We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than happy!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hurley's of Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hurley's of Queenstown to your Saves list
Hurley's of Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melbourne Street | PO Box 1277, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Hurley's)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“More than happy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Visiting in June just after a record snow fall and our room was super warm, spacious and cosy, with everything we could possibly need. The location was also fantastic and we always walked into town. Staff were also super friendly and helpful. At the price I thought it was value for money. Thanking you, would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room looking out to the road, lake and mountains and it was quiet and fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    71
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
40
94
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

If we had booked this room for $100 a night as one of the previous reviewers had we would have been more than happy. However we booked thru Expedia Secret Rooms advertised as up to 40% off normal rates and paid $135 thinking we were booking into a 4.5 star Hotel and not a motel.

The room we were given overlooked the carpark and there is a construction site next door although we were there on a Sunday and it was quiet. There was a view of the hills and the gondola. There was a very friendly greeting at reception. The place is a bit tired looking - kitchenette as you go in right next to the bathroom. Shower with plastic curtain over past its day spa bath. If you are booking through Expedia expecting to find a 4.5 star establishment be prepared to be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks for review, we are disappointed to hear you found the experience at Hurleys less that what you expected. The construction site was beyond our control however you had wonderful views of the Skyline Gondola and Bob's peak.
Your areas of concerns have been noted and referred to the owners for there next meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We found this property to be a clean, comfortable and secure place to stay with good facilities and amazing views of the surrounding mountains. The staff were friendly and helpful but not intrusive. We were only a short walk into Queenstown itself and an even shorter drive. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks for review and staff are thrilled to see guests really do appreciate a clean, tidy place. Staff are always pleased to be asked for assistance to give you our guests knowledge of this amazing area.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

We got this hotel on a 'Grab It' deal at $100 a night which included breakfast which was delivered to our room in the afternoon and consisted of muesli, bread, tin of fruit, orange juice. The portions were to last for two days and there was ample. The room was spacious and sufficient parking off road. We had a room at the front on ground floor. Views of the mountains a little restricted by parked vehicles but not an issue. Easy to walk into town but up a hill which may be a problem for some. Internet was extra $10 for 24 hrs. Would have preferred this to have been included but at $100 a night for such comfort we were happy. There is a small gym and sauna, useful if it rains a lot. We would not have considered this hotel had it not been half price because we always look for free wi fi.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a clean and comfortable motel. Having stayed in various studio/apartment motels in New Zealand, this one rates high. My husband and I rented the executive studio room (without mountain view) and were not disappointed. The location was great, 5 minute walk from downtown so far enough from the noise but close enough to go back and change for the evening. I wouldn't recommend walking if a person has a disability as there is a steep hill to climb but bus service is right outside the motel and it only takes a few minutes to go downtown.The kitchenette is fully equipped which was great to prepare late night meals. A continental breakfast was included with our package and was very good. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We were in Queenstown for a wedding and staff helped us with all types of specific requests. We will stay here again when winter comes along for the skiing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at Hurleys after Christmas for a number of nights.Accomodation was fine and we enjoyed our time in Queenstown.Our gripe was with reception when we requested a late check out on our last day.We were told we could have 30 mins and no longer .Having spent nearly a full week onsite the attitude and tone were hugely disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurleys55, Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thanks for the review and always pleasing to hear you all enjoyed Queenstown. Late check outs are always difficult especially with a 2 bedroom apartment. We had guests arriving the same day as your check out and we do require 2 hours to clean and sanitise the apartment. We are always happy to store luggage if you have a late flight. You can walk into town, then return and change in the saunna room if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed two nights there and we had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped! Located a bit far from the town, not walking distance to shops or restaurant. And the down side would be the pricey laundry service, NZ$4 per session and dryer is totally not efficient! Overall, recommended for all type of traveler.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quality088, Front Office Manager at Hurley's of Queenstown, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Pleased to see you had enjoyed your stay in Queenstown. We are only a 5 minute walk to town and there is a bus service available for your use. Always ask at reception regarding transport options.
Thanks for the comment on the dryer I have had a serviceman take a look at it re not drying clothes sufficiently. Always great to get feedback that is easily fixed.
Hope to see you again in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hurley's of Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurley's of Queenstown

Address: 1 Melbourne Street | PO Box 1277, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn Hurley's)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#33 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hurley's of Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at Hurley's of Queenstown. Rooms are spacious with either king or queen size beds. All rooms are self catering and at the end of your day relax in the spa bath located in all bathrooms. We have a gym, internet kiosk and sauna all on site for your use. Decor is fresh, chic and in relaxing neutral tones. We're located only a 5 minute walk to CBD and have easy access to the connectabus for anyone wanting to travel to Frankton shopping centre or Arrowtown. We have lots of knowledge to share with you and provide a free booking service for any activity in this area and Milford Sound. For those travellers with bikes, skis or golf club we have lockable storage for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hurley's of Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hurley`s Hotel Queenstown
Quality Inn Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurley's of Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.