We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Earnslaw Lodge to your Saves list
Earnslaw Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment which suited our needs admirably. First thing we noticed was the wow view of the Remarkables and lake from the apartment, it was stunning. The unit was clean and the beds were 1st class. The motel was easy to find with good parking. The proprietor Lynley Jones was very helpful and friendly. The walk down to town was easy, but not so the walk up, we got a taxi! We recommend this motel and will stay again when we revisit this beautiful part of NZ.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    78
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
113
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wahiawa, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel but it is very clean and nicely located. Perfect for families who want to get out and enjoy Queenstown but not be in center city, and have space to spread out after a long day of activities. Management staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 19 & 20 to accomodate our family of 6 and it had fantastic views of the lake, easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Earnslaw Lodge in a superior studio with lake view. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated with great views over the lake. Queenstown seems to be the most expensive place to stay on the South Island, so I thought this good value for money. Some accomodation I looked at was double the price we paid. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. We had breakfast every morning which was served piping hot.
The walk into town was lovely but Queenstown does have some steep streets which might be a problem for some visitors. I would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation, and would love to return again on day

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is a MUST !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had booked a studio with lakeview on Expedia, but when we arrived, we were told it was not available. The owner told us she had tried to call and left message. We were unhappy with basement room available, so she called all around Queenstown, and found us a lakeside room at nearly equivalent price (which we were very happy with). She gave us a bottle of wine when we left. She turned this into a good situation for us.
I only gave 3 stars because I could not submit my review without some rating. I did not end up staying at the motel.

Room Tip: Lakeview best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We only stayed one night in Earnslaw Lodge as we were en route to Te Anau, but thoroughly enjoyed our short time there. Friendly hosts, large spacious room that was comfortable and clean with awesome views. My husband got the full breakfast in the morning and said is was great. I got scrambled eggs, toast and coffee for $6 which was good as well. Short walk into town, easy parking on main street and no traffic noise at all. Would absolutely stay there again. Nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra Hills, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great view and location, Room 17 with Kitchen, view was stunning, Opening door and window was an added bonus. Bathroom Fan was a bit annoying as it was connected together with the light switch. Staff were very helpful and polite. Would stay again if chance presents itself.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for room with a view . It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed there 3 nights with a room with kitchen and view on the lake.
Quiet room, despite the proximity of the main road, and nicely spacious.
We had a nice view, though that can probably be said of most of the properties in Queenstown, seeing that they all face the lake.
The motel is a good 10-15min walk to the city centre, so fine but probably not a location I'd choose in a colder season.
The main problem was the fan in the bathroom: it was extremely noisy and was making the toilet quite cold, but it couldn't be switched off as it was tied to the lights… This was so unpleasant and irritating that I removed 1 "star" in my rating due to that only.
The beds were too soft, but that was the case in the other 5 places we've stayed at in the south island, so it seems kind of a national standard unfortunately…

Room Tip: Room with view on the lake do have a nice view, on the other hand it seems that rooms facing the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk from downtown Queenstown and 100m from Lake Wakatipu - the adventure capital of the world, soak up the dramatic lake and mountain views from our motel style lodge.We offer a high level of hospitality and service, guaranteed to make for an enjoyable stay. We are your perfect Queenstown accommodation choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnslaw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.