We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #9 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Beautifully appointed rooms with a quant TV set recessed in the bathroom wall above the tub! We loved this place as soon as we walked in and were greeted by some very passionate staff. Always felt welcome and friendly. It does get a bit noisy at night so I would recommend a higher floor unit to avoid this. Would return.

Room Tip: Higher floor unit to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Bonjour Travelbug406,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    143
    43
    21
    9
See reviews for
110
479
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Sofitel is a unique experience always and the Queenstown one does not disappoint in any way; from the furnishings to the service to the little things like a coffee machine which makes cappucino to the little tv screens at the bath, Sofitel always charms the discerning traveler. Honestly I was disappointed by Queenstown but extremely impressed by the Sofitel. I traveled here in March 2009.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Bonjour Karanbir B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are thrilled that you received such wonderful service from our Ambassadors and that you enjoyed the facilities in your room – the double spa bath with TV is always welcoming after a long day of activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very comfortable room with classy decor. The hotel staff were excellent. They couldn't have done more. Every staff member was polite, attentive and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location for town. We walked everywhere. Even when it rained. Only disappointment was the lack of lake view when it was so close.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Bonjour K C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nicely appointed and friendly staff. The central location means that street noise late at night can be an issue. There was a fair bit of that on the night we stayed and it meant a slightly compromised sleep. Worse, was the fact that the rooms were over heated and impossible to adjust down sufficiently, though I imagine this won't be a problem for most. The reception debit one's credit card for $100 over and above the pre-paid amount on your arrival (to cover any additional room charges) and 5 days after my stay this has not been reversed. Bloody irritating!.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Bonjour Karl T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a travel agent I am fortunate to be able to enjoy many hotels all over the world. The Sofitel, Queenstown is a 5 star French hotel chain and as you would expect it is sophistication & elegance personified.
I have stayed at Peppers, The Novotel and The Crowne Plaza in Queenstown and this is by far the best hotel in Queenstown. The check in was fast and informative if you haven’t stayed here before and the staff offered to book restaurants and suggest things to do while you are here. The rooms are large with plenty of storage, power points, lighting and a French balcony to enjoy. The bath rooms are large with a spa bath and TV to enjoy a long soak and listen to music. The shower has double heads to suit most people and the thing a really liked was the oversupply of really good quality towels, bath mats & face washers. The bed was very comfortable with feather pillows that my husband feel in love with and feather underlay was great but needed to be fluffed move often, such a minor negative.
The Left bank cafe has excellent quality food, with a menu option if you are trying to watch your weight and very reasonable priced for a 5 star property. The bar is small and intimate with a great fire place a little like an English smoking room without the smoking. If you book on the Executive level you can enjoy a selection drinks on the house in the bar which is very nice.

While in Queenstown you must eat at the Botswana Butchery & Amisfield Vineyard but make a booking online or you may miss out. The Bathhouse is very nice for breakfast if you would like a change located on the lake and the wharf pub has great live music.

Visit Queenstown and stay at the Sofitel with its excellent staff and you will not be disappointed. The location is fantastic within a minute walk to most things and if you need a doctor the medical centre is only 1 block away and is excellent.

Room Tip: We had a lead in price room and it was very nice no noise and large with a Juliet balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Bonjour Sharon TA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location and our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and professional and looked after our every need. Rooms were well presented and immaculate, just right for a romantic getaway. Great location, it's just off the main street so it doesn't get too noisy at night and you don't need a car. Everything from restaurants to tourist activities are just a footstep away. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: View on the southside is of the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Bonjour Glenn M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa recently awarded only Qualmark Exclusive Hotel. Inspired by the charms of Paris and the charisma of Queenstown hospitality, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique chic and local avant-garde design. Centrally located and providing exceptional personal service the hotel truly embodies the Sofitel concept ‘art de vivre’ – the art of living. The lobby and lounge flow into a resplendent reception enclave, invoking the panache of Paris and warm hospitality inherent to any Queenstown stay. Elegantly appointed rooms and suites feature comforts such as Sofitel’s sumptuous 'MyBed', double spa bath and separate walk-in rain shower. Modern surround sound LCD TV/DVD players entertain in bedroom and bathroom, a pillow menu and plush New Zealand possum throws add yet another fine touch. Hotel facilities include signature restaurant, Vie, an intimate Nue Lounge and the luxurious Left Bank Café – part French kitchen, part tea room – open for breakfast and lunch in charming Paris fashion. The ‘piece de resistance’ is LeSpa, a relaxing haven where mind, body and spirit unite. Using French and New Zealand products, LeSpa’s lavish treatments, which include a traditional Maori rituals and Hammam steam room, place strong emphasis on balance, well being and regeneration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Queenstown Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.