We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronation Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coronation Lodge to your Saves list
Coronation Lodge
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 Coronation Drive, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Myers FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our trek around the South Island. The room was cheaper than some other rooms we stayed in and much bigger and nicer than the more expensive ones. The location is great, very central to town and bars and restaurants. My only complaint is the parking. It was very difficult to get in and out, no matter where you were parked. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Devon C,
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you rated Coronation Lodge as such good value for your money. We are sorry you had difficulty with the parking, thankfully there is an abundance of free, unrestricted parking available on the roads next to Coronation Lodge if the car park is too restricting.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Coronation Lodge in the future.
Kind regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    77
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
161
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was our second time staying at Coronation Lodge. Great location - five minute walk to the town centre. The bed was clean and comfortable - my number one priority. Will definitely stay there again when we next visit Queenstown next year. It is also a five minute walk to the botanic gardens where you can bring your children to feed the friendly ducks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Crawford54,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your second stay here, and are planning on returning again. We certainly have the same priorities of clean and comfortable, and happy that these met your expectations.

Yes, the duck pond in the Botanical Gardens is a perfect free activity with the kids (or big kids!), just 5 minutes walk away.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Coronation Lodge next year.

Kind regards,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We chose this hotel largely based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is small and intimate with only 11 rooms--just right for the personal touches you get with this size accommodation. The balcony was a nice touch as well. Although breakfast is not included in the room rate, there is a cafe on the premises which does serve breakfast. Upon check-in, the hostess provided us with fresh milk for our coffee in the morning. The room is equipped with a kettle & plunger coffee maker, no instant. The bed and pillows were very comfy. The room was very clean and quiet. The free wi-fi was also appreciated.

The location of the hotel is very convenient to everything as the center of town is only a 3 minute stroll on a footpath through Queenstown Gardens. Many restaurants and shops are nearby. The hotel also provides free undercover parking. Overall, good value for the money and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so ask for a lower floor is stairs are a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Chose to stay at Coronation lodge based on glowing reviews on tripadvisor. Exceeded any and all expectations. Mel booked our bungy jump and shared her own experience. She also made our first day there memorable by recommending the Queenstown hill track, which was a very nice hike. All the staff were really extra helpful and nice, and those young women work hard keeping the establishment very clean. Appreciated the laundry with the library, and the line to dry . Received great advice for dining. The location couldn't be better, being right by the beautiful park/gardens, and just a short walk from town center. Very comfortable beds and nice room. Only negative was noise from the next room and from outside late at night . I would definitely stay here again,and would recommend highly!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronationlodge, Front Office Manager at Coronation Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear JAJQSC,

Thank you for your review of Coronation Lodge. We are so glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay here. We do love our location, so close to town, yet with the Botanical Gardens giving the effect that we are out of town.
We are sorry that you had noise disturbances during your stay. We do ask guests to be respectful after 10pm. Hopefully you were still able to get a good nights sleep with our comfy beds though.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Coronation Lodge, and thank you for recommending us.

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at Coronation Lodge for two separate nights, before and after walking the Milford Track, and we couldn't have picked a better spot. Lovely rooms, clean, large and quiet! And only a couple of minutes’ walk from town. The staff were happy to hold our bags for us after we'd checked out, cheerfully pointed out places of interest and we loved the little touches including milk for tea and coffee in glass bottles. Would certainly stay there again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you're after some sun in your room, ask for a room facing towards town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Coronation Lodge. Its location is almost unbeatable, quiet, but within 5 minutes walk of Queenstown centre. Our room was not particularly spacious, but the bed & linen were excellent and the room clean & comfortable. We had the continental breakfast, which had a good variety and was excellent value. Car parking was under the property and there was not one space per car. On road parking was available adjacent to the Lodge. The staff were very helpful and booked all the trips we requested in advance of our arrival. We expect to return to Queenstown again and would certainly stay there again. We have recommend it to friends visiting Queenstown.

Room Tip: Ask the Lodge when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We found Coronation Lodge to be perfectly located in a quiet place overlooking Queenstown's downtown and yet just a short 5-10 minute stroll to the town center. The rooms are really spacious, clean and very quiet. In the morning you have the option of eating breakfast in the small breakfast room on property for just a small extra fee. We did on our departure day and found the choice great and the price very fair. The only minor negative in our eyes was the cramped parking lot and the fact that parking is not guaranteed for all the rooms, in which case you have to park on the street. This never happened to us during our stay, though.

Considering all the factors described above, we would return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronation Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Lodge

Address: 10 Coronation Drive, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronation Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coronation Lodge is conveniently situated near the picturesque Queenstown Gardens, only a 2-minute walk to the heart of Queenstown. Locally owned and operated, we offer hospitality that is genuine and warm. Whether you are visiting Queenstown for business or leisure, Coronation Lodge is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Recommended by Lonely Planet for Queenstown Accommodation. Our Lodge features: Free Wi-Fi, Sky TV Guest Select 50+ channels, breakfast dining room, natural wooden interior, ski lockers/drying room, guest laundry, free luggage storage and free covered parking.Our rooms feature: king bed or two single beds, private en-suite bathrooms with under-floor heating, 32" LCD T.V with 50+ Sky channels, double glazed windows, Free Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, free plunger coffee and cookies, fresh milk, two of our rooms have kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Coronation Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronation Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronation Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.