We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Earnslaw Lodge to your Saves list
Earnslaw Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were recommended by the gateway apartments, when our flight was cancelled....the couple we met at the counter were amazing...very attentive and so friendly....even though it was just over night....it was very comfortable stay...thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you, hope the rest of your trip went without anymore hiccups.

Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    78
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
113
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Amazing views, excellent facilities & really friendly staff. You can't go wrong with this property. We really enjoyed our stay & Lynley our host was very welcoming & accommodating from the time we booked to the time we checked out. Queenstown is an expensive place to stay but this property was very reasonable in comparison. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding staying here at the lodge. It is always pleasing to know that the guests have enjoyed staying with us at the Lodge- and furthermore that there accommodation is well suited.

Kind regards

Lynley

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had been recommended to stay here by the owner of an inn on the north island, and she told us to make sure to ask for a room with a view of the lake. We got the last one, and were treated with a great view over the lake and the mountains when we woke up the next morning. We didn't stay very long -- checked in around 7 or 8 and were out by 9 the next morning -- but all of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and happy to answer any questions about town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi thanks for the great review. It is always really pleassing to receieve these as we work hard to please everybody, the views are pretty stunning, some people are just happy to sit and watch the boats go by.
Look forward to hosting you next time in Queenstown and thanks for staying with us.

Kind regards

Lynley

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fantastic facilities at the lodge and we had a awesome view of the lake. The room was warm, clean and very comfortable with lots of room. Bed was most comfortable and clean. Our hosts were great and made us feel most welcome. Even had a beer or two at the lodge bar with the owner. The price for our stay was very competitive and well priced. I have no hesitation in recommending this Lodge as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Lake views are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Many thanks

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Phil is always on for a drink and a bit of a chat.
The rooms are spacious, so for the people staying for a long stay they have room to move.
It is always really pleasing to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at the lodge- furthermore that accommodation was suited.

Kind Regards

Lynley
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Was great to stay here, we had the two bedroom apartment. On arrival, the lady at reception was so friendly and helpful. Short walk into town, beautiful views of the lake and snow capped mountains. Great facilities within the room and such comfortable beds! Had a few drinks at the little bar and played a great game of Pictionary (which we found at the motel, wonderful!). Everyone was so friendly and willing to help. Really enjoyed our time in Queenstown and at Earnslaw Lodge and would definitely go back. You could tell that the operators of the motel got a real joy and satisfaction out of helping their guests and of seeing their guests' enjoyment

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartment room is great- has two seperate bathrooms for each room. One of the beds i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor regarding your stay at the lodge. The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom is a good big room to stay in with friends. The board games have proved a hit with the guests.
The parking for this unit at the door is a hit as there is no carting bags up the stairs.
Look forward to hosting you next time in Queenstown and thanks for choosing to stay.



Kind regards
Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had the studio room with lake view, room was basic with coffee/tea facility. There's also a balcony so we can enjoy a cup of hot drink facing the lake. Just a short walk to the city, very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

a short walk out of town this place overlooks some quite mindblowing scenery (lake view rooms are a very small extra cost, more than worth it). well equipped rooms with parking and hosts who are very friendly and helpful. the breakfasts set you up for whatever day activity you have on your agenda and it is a welcoming place to come "home" to after a day out exploring the region. quite lovel

Room Tip: ask if the lake view rooms are available, it is a very small upgrade cost for a million dollar view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi

Thanks for your review - We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in Queenstown. We look forward to hosting you again when you return.

Kind Regards
Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk from downtown Queenstown and 100m from Lake Wakatipu - the adventure capital of the world, soak up the dramatic lake and mountain views from our motel style lodge.We offer a high level of hospitality and service, guaranteed to make for an enjoyable stay. We are your perfect Queenstown accommodation choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnslaw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.