Plus. Gracious Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balmoral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.