We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hurley's of Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hurley's of Queenstown to your Saves list
Hurley's of Queenstown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melbourne Street | PO Box 1277, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Hurley's)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Had a great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were staying a weekend after several days hiking north of Queenstown. It was really comfy and we enjoyed the spa tub. Staff were friendly and unobtrusive. They even let us store our bags while we were hiking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    71
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
40
94
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was as we expected, nothing more and nothing less. We had few options as it was peak season and this place had the dates we needed with the location and facilities that suited us. Service was "adequate", which matched the abrupt service we received on the phone when we enquired before booking. Not sure if it's something to expect in a busy tourist town in peak season?? Thought of checking out earlier than we booked but thought it might be complicated given the service we received.

We saw that it was a 4+ star rated hotel but had checked the photos and other reviews and knew that it was not going to be very modern and the bathroom wasn't the nicest. Probably great back in the day but the rooms are looking tired these days. We agree with another reviewer about the smell of bleach when you enter the rooms. Pricewise, everything in Queenstown was quite expensive over the peak period although we may have booked a little late (mid Oct) but we found this place quite pricey ($180 per night) for what it was.

View of the gondolas was good although other places might have a better view of the lake. The room had good cooking facilities which was handy.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view and don't expect the most modern of facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked this on choicehotels.com as a Quality Inn. When we went there, there was no sign of a Quality Inn there. The lighting is so poor, and with no signs, you cannot even locate the darn entrance. The office was closed. They work 8 AM-8PM and you have to advise them if you are arriving outside these hours. There's a tiny parking lot and you have to park on the street if you have a minivan or SUV. No Wifi, no free breakfast. For all this trouble, they charge you twice as much as a comparable hotel in the US.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean & well stocked facilities, spacious room even though it was a 'studio'. Great location, just 5 mins walk to the town centre. Quite quiet, even at NewYear. Some traffic noise, but just off the main drag in to Queenstown, so to be expected - try to get a room on the opposite side although you'll have to sacrifice the best room views if you do this. No complaints, very satisfied.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great location, easy to find and handy to town centre. Very spacious unit. All accommodation in Queenstown was relatively expensive and heavily booked at this peak time of year. Tried Hurleys as our other usual options were booked out. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was very spacious and could park our car right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location as we were able to walk into town. We would stay there again. Very comfortable king size bed with soft sheets. Pity we didn't have time to try the sauna. The location of the rubbish bins could have better. When we got to our room you could smell the bleach which was not that great. We could not see any lift so had to cart our suitcase up the stairs. The parking was tight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This property is ideally located close to where the action is -- all well within walking distance. We enjoyed the sauna and room comforts, including the jetted tub. Friendly service, comfortable bed, and good parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hurley's of Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurley's of Queenstown

Address: 1 Melbourne Street | PO Box 1277, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Hurley's)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#33 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hurley's of Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at Hurley's of Queenstown. Rooms are spacious with either king or queen size beds. All rooms are self catering and at the end of your day relax in the spa bath located in all bathrooms. We have a gym, internet kiosk and sauna all on site for your use. Decor is fresh, chic and in relaxing neutral tones. We're located only a 5 minute walk to CBD and have easy access to the connectabus for anyone wanting to travel to Frankton shopping centre or Arrowtown. We have lots of knowledge to share with you and provide a free booking service for any activity in this area and Milford Sound. For those travellers with bikes, skis or golf club we have lockable storage for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hurley's of Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hurley`s Hotel Queenstown
Quality Inn Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurley's of Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.