We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonjour bonjour bonjour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Bonjour bonjour bonjour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a nice place to stay, even if it's "fancy French" style can come off as silly or just out of place. While the croissants are good and there are Hermes bath products and a lobby full of chandeliers, I never felt like I was actually in France--or even in a French run hotel. The staff is international as are the guests. The hotel has very little to do with its location--it could be in Dubai or hong kong, but it's a high end hotel product and it's in a good location in Queenstown.
The last few times I visited Queenstown, I stayed ay the Crown Plaza, Blanket Bay, and a B&B. For me the B&B was the best experience. I walked by he Novotel and thought it looked very nice and well located--may try it next time if I don't arrange a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    182
    54
    23
    10
See reviews for
137
609
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The only downside to this hotel that we could find is its lack of views (unless of course you are willing to pay extra for a room on the Executive Level (6)). The staff were wonderful, very accommodating, concierge brilliant, room was well appointed (and newly refurbished) which is pretty standard for Sofitel brand, and the informal French style cafe was also very good. Coffee was fabulous, although we struggled to find a bad cup anywhere in Queenstown. The restaurant meal was particularly special with everything cooked to perfection and impeccable service. We were told that the day spa is brilliant too but couldn't find the time to get there... too much to do in Queenstown. The location of Sofitel is great too, as it's right in the centre of town and just a couple hundred metres from the lakefront restaurants and just a few steps from cafes etc. We LOVED it, and will be back when we need to recharge the batteries again!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might request a room a little away from the lifts a the lift bell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel is at the top of the the tree, but for me it did not hit all the buttons as it did for my wife. I like an 'outlook' from my room and the hotel restaurant...especially in a place as amazingly scenic as Queenstown. The restaurant is totally 'enclosed'...no window views or 'sunshine'. Amentities and service are top class, but for me,the bed was too soft , with what appeared to be an extra soft layer on top of the mattress. I, personally, felt a bit... stifled.... by the "Sofitel experience" in Queenstown . A "Paris in the South" theme with greetings in French is cute but I'm not sure I needed it , even though I love France and go there every year or two. My wife was not quite so well during our stay and the staff's attention to her condition , with medicinal hot drinks served to our room in a spontaneous manner ,was exemplary. I know that many will find this hotel's attention to detail everything that they desire, so am hesitant to be as negative as I may sound.
This Sofitel is very hard to fault, and the staff are totally wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is the 7th stay at this hotel
Love the rooms and staff
Simply that is why we keep coming back
The prestige suites are the best for comfort
Has complimentary wifi for up to 300mb each day but who wants to be looking at a computer when the scenery outside is fantastic
Breakfast was included and very tasty eggs done to order
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

You can't get a better location in Queenstown. The beds are amazing and rooms are spacious. The bathroom was lovely yet with all the shininess and glam they seemed to have forgotten to put in an extractor fan! The hot chocolate supplied in the rooms is delish! Coming into reception may have been nice if you were dressed up like a movie star but trudging in after a day on the snow in your snowboarding get up made me feel a bit inadequate by the friendly yet fake greeting from the reception staff. Breakfast was great but WAY too expensive along with the general price of the accommodation. Parking also was expensive and it seemed like an inconvenience for the valet man to fetch our car when needed. Also i expect not to be disturbed when the DO NOT DISTURB sign is hung out, yet each time there was a knock or phone call to check if we wanted turn down service. In the morning the cleaning staff also had very heavy feet walking down the hall. All in all i would not stay here again unless i have a huge increase in my travel budget. We have stayed up the road in way cheaper accommodation and had a much more relaxed and equally awesome time in Queenstown! But if cashed up definately go to the Sofitel in Queenstown for the heavenly beds and beautiful rooms!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at a number of Queenstown hotels and knew this had the name to impress ... It didn't. Snooty staff on reception, crap TV remote, lights in the room didn't work. The beds were ok, the bathroom stylie, but the location was noisy, with no view, and the windows were draughty ... We'll be back to the Novotel in the future ... Sorry Accor this isn't worth it, bonsoir, Bon nuit ... Tacky snooty rubbish

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa

Address: 8 Duke St | PO Box 1797, Queenstown 9297, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#7 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a new level of sophistication at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa recently awarded only Qualmark Exclusive Hotel. Inspired by the charms of Paris and the charisma of Queenstown hospitality, be mesmerized by its tasteful combination of French antique chic and local avant-garde design. Centrally located and providing exceptional personal service the hotel truly embodies the Sofitel concept 'art de vivre' - the art of living. The lobby and lounge flow into a resplendent reception enclave, invoking the panache of Paris and warm hospitality inherent to any Queenstown stay. Elegantly appointed rooms and suites feature comforts such as Sofitel's sumptuous 'MyBed', double spa bath and separate walk-in rain shower. Modern LCD TV entertain in bedroom and bathroom, a pillow menu and plush New Zealand possum throws add yet another fine touch. Hotel facilities include intimate Nue Lounge and the luxurious Left Bank Cafe - part French kitchen, part tea room - open for breakfast and lunch in charming Paris fashion. The 'piece de resistance' is LeSpa, a relaxing haven where mind, body and spirit unite. Using French and New Zealand products, LeSpa's lavish treatments, which include a traditional Maori rituals and Hammam steam room, place strong emphasis on balance, well being and regeneration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel And Spa
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.