We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Earnslaw Lodge to your Saves list
Earnslaw Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Yes this was a very special place with excellent views. The prices were far better than some of the places across the road or next door. The latter places crazy wifi plans where they would hook you into expensive plans. Not the Earnslaw. Highly recommended. At times I was thinking I was in Banf (Canada) no I was in Queenstown New Zealand a far better place and value for money.

Room Tip: You need to give this place a go far better than going to the large conglomerates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    97
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
126
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place to stay after handing back our motorhomes after 3weeks touring. Very helpful and friendly host. Could not do enough for us. Fantastic views. Picture postcard. Clean spacious rooms. Walking distance to Queenstown CBD which suited us as we did not have a vehicle. Shuttle bus pickup right outside to airport. Great breakfast in a relaxing, stress free environment. We will definitely be back. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi

We are so pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the motel accommodation. Our staff have been in Queenstown a long time which does make a difference. We are always happy to share our knowledge so that you enjoy your stay.

Lynlwey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast nsw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

views - incredible mountains & lake;
location - 10 minute walk to town;
value - ultra reasonable tariff;
cleanliness - so very good;
friendliness - yes
tourism info - stacks.
Excellent motel-style accommodation.

Room Tip: request mountain/lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are pleased thet you enjoyed your stay and that we could tick all your boxes.
We hope that we can see you again.


Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A perfect place to stay for our last night in Queenstown. Clean, friendly motel with views too good to be true. Lake view room a must. Wonderful breakfast and extremely friendly service. Lovely short walk into town. We will definitely be booking for our next stay in Queenstown. Wish we had found this place earlier

Room Tip: Must get lake view room. Well worth the extra $'s
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are pleased you found the motel to your liking. The team at Earnslaw Lodge maybe small but we like when we have people leave the motel happy.

Many thanks

Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is well-situated on the lake, just a little outside of the main area, but a very short walk to all the bars and restaurants. A very spacious room and clean with everything we needed. The person at reception was always very helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here. We only stayed for two nights, but this would be a great base if you were staying longer as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a great stay at the Earnslaw Lodge. It was our second time there and we will be back. We had a wonderful view of the lake, the service was lovely, and everything was reasonably priced. Overall an excellent experience and one which we can highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you can get a lakeside room, go for it - a great view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A lovely place to stay. Very reasonable rates, superb views, and friendly owners. Very happy with our stay, however brief. The breakfast was freshly prepared, and the coffee was good. Our room had great views of the lake. The location is perfect in my mind away from the noise of downtown. Room was spacious, and clean. Bathroom was large. WiFi worked well. Beds were comfortable. We were taking a tour which was going to return us to the lodge well after checkout time. Owners had no problem with us leaving our vehicle on site. Much appreciated. Next trip we will stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the review. Always nice when someone can take the time and let you know that there stay with us was enjoyed. We are a small team, the housekeepers pride themseves in clean comfortable rooms. A room with a view is certaintly worth the little bit of extra price wise.
Hopefully you will be able to stay with us longer next time


Lynley and the team at Earnslaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk from downtown Queenstown and 100m from Lake Wakatipu - the adventure capital of the world, soak up the dramatic lake and mountain views from our motel style lodge.We offer a high level of hospitality and service, guaranteed to make for an enjoyable stay. We are your perfect Queenstown accommodation choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnslaw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.