We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really expected a whole lot more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #9 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really expected a whole lot more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the last stop on our trek of New Zealand and we were hoping for a spectacular Sofitel experience. It is with disappointment that it did not meet our expectations. Originally we had made a booking and cancelled it online and made a second booking with new dates (shift one day forward). We received a phone call the night before we arrived with a message wondering if we were checking in (this reservation had been cancelled). We did not return their call in favour of waiting until the next day when we were planning on checking in with new reservation. Upon arrival at the hotel the concierge was most helpful with our baggage and valet of our vehicle. Front reception were welcoming with their trademark "Bon jour". There seemed to be some confusion with our booking and I advised that we had cancelled the original reservation and made a new booking at the same time as their website does not allow amendments of dates. They consulted the duty manager and I showed them my paperwork (lucky I had taken the time to print everything before I went!) They requested to photocopy my reservation paperwork that I had printed and advised that there should be a room available of the type we booked. As we had arrived early the room wasn't available but they provided us with coffee and advised that they would phone when we get checkin - not a problem at all as it was very early. They did phone mid morning and advised that the room was ready and we were able to access the room. The concierge again (one of the main highlights of our trip) showed us to our room and pointed out the facilities in the room. The room itself was well appointed and spacious. Lounge area with dining table and large flat screen tv. Coffee machine available as well. Super comfortable bed which are renowned across the Westin/Sofitel brands. Bathroom was nice with a very deep spa bath and dual rain shower. There was a cracked tile in the shower but we did not draw housekeeping's attention to this, in their defence. Two Juliette balconies were a treat as it was possible to let in some fresh air during our stay. In the room there was a welcome cheese platter that had been left there from the night before (their expectation that we arriving the day earlier).. however this was removed when noticed and replaced. Ella the duty manager was very helpful throughout the stay including offering restaurant reservations and engaging with us at every opportunity. The two French barmen in the hotel's bar were very welcoming and accommodating. They would remember our room number each evening and our drink of choice! Was a nice touch. As was housekeeping who were very efficient. A word of warning - the hotel only allows 300mb internet per day which really is not much in this day and age. Beyond that you can elect to pay extra or reduce your speed (which crawled...). A real disappointment and not experienced in any other hotel I've stayed. On the evening prior to our checkout we were presented with a note under the door that the hotel needed to take a preauthorisation of a credit card for the cost of the entire stay. We promptly attended reception and although they had taken a $400 bond for the 4 night stay they also wanted to pre-auth the entire accommodation cost. I enquired as to whether when we checked out the following morning that the accommodation cost would replace the pre-auth which I was advised would happen. Checkout occurred and sure enough we were double charged (totalling upwards of $4000). The pre-auth amount would be returned within seven days. Doesn't help that it overdrew the credit card and went against what we were told the night before. Upon returning to Australia we had to make international phone calls to the hotel to find out what went wrong and they advised that it shouldn't have happened like that. They were going to send a letter to the bank to release the pre-auth funds and if they did it took another four business days before the money disappeared from the account. We received emails from Sofitel with request for survey which I completed honestly, per the account above. The front office manager has emailed me to clarify reservation issues as he believes that the duty manager was not informed of any issues on the day (which is not correct as the duty manager came out and photocopied our paperwork upon checkin). At $579 a night for a prestige suite we expected an awful lot more and were left feeling very disappointed. I have stayed in numerous hotels all around the world and this would have to be one of the worst experiences. Very unfortunate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Bonjour Steve8010,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us.

We are truly disappointed and apologise, that given a number of points relating to your stay, we did not exceed your expectations or live up to the service excellence upon which we pride ourselves. We know that Ulrike Zoch, our Front Office & Reservations Sales Manager, is currently in contact with you on the matter and addressing this internally as a priority.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do trust that you will return back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa on another occasion, to afford us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and service. Again, our sincerest apologies.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    143
    43
    21
    9
See reviews for
110
480
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is in the absolute best location in town - close to Fergburger too!
The rooms, food, concierge and service is amazing. The TV in the bathroom is just the best feature ever. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Bonjour tarli_santo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in your room, our central location and the helpful & friendly service provided by our Ambassadors

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding over ANZAC weekend and fell in love with the rooms and the staff. Lauren and Nicholas couldn't have been more helpful and the rooms were very luxurious. It felt more 6 star hotel than 5 thanks to the staff. Also - don't miss the botanical garden walk. After multiple visits to Queenstown it was the first time we'd done it (thanks to a staff tip) and it was stunning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Bonjour tommyc23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted thank you & your wife enjoyed your stay with us.

