We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Azur to your Saves list
Azur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
houston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Exceeded all Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

For me, what makes a hotel tip top is always the service. This lodge is not only spectacularly located with first class appointments and incredible views but the team of people that work there make your visit a complete joy. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone on the team is first class and the inclusions at Azur are tremendous. I would return in the blink of an eye and recommend this experience to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
141
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Azur for four days last week. We can only add to the rave reviews on this site. Frankly, we've never stayed anywhere that can hold a candle to the genuine warmth and attentive, personal service of the Azur staff - Gavin, Tania, Maria, Toni, Anna, everyone including Elvis, the adorable Jack Russell Terrier

Shelley and Mike

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Check the view from our villa.
The hotel and staff are amazing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Azur is most definitely one of the best places we have stayed at. The property is beautifully located overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and it was one of those picture perfect days that we went to Azur. We can't decide which we liked more, the place itself or the staff. They were wonderful, attentive and everything is so personalized. Gavin was a wonderful host and so were the rest of folks.

The villas were beautiful and the view spectacular. I could just sit there watching the blue lake and mountains behind for a long long time. Unfortunately we had planned for just a night and wished we could have stayed longer. We were planning to to drive up to the glaciers the next day and Gavin promised us a scenic route to get there. He went through the trouble of printing out the route with very nice personalized comments and tips on the drive and left it in the room for us. Much appreciated and definite sense of loss at having to leave the next day!

Overall a wonderful experience but this review will be amiss if i don't mention the baked goodies...mouth watering and a lingering taste. So was the excellent breakfast - literally anything under the sun was offered!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

My husband and I travel extensively and have been blessed to stay in five-star properties around the world. Azur is unquestionably one of the best properties we've experienced. The service is outstanding. Every member of the staff made us feel they genuinely wanted our stay to be exactly as we wanted, and the word "no" wasn't in anyone's vocabulary. Each accommodation is a private villa with floor to ceiling windows looking out on a fantastic view of Lake Wakatipu surrounded by beautiful mountains. Our villa was beautifully furnished, and had an extremely large bathroom with the same view as the living area. All the food was delicious -- especially breakfast where we could request anything we wanted from eggs to lemon crepes to lamb sausage to eggs benedict!

Before we left home for New Zealand, I wrote the property for driving directions. We got an immediate reply with suggestions for scenic stops along the way. The general manager also wrote a lengthy reply suggesting we might want to take a different route than the one we were planning, and he outlined his thoughts for us in great detail. We followed his plan and it made a significant positive impact on our overall trip.

The staff will drive you anywhere you want to go in town and return to pick you up so that you never have to worry about finding a convenient parking place. Not only do they suggest where to dine in Queenstown and make the reservations, but one night we were so tired from the day's activities that they called a restaurant, placed a take-out order, drove to pick it up, brought it to us in our room and then set it up on our table with dishes and flatware!

Azur is a wonderful property and we would definitely stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

10yr anniversary & my wonderful husband really splurged. Azur is a dream come true...breathtaking views, luxurious and modern villas equipped with everything your heart could desire -- heated floor tiles, a bathtub/hottub with double french windows, complete privacy, bedding fit for royalty with views to match, an unrivaled staff--really, like no other - they're genuinely committed to ensuring your every wish is fulfilled. In-room anything and everything: we enjoyed canapes with lovely NZ wines each evening accompanied by a lovely fire and serenaded by birds, breezes and (did I say this already?) breathtaking views.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, La
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

It has been 4 years since my last trip and review of Azur when I called it the best property that I have ever stayed at. I have done a bit of travelling in the interim and Azur is still my top spot.
The property is immaculately maintained down to the smallest detail. The service remains like no other hotel I have been to. It may seem pricey for the area, but compared to other hotels that I have stayed at, it is a true bargain.
How many hotels does one stay at where you remember the name of every employee? The staff at Azur, as on my last trip, arranged for everything we asked for (helicopter trip, shotover jet, private driver for wine tours, rest. reservations) seemlessly and even left an itinerary for the next day in the room nightly.
A simple example of the service... They will make you whatever you want for breakfast with enough notice. Being from New Orleans, they didn't understand my partner's request for biscuits and gravy. We gave them the ingredient list and they provided and allowed him to take over the kitchen to cook.
Of course, the rooms themselves and the views are spectacular beyond belief.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a more perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains,Azur is beautiful property set amongst 3.5 acres of native bush, it features a magnificent lodge and nine 90 sqm freestanding villas. It captures the best of both worlds, amazing views and it is in a tranquil & isolated setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.