We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Good Choice in Queenstown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earnslaw Lodge

Save Saved
You added Earnslaw Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Earnslaw Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great View, Good Choice in Queenstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August, meant to be 4 but we we're stranded elsewhere due to bad weather. Beautiful view, good value accommodation, friendly hosts who really go out of their way to help you in any way they can, delicious cooked breakfasts and a pretty good location in Queenstown. We didn't have or find we needed a car here during our stay although we will warn there is a hill you have to get up and down to get into the thick of Queenstown.

A close block to the lake with an elevated view. Close to the gardens, a really pretty location. We we're lucky to see plenty of snow when we we're there. Any thing you want to do or make a reservation at can be easily arranged from the front desk including dry cleaning. We can recommend going up the gondola and seeing the Haka Show and dining at the restaurant. Well worth it, There is so many fun things to do in Queenstown and the surrounding area!

We got married during our visit to Queenstown and the hosts even drove us out to the venue. Thanks so much Phil and Lynley!!

Earnslaw Lodge has a wonderful, intimate, homely feel where you instantly feel comfortable. We enjoyed our stay here and would like to visit again some day for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    71
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
98
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Luckily we only stayed one night, as the accommodation was very disappointing, although very clean. The room was huge (a family room) and had everything we needed, but it was badly laid out and desperately needed updating. The rather cramped bathroom was also in need of modernisation - and bigger bath towels! The kitchenette would've been much improved by the addition of an oven - there was plenty of room for one.

The one redeeming feature was the view, which was pretty amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed 2 nights here recently. Motel is right along Frankton Road( main road heading to Queenstown City Center).Overall, the rooms were sorta alright. Bedding is comfortable. Kitchen is quite well equipped with frying pans, pots,toaster and multi-cooker using electric stoves. EXCELLENT LAKE & MOUNTAIN VIEWS from the room.

However, there are some areas of improvement like the heater. It's a traditional heater (the ones mounted to the wall) and takes up quite long to heat up the room. We would prefer something that blows out the hot air into the room. The bathroom that I used wasn't very well heated and felt cold when I came out of the shower. We would definitely like heaters where it blows out hot air. However, this is probably the only bathroom with a view of the surrounding mountains.

The single balcony that runs across the units could be uncomfortable for some people as it is easily accessible from the main road and nearby.

Location is not too bad if you have a car.Good thing that they do provide a car park.It takes about 15 minutes to walk and 3 minutes drive to the city center. There are many supermarkets for you to get your groceries, eg. Fresh Choice that opens up till 12am.

Overall, it's not too bad at all to consider staying here for the VIEWS ..AMAZING AND BREATHTAKING VIEWS OF THE LAKE AND SURROUNDING MOUNTAINS. Hospitality is great as well as we felt welcomed to this place of stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The room standard was clean and sufficient. However, out of all the places we stayed in New Zealand this was the most average of all. The level of service seemed to depend on how many additional trips/activities you were booking through reception. The decor was a bit dated and average for what you pay. The location from the centre is a good 15 minutes walk, all uphill on your way back. Be aware that each level has one common balcony and as we found out privacy is not guaranteed - close your curtains! There were many other places closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Earnslaw Lodge is about 5 minutes’ drive to the town but it was very convenient.

When we arrived, there were no one at the reception. We wait for about 10 minutes, then there was a Laundry man came into the motel and start dialing from the phone on the reception’s desk. Then he got to talk to someone and left. We were like : eeeerrr…should we ? So we got near to the desk and saw: lift the hand set to talk to the staff!

We managed to talk to someone and she came out to help us check in. We were like : Darn it! Of all the time we had wasted, we should have made the call!!!

The check in staff was very helpful, gave us some good information about Queenstown. She brought us to our room: We had a stunning view!

Although this is not a big room or big house like we had in Tekapo, but it was cozy with a great view, the view of the lake and snow capped mountains!

The room was clean and the king size bed was the real one, not the combination of 2 single beds. The bathroom was small, no bathtub but it was clean and with enough amenities.

It was a nice touch when they had some magazine outside the room by the hallway where we can just took some and read in the room.

The balcony outside the room has a table and chair where we could enjoy our cup of coffee while admiring the stunning view of Queenstown

Another thing worth mention was – there was a huge heater in the room, we certainly we kept warm in the room!

The rate was good and we will go back to this motel again

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Lovely staff, well priced and comfortable. Stayed during the winter festival and is a close walk to town.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Rooms sorta tired. BUT, great views of the lake. Very pleasant owners and breakfasts were great. Very helpful with arranging tours.

Room Tip: Room with view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Earnslaw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earnslaw Lodge

Address: 77 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Earnslaw Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 minutes walk from downtown Queenstown and 100m from Lake Wakatipu - the adventure capital of the world, soak up the dramatic lake and mountain views from our motel style lodge.We offer a high level of hospitality and service, guaranteed to make for an enjoyable stay. We are your perfect Queenstown accommodation choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Earnslaw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earnslaw Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earnslaw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.