We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views of Lake Wakatipu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Earnslaw Lodge to your Saves list
Earnslaw Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Merseyside
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful views of Lake Wakatipu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Make sure you book a lake facing room for the views - it's really worth it.

Conveniently located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and with car parking on site - ticks all the boxes.

Rooms are comfortable and are reasonably priced. It's a motel so expect motel standards but with so much to do in and around Queenstown we were out and about all the time so luxury would have been wasted on us.

The owners are personally involved in running Earnslaw Lodge and are really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    78
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
113
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Two nights here and an ideal base for our trip to Milford Sound and excursions locally. Just about the right distance from town and with a lake view stunning. Any trips book through the hosts they get you a good price and were full of useful information. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast worth the expense. All in all good value for money

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the road it does get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Earnslaw Lodge has fantastic views over Lake Wakatipu at the mouth of the Frankton arm. The rooms are spacious but beginning to need a bit of upgrading. It is a convenient 10 minute walk into town and all the facilities. You can park your car. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We would suggest making your own breakfast rather than eating the in house continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to new Zealand and visited many cities, hence many hotels/motels. this place was the worse one...let me explain: the room smelled, it's so old! the bed is like 40 years old and sinks you in! The bathroom smelled like vomit and the towels we threw on the floor to be changed were just put back on the rack for us to reuse! the bathroom seriously does not get cleaned. Every other hotel had some free or all free wifi..this one was not free of course. They wanted $7 for a continental breakfast which was some old cereal and a small yogurt and some old canned fruit. Every hotel we went to had free 1-800 number calling from their phone and so we assumed that like every country 800 numbers are free...and in fact other cities in new Zealand do have it for free...this hotel charged us $40 for the 800 numbers we dialed!!! We had like 2 very small bars of soap to use, the carpets are so old and stale...I could go on. their TV in our room was broken by the way and the front desk even told us that when we got their and did not do anything about it! The security of the hotel is terrible, they give the guests a key to the front door to the hotel which also opens your room!!! So that means everyones key is the same so someone can open your room. and this place is expensive! With all this stuff!!! The hosts seem nice at the start but they will charge you for every single little thing and they dont care. If queens town was all booked, we would have rather stayed at a youth hostel...it would have been better. Trust me, we dont require much, but this was so not worth the money!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here in early February 2012 for 4 nights.
The room unfortunately was not facing the lake, but it was quite large with 2 beds.
The bathroom was also a good size.
This is not too far from town, a brisk walk along the main road.
We were staying on a room only basis but did have a full breakfast on 2 occasions and it
was well worth it instead of eating in Queenstown. It was nice to have hot food cooked especially for you rather than eating from a buffet.
Found Lyn to be very friendly and willing to help with any bookings you needed.

Room Tip: Request a full breakfast, certainly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February, for our wedding anniversary and to visit family. The lake facing rooms have an amazing view of the lake which is completely unimpeded by other buildings or trees. We had a lake facing studio. The studio room was large and comortable and very clean with a nice bathroom. We also had a veranda with a seat outside our french doors. The motel is an older style building.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful and were always keen to find out what you had done the previous day, which was nice. Breakfast was quite good with three options available, quick bite, continental and cooked.

I would definitely stay here again. It was reasonably priced, clean, not too far from Queenstown for those that do not find a 15 min walk and in a quiet suburban location.. There is no lift though, so if you can't climb stairs this is not the place for you. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The room worked well for the two of us. We asked for a microwave when we arrived, and they quickly accommodated us. It was a little way from the center of town, but was quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk from downtown Queenstown and 100m from Lake Wakatipu - the adventure capital of the world, soak up the dramatic lake and mountain views from our motel style lodge.We offer a high level of hospitality and service, guaranteed to make for an enjoyable stay. We are your perfect Queenstown accommodation choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnslaw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.