We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Village to your Saves list
Alpine Village
643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Glen Ellen, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in mid February. The room was in a quiet location just above the pathway that follows the lake. You can take the path into town and other destinations. We had a balcony with a full view of the lake. Comfortable lounge chairs on the deck were provided with blankets. The room is attractive and fully equipped including a rather small kitchenette. Parking is good if you do not require parking right in front of the building. This is out of Queenstown about 10 min. by car and away from the noise.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stay in a studio room for 3 nights, the view from the room is stunning and the room itself is very clean and quiet. the parking arrangement is a bit wired as we are instructed to park at no parking zone between two garage door, the space is very limited which make me worry about that the neighbors are going to knock my door in early morning or late night to ask me move my car so they can get in/get out the garages. this is never happened and it is understandably as the whole building is sit on a quite narrow block. Overall I will recommend it if you are travel by car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Three of us stayed at Alpine Village for 2 nights in November 2012. The place came with a bedroom with a King sized bed and a combined lounge area and kitchen. There was also a small balcony for open air dinning. The place was tastefully furnished and was spacious. The decor was modern and had a luxurious feel to it. The bedding was superb and there were 2 two seater comfortable sofas. The unit was very clean. The huge flat screen TV was a plus point. The biggest draw for us was the magnificent views of the Lake Wakatipu. You could just spend hours sitting in the lounge area just looking at the nearby lake and the mountains in the distance.

The bedroom was cosy and the electric blankets provided extra warmth. There was a small wardrobe for you to hang you clothes. Jammed inside as well as an iron and ironing board. A small window let in some light. This room which was at the other end of the unit (oppiste from the lounge area) did not face the lake and faced the car park instead. Too bad. As we requested for an extra bed to be provided (at a cost), we were expecting something reasonably comfortable. What we got was a roll out bed that was so awful. The bed had springs but in the centre of the bed, the supporting bar trapped the thin mattress in the centre. So when you lay on the mattress, the central bar raised your back in an uncomfortable position. This was placed in a corner of the lounge. Since it was so uncomfortable, we took the mattress off the bed and placed in on the floor instead. There was also no electric blanket provided for the spare bed. And we paid extra for this?

We had no complaints with the lounge or the balcony set up. It was luxurious. The kitchen was modern with a marble kitchen top and the appliances were modern and generally well kept. The cutlery was clean and good but some of the pots and pans looked old through over use. While it was clean, it just looked old. For our 2 nights stay, we were only provided with a small packet of dishwashing detergent and no sponges or scrubs for stubborn stains. Thankfully, we came prepared although we were told that this was a fully equipped kitchen. We felt that such basic neccesities should have been provided.

Just be aware that as part of the deal, there is no reception and no clean up service. You are given instructions through email on collecting your room keys at the nearby letter box and you are expected to clean up the place before checking out. They will charge you extra if they feel that you have not cleaned the place up sufficiently. We are not complaining about this but you have to be aware of this before booking this accomodation. What we understood was that units at this location were owned by different owners who engaged this guy (or company) to manage it for them when they were not staying there.

What really marred out stay was that we had not been informed that each unit was allocated a specific parking lot. This lot was indicated by the unit number marker at each lot. When we went out, we had to park at another location as someone else had parked in our lot. Next morning, we received a nasty note from the owners of that lot to move our car. They were not kind. We tried explaining it to them but they only told us to inform the managers. We could not contact the owners by phone. The next day, the same car was parked at our spot again while we were out. This time, we approached occupants in other units for help and this time we managed to contact the manager who told us he knew whose car it was and it would be moved. Turns out, it was his daughter who parked her Audi there and she told us that her dad was the manager and had told her it was ok to park it there. What a lot of nastiness to experience on our holiday. If only we had been informed by email beforehand about the parking arrangements. The manager Pete, did not call us later to explain or offer an apology.

Overall, a great place to stay if you did not need any assistance from the manager and were confined to just 2 people in each unit, given the spare bed that was provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you Chris for your rather lengthy review, we do work hard at keeping them clean and it good that this is recognized. and the views are excellent. While your comments are mostly positive I am slightly bewildered by the low rating you gave us,I would like to address a couple of your issues.

The 5th bed you required in the apartment that only has a king and two single beds in it was left in the lounge area because we never know where guests would like it set up, I have never seen an accommodation complex where and additional full bed is moved in, they are always rollaway beds and don't know of any operator who would put an additional bed in for an extra person and not charge for this, so i think your expectations there is a little unrealistic,and I would dispute your comments about the comfort of the bed.

I am sorry that you find our expectation that the apartment should be left a clean and tidy state I would have thought that every operator in the world would have that same expectation!! We never asked for it to be cleaned and we have never had to charge anyone for cleaning as most people leave them tidy.

With regards to the car being parked in your spot, I had it removed immediately and apologized in the same conversation I was unaware that you expected me to call back apologize again, so for everyone reading this I apologize for the Audi being parked in Chris's car park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our family stayed in a 4 bedroom apartment which had beautiful views from the bedrooms and the living area. The apartment was immaculate with all the amenities of a home away from home. The village was convenient to the township and to the amenities at Frankton, whilst out of the hustle and bustle. The walking path into Queenstown is a must for those who want to take in the views and the ambience of the place. Pete and Michelle were great in responding to our needs and queries, although our requirements were more than satisfied at the apartment without having to refer to them to often. All in all a great apartment, a great place and a great holiday

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed in the 1 bedroom studio on the lakefront, it was awesome waking up literally meters from the water and the fantastic views, being well down off the road on the water it was very quiet. The studio had a marble bathroom, its own couch, sky tv and a 42 inch plasma and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. It was easy catching the bus to the remarkables for 5.00 return right at the entrance, there are buses running into town every 15 or so minutes. The easy 40 minute lakefront walk into Queenstown is stunning. I had a great time in Queenstown and I will be definitely rebooking the same lakefront studio next year.

Room Tip: book the waterfront studio, extremely quiet and comfortable with a luxury feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments, the Waterfront Studios do make you feel like you are part of the scenery, I am not usre how you could be much closer to the lake!!!

Hope to see you back again soon.

Pete and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and were very satisfied with what we got. The views were awesome and the apartment was very clean. We had no problem finding the rubbish bin and also found the compendium helpful with informing us about Alpine Village. Pete and Michelle were quick at replying to our emails and seemed more than willing to make sure that we were happy and comfortable with the apartment. The rooms were great and it was lovely to open up the curtains in the morning and enjoy the perfect scenery. We would highly recommend Alpine Village to friends who are wanting to stay in Queenstown and we also will be staying here next time we come over here! Thanks Pete and Michelle! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

All we can say is "WOW".. Great views, great friendly service, and a great price.. we couldn’t have been happier, Pete & Michelle are excellent hosts and very helpful, we look forward to returning again :-) I’m a little perplexed with the negative comment left by ..nickmBedford.. as we also stayed in U24 and found it superb. The views are fabulous, the apartment is very clean & tidy, the TV is simple to operate, and the rubbish bin position is clearly marked in the unit folder for those people sufficiently educated to be able to read, plus Pete did not charge us a dollar over the advertised rate. Thanks Pete & Michelle, look forward to seeing you again soon :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
W0W, what a review !!! Thanks for your positive feedback, you are correct we try to put all the information in the compendium to help people on Holiday, but we can't make them read it.

Once again a big thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village

Address: 643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, clean apartments on the shores of Lake Wakatipu; all have fantastic mountain and lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Queenstown
Breakfree Alpine Village Hotel
Breakfree Alpine Village Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.