We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable motel - 10 mins walk from town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Save Saved
You added Earnslaw Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Comfortable motel - 10 mins walk from town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a motel situated on a main road with the back overlooking Lake Wakatipu. We arrived early but as our room was ready we were allowed in. I had paid a bit extra for a lake facing room and was ready glad I had. The view is stunning as you don’t just see the lake – there is a golf course on a spit of land in the lake which is very green with a lot of trees, then there is of course the lake, plus the mountains in the background.

This is an old style motel and although the room itself is reasonably spacious, the walls of the room are just breeze blocks painted white and quite spartan in appearance. It was simply furnished with a queen sized bed, a single bed plus flat screen TV, fridge, tea-making facilities, 2 small armchairs and a coffee table. There is a shared balcony which extends across the back of the building. (My husband was not keen on this as people were walking by our window/patio door and there was no net curtain for privacy.) Each room has their own table and chairs to sit on the balcony and gaze at the wonderful view.

Minor niggles are – no hooks in ensuite to hang up clothes and the towels are on the small side, in fact the hand towels were really very large flannels. The room was adequately clean.

Breakfast is available and we had the full cooked breakfast which was good value for money, however I was not impressed that there is a charge for wifi – one of the few accommodations we stayed in New Zealand that didn’t even offer 30 minutes free.

It is about 900 metres into town – just under 10 minutes walk

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    71
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
36
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately, our experience was not like most reviews we read. Our shower had a urine odor with trickling water, beds are old with sinking mattresses that make you itch for a month (bed bugs), if you dial 800 numbers from the room they charge you a dollar per minute, breakfast is stale cereal for a hefty price, the managers are an old demented couple that smile all the time but nickle & dime you for everything you got. If can stay somewhere else please do. The only positive is if you get a room facing the lake (nice views)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earnslawman, Director of Sales at Earnslaw Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Tha you for taking the time to log a review after staying with us recently. We are sorry that you where disappointed with some aspects of the motel. With regards to your comment on the beds we have since requested feedback from the next two guest we had booked "your" room and both where happy - with no sign of bed bugs anywhere.
We fail to see how you can comment on our breakfast when you didn't experience it. The comment about the Management are a personal attack, and are not warranted or constructive. Age is not reflective of capability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in a Lakeview Room. The view from our balcony of Lake Wakatipu was stunning. Especially during sunrise and sunset.

The hosts were really friendly and helpful. They organized tours for all the different types of things we wanted to do in Queenstown and suggested some others which were also great.

We never had any of our meals here so I cant comment about the food. It is located quite close to the city center which has a lot of fabulous restaurants.

The room however was not that great. It had a bit of a run-down feel. The bed wasn't very comfortable either.

If you would like a reasonably priced place close to the city center, then I guess the place is ok. But you could find a more comfortable place to stay in Queenstown for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Make sure you book a lake facing room for the views - it's really worth it.

Conveniently located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and with car parking on site - ticks all the boxes.

Rooms are comfortable and are reasonably priced. It's a motel so expect motel standards but with so much to do in and around Queenstown we were out and about all the time so luxury would have been wasted on us.

The owners are personally involved in running Earnslaw Lodge and are really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Two nights here and an ideal base for our trip to Milford Sound and excursions locally. Just about the right distance from town and with a lake view stunning. Any trips book through the hosts they get you a good price and were full of useful information. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast worth the expense. All in all good value for money

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the road it does get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Earnslaw Lodge has fantastic views over Lake Wakatipu at the mouth of the Frankton arm. The rooms are spacious but beginning to need a bit of upgrading. It is a convenient 10 minute walk into town and all the facilities. You can park your car. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We would suggest making your own breakfast rather than eating the in house continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to new Zealand and visited many cities, hence many hotels/motels. this place was the worse one...let me explain: the room smelled, it's so old! the bed is like 40 years old and sinks you in! The bathroom smelled like vomit and the towels we threw on the floor to be changed were just put back on the rack for us to reuse! the bathroom seriously does not get cleaned. Every other hotel had some free or all free wifi..this one was not free of course. They wanted $7 for a continental breakfast which was some old cereal and a small yogurt and some old canned fruit. Every hotel we went to had free 1-800 number calling from their phone and so we assumed that like every country 800 numbers are free...and in fact other cities in new Zealand do have it for free...this hotel charged us $40 for the 800 numbers we dialed!!! We had like 2 very small bars of soap to use, the carpets are so old and stale...I could go on. their TV in our room was broken by the way and the front desk even told us that when we got their and did not do anything about it! The security of the hotel is terrible, they give the guests a key to the front door to the hotel which also opens your room!!! So that means everyones key is the same so someone can open your room. and this place is expensive! With all this stuff!!! The hosts seem nice at the start but they will charge you for every single little thing and they dont care. If queens town was all booked, we would have rather stayed at a youth hostel...it would have been better. Trust me, we dont require much, but this was so not worth the money!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk from downtown Queenstown and 100m from Lake Wakatipu - the adventure capital of the world, soak up the dramatic lake and mountain views from our motel style lodge.We offer a high level of hospitality and service, guaranteed to make for an enjoyable stay. We are your perfect Queenstown accommodation choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnslaw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.