We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views from the back are amazing, the rooms are fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Save Saved
You added Earnslaw Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The views from the back are amazing, the rooms are fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This motel is clean and comfortable, the lakeview rooms are basic but the views make up for it all. Its on the main road, you can catch a bus to the city or the airport or you can walk into the city if you want to stretch your legs. The balcony was shared with all the other rooms, the views over the lake are stunning, whatever time of day you look out the window. We hardly saw anyone else around, not even the receptionist! It was a perfectly adequate motel for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Owner at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views of the lake and mountains from your room. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holidays

Kind Regards Lynley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
98
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The room was clean. No frills. If you are looking for clean room at an affordable price, this may meet your needs.I got what I was promised, unlike my motel stay at Te Anau (Edge water Motel).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Manager at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for the review. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Wanted room on higher floor to enjoy great views of Mountains and Lake , but also wanted kitchen facilities which are only on ground floor, other rooms have fridge and microwave.

Huge room, 1 Queen + 1 single bed. Hob but no oven/grill. Fine for our needs.
Hotel a bit tired looking but in good location, 5 minute walk into centre, longer uphill climb home!!
Clean and comfortable.
Small restaurant for breakfast and bar.
Friendly and helpful receptionist.
Would recommend for location and views.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views but ground floor ones also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a motel situated on a main road with the back overlooking Lake Wakatipu. We arrived early but as our room was ready we were allowed in. I had paid a bit extra for a lake facing room and was ready glad I had. The view is stunning as you don’t just see the lake – there is a golf course on a spit of land in the lake which is very green with a lot of trees, then there is of course the lake, plus the mountains in the background.

This is an old style motel and although the room itself is reasonably spacious, the walls of the room are just breeze blocks painted white and quite spartan in appearance. It was simply furnished with a queen sized bed, a single bed plus flat screen TV, fridge, tea-making facilities, 2 small armchairs and a coffee table. There is a shared balcony which extends across the back of the building. (My husband was not keen on this as people were walking by our window/patio door and there was no net curtain for privacy.) Each room has their own table and chairs to sit on the balcony and gaze at the wonderful view.

Minor niggles are – no hooks in ensuite to hang up clothes and the towels are on the small side, in fact the hand towels were really very large flannels. The room was adequately clean.

Breakfast is available and we had the full cooked breakfast which was good value for money, however I was not impressed that there is a charge for wifi – one of the few accommodations we stayed in New Zealand that didn’t even offer 30 minutes free.

It is about 900 metres into town – just under 10 minutes walk

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately, our experience was not like most reviews we read. Our shower had a urine odor with trickling water, beds are old with sinking mattresses that make you itch for a month (bed bugs), if you dial 800 numbers from the room they charge you a dollar per minute, breakfast is stale cereal for a hefty price, the managers are an old demented couple that smile all the time but nickle & dime you for everything you got. If can stay somewhere else please do. The only positive is if you get a room facing the lake (nice views)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Director of Sales at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Tha you for taking the time to log a review after staying with us recently. We are sorry that you where disappointed with some aspects of the motel. With regards to your comment on the beds we have since requested feedback from the next two guest we had booked "your" room and both where happy - with no sign of bed bugs anywhere.
We fail to see how you can comment on our breakfast when you didn't experience it. The comment about the Management are a personal attack, and are not warranted or constructive. Age is not reflective of capability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in a Lakeview Room. The view from our balcony of Lake Wakatipu was stunning. Especially during sunrise and sunset.

The hosts were really friendly and helpful. They organized tours for all the different types of things we wanted to do in Queenstown and suggested some others which were also great.

We never had any of our meals here so I cant comment about the food. It is located quite close to the city center which has a lot of fabulous restaurants.

The room however was not that great. It had a bit of a run-down feel. The bed wasn't very comfortable either.

If you would like a reasonably priced place close to the city center, then I guess the place is ok. But you could find a more comfortable place to stay in Queenstown for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Make sure you book a lake facing room for the views - it's really worth it.

Conveniently located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and with car parking on site - ticks all the boxes.

Rooms are comfortable and are reasonably priced. It's a motel so expect motel standards but with so much to do in and around Queenstown we were out and about all the time so luxury would have been wasted on us.

The owners are personally involved in running Earnslaw Lodge and are really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk from downtown Queenstown and 100m from Lake Wakatipu - the adventure capital of the world, soak up the dramatic lake and mountain views from our motel style lodge.We offer a high level of hospitality and service, guaranteed to make for an enjoyable stay. We are your perfect Queenstown accommodation choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnslaw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.