The botanical garden walk is truly stunning. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful Queenstown experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very friendly, attentive staff. We got a welcome glass of wine when we checked in. Lots of little touches, like chocolates at night, complimentary bottled water every day. Parking was really convenient, and just $20 per day.

The rooms are a good size, and we love the TV in the bathroom. The bathroom has a heated floor, which is great when its cold.

The location is superb. Close walk to the gondola. Right across from city centre, close to restaurants, shops etc.

Breakfast was fine, with lots of options. We enjoyed a glass of brandy by the fire in the ground floor bar.

Have always wanted to visit the spa, as it looks really good. Maybe next visit! We'll be back at Sofitel Queenstown. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Bonjour Loveurope22,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the luxury touches throughout your stay and the facilities in the hotel. We highly recommend indulging in a treatment at our LeSpa for your next visit.

Thank you once again & we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our 4 day stay was perfect. The 5th floor room was devine, especially the bathroom with its heated floor, huge spa bath and TV. We love all the added extras – bottled water with the turn-down service each night; the free cocktails each night (love love love the Mrs Gordon’s Orchard martini); the free red wine and cheese platter (perfect for watching the rugby) and the best croissants at breakfast (best outside of France that I’ve tasted).
All the staff were courteous, efficient and helpful.
I totally recommend the Sofitel if you want some luxury with the fuss in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor - facing town/lake. Rooms are super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Bonjour Nicole H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had a perfect stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in your room & the services available in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner & I decided to treat ourselves to a weekend of pampering after a 4 day walk in Milford and we were not disappointed. Ella greeted us like royalty (with complimentary glasses of wine on arrival) and within minutes, we were escorted to our room which was just divine & with all the touches one would expect from a luxury hotel.

They have amazing restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast is just out of this world & their new Steak House was just amazing (The best meal we have had in our 2 weeks in New Zealand and that by far!)

To finish our weekend we booked into their spa for a couples treatment (a little pricey) but yet worth every penny and we even had some complimentary champagne at the end.

All in all, if you really want to treat yourself and don't mind spending a little more, I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff here cannot be more helpful as they are always asking you if you need assistance.

I am now addicted to SOFITEL!

Room Tip: A tip - Their steak house restaurant is normally very busy and to get a good table it would be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Bonjour Marie-Edmée,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that were you enjoyed your dining experience in our Left Bank Café & our signature restaurant Jervois Steak House.

Thank you once again for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is an elegant hotel, located within walking distance to everything in the central area. The service at all levels is exceptionally good. Although the hotel is centrally located, the rooms are very quiet. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Bonjour Emdw04,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

We are delighted that you had a restful stay with us & that you found our central location beneficial to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Vincent Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#6 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa recently awarded only Qualmark Exclusive Hotel. Inspired by the charms of Paris and the charisma of Queenstown hospitality, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique chic and local avant-garde design. Centrally located and providing exceptional personal service the hotel truly embodies the Sofitel concept ‘art de vivre’ – the art of living. The lobby and lounge flow into a resplendent reception enclave, invoking the panache of Paris and warm hospitality inherent to any Queenstown stay. Elegantly appointed rooms and suites feature comforts such as Sofitel’s sumptuous 'MyBed', double spa bath and separate walk-in rain shower. Modern surround sound LCD TV/DVD players entertain in bedroom and bathroom, a pillow menu and plush New Zealand possum throws add yet another fine touch. Hotel facilities include signature restaurant, Vie, an intimate Nue Lounge and the luxurious Left Bank Café – part French kitchen, part tea room – open for breakfast and lunch in charming Paris fashion. The ‘piece de resistance’ is LeSpa, a relaxing haven where mind, body and spirit unite. Using French and New Zealand products, LeSpa’s lavish treatments, which include a traditional Maori rituals and Hammam steam room, place strong emphasis on balance, well being and regeneration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Queenstown Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.