We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenstown Base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Base Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Base Queenstown to your Saves list
Base Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   49 Shotover St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Discovery Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Queenstown Base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Stray tour. Pretty average to be honest. The staff are nice and its well located, but the kitchen was a mess and most of the gas hobs were broken. The room was ok, but not enough power outlets. The other guests make a lot of noise, often in the corridor, so it can be difficult to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    65
    27
    30
See reviews for
5
32
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed in Base as part of a Stray tour. I was warned by others who said this hostel was a poohole. They were right.

While I was at Base the place seemed to be full of obnoxious, drunk teenagers who sat in the corridors, blocking the way and made no attempt to move to let you pass.

The kitchen was far too small for the size of the hostel.

It was good to have our own bathroom but the toilet wouldn't flush properly (we advised staff of this at least four times) and the timer on the shower was just ridiculous.

The whole place just felt seedy and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a fun hostel to stay at, where you party at night. It is not for those people that want a quiet nights sleep. I stayed in a female sanctuary dorm with up to eight people staying but it varied from 8 people to 3 on the last night. The room was of a good size, they give you lockers under your bed for your stuff which I did 't use I just spread my stuff along with everyone else! There was a bathroom adjacent just for the dorm which was good. The water was very temperamental, sometime boiling and other times freezing. You just had to time your shower right according to everyone else. I used the tour booking facility and they were very helpful. Staff were friendly which always makes a difference and the location was excellent. You are in a bar or restaurant within seconds.

Room Tip: If you are a girl, go for the female sanctuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Met so many great people in this hostel. Very helpful staff. The one negative thing I can say is that the showers were AWFUL. It was negative 5 degrees outside and there was no hot water all 4 nights I stayed here. Very disappointed with that. Other than that the kitchen was great, lots of space. It was very clean, and cleaned daily. The beds were very comfortable, probably the best beds of any hostel I've ever stayed in. AMAZING location. Base is the place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in Queenstown March 2013 and loved it, I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and the space was good even with 8 people in there (and the 3 of us are messy ppl!). Bathroom split into 3 sections which is handy with an 8 bed room, means you can do your make up whilst your mates in the other part in the shower etc. Lockers in the rooms which is really handy. Kitchen well equipped. Bar downstairs was epic, loved every night in there, bar staff are really friendly. Same with recpeption staff even after locking myself out of my room 2-4 times after a few drinks. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a fantastic hostel. Perfectly situated in the centre of town. great location for shops, bars and the infamous Fergberger. Friendly, helpful staff and a top onsite bar where fun is always guaranteed. Look forward to my next stay!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had my own room 4 nights at Base Queenstown, the room itself was decent but the service provided by staff wasn't helpful.

There signs on the corridors telling people to be quiet after 10:30pm. I told the staff that people were talking loudly on their telephones, they did not attempt to tell the other guest to keep the noise down so I had to myself.

Also, whenever I asked for directions the reception staff didn't seem to care which was quite annoying as well.

Overall, rooms ok, service not so good and hard to get a good night sleep with all the noise, I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Queenstown

Address: 49 Shotover St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Discovery Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Base Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most central, modern and fun Backpackers hostel in Queenstown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Base Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.