We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extraordinary Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Azur to your Saves list
Azur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Houston Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

If you want an unforgetable experience with low key luxury, the most incredