We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay, very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Village to your Saves list
Alpine Village
643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire, UK.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great stay, very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks whilst visiting our family and its location off Frankton road, was great for us - as the no. 11 bus from the airport to Queenstown stopped outside. We could walk into Queenstown on the Frankton track, along the lakeside, and get the bus back! We hired a car for touring and had our own dedicated parking place outside the apartment.
Our one bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean, very modern, and well appointed with great views. We had ample pots, pans and utensils which was super when our family ( who live in Queenstown) came for dinner!! Gas cooker and oven with microwave, and washing machine neatly located in shower room.
We would definately stay again when visiting the rellies!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you back again next year, all the best, Regards Pete and Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location of these apartments is great and could not be faulted. We had a 2 bedroomned apartment and first impressions oozed luxury but scratch beneath the surface and we were very dissapointed.

Firstly, prior to arrival, we were sent an email detailing how to check in. Fortunately our previous accommodation had wifi and so we were able to access this info. This should be told at time of booking so you can make sure you get access to the internet. You would be stuck otherwise as there was no onsite reception.

The apartment we were allocated had a garage with strict instructions that we had to use it or faced the car being towed away. There was constantly a car parked in front in what appeared to be a parking bay which made getting in and out of the garage extremely difficult.

The apartment was clean in general apart from the kitchen window covered in grease due to its close proximity to the cooker. However I was disgusted to find a pair of underpants left on the shelf in the ensuite which indicated the apartment had not been checked nor thoroughly cleaned.

The hairdryer supplied had its control button missing, exposing the wiring and certainly not safe to use. This should never be allowed to have been supplied.

The beds were all hard and the pillows flat. The most uncomfortable sleep had by all.

There was a loose socket in the lounge, literally hanging off the wall. A major hazard for an adult,let alone a child.

The kitchen was described as a full kitchen yet there was only a two ringed gas hob that had been fitted so close to the wall you couldn't actually get a pan on it!!! Dishwasher liquid was supplied but no dish washer! We stayed 5 nights and the apartments are not serviced, meaning we had to supply our own washing up liquid, toilet rolls etc and bin liners as we were told we had to empty all bins prior to departure but no spare bin liners left.

There were shards of broken glass on both balconies from previous occupants, and lots of glass too. I can only guess it was from wine glasses as there were only two supplied!

With a bit of TLC this place could be fabulous but we felt very let down and couldnt wait to leave. Would not choose to stay again nor recommend it. Sorry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Gosh what an extremely lengthy review, clearly a lot of time on your hands.... Firstly apologies over the underwear in the wardrobe that is unexceptable and I do not disagree. Not sure how you can blame us because you forgot to bring the email you were sent about how to check in, also we have a contact number at the check in point if there are any issues, you could have called that. You are correct there is no office on site, this allows us to have prices that are very competitive and as your on line name is "bargain spotter" you of all people should appreciate that....

You forgot to say, Stunning lake and mountain views etc etc etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We simply loved it! The quality of apartment was superb and the location was perfect. And foremost the view made us not to want to leave. It's couple minutes drive from any location in Queenstown, 5 minutes to center, 5 minutes to airport and 5 minutes to shopping center. If we are back to Queenstown again would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? We had a flawless checkin despite the issues I had with my credit card, Pete was more than accommodating. We had apt 25. Had garage with auto door opener. 1st floor above garage had the 2 bedrooms and bathrooms (1 an ensuite). The floors in the bathrooms are heated, and both bathrooms have heaters and heated towel racks! There was also a spa in the ensuite! More than enough fluffy white towels provided to last us our 6 night stay. Main bed had king, 2nd bedroom had 2 singles. All beds had electric blankets. The double glazed windows kept us so warm. 2nd floor, The kitchen was new with all the facilities and room you could need. Lounge was great, comfy, amazing views!!! Balconies off both floors. The place was immaculate!!!!!! I can't recommend this establishment enough, we will most certainly be back. Thank you for a comfortable, modern, carefree holiday!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feed back, it is great that you took the time to do this, we are very happy that you had a great holiday and pleased that the apartment met all your expectations.

Hopefully we will see you again soon, maybe next winter.!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you want the best stay in Quuenstown on the water please stay here. Great views and a walking track in front of you. Beautiful clean rooms and everything was in them that you could ask for. Highly recommend for families.There is a nice restaurant walking distance to the apartment along the lake. Cant remmemeber the name but you cant miss it as its near the marina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Hmmm.. where to begin!?
The place STUNK of of cigarettes.
There was fecal matter all over the toilet brush. Which they did change once requested, but why should we have had to ask??
The oven trays were covered in grease.
The wifi network was useless.
I had to go to another place to get internet access to contact reception and let them know as there are no phones, no other way of contacting of them. When I visit NZ for one week per year I don't get a sim card as most reputable places have telephones.
I had to request an air freshener even though they knew it stunk but had done nothing about it except air it out for a day or two before our arrival.
There was no offer of refund. They couldn't move us to another apartment as they were full. All they gave us as compensation was a measly 250mb of data for their wifi connection that only worked in the dead middle of the night which would have been worth less than $2.
There is no dishwasher and no washing machine in the room - granted they don't advertise that they have these things but when I book an apartment over a motel room I assume these things are included.
My advice is to spend an extra $100 per week and stay at the luxurious Mantra Marina up the road. Same great views, much better service and free Internet that works.
Alpine Village is a grotty rip off. I visit Queenstown every year and will never go near this place again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
NEVER AGAIN, you could not have said it better, PLEASE stay somewhere else next year,. what a nightmare, on departure day the apt was in an unbelieveable state. The incredibly exaggerated issues belong in fantasy land!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in mid February. The room was in a quiet location just above the pathway that follows the lake. You can take the path into town and other destinations. We had a balcony with a full view of the lake. Comfortable lounge chairs on the deck were provided with blankets. The room is attractive and fully equipped including a rather small kitchenette. Parking is good if you do not require parking right in front of the building. This is out of Queenstown about 10 min. by car and away from the noise.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village

Address: 643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, clean apartments on the shores of Lake Wakatipu; all have fantastic mountain and lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Queenstown
Breakfree Alpine Village Hotel
Breakfree Alpine Village Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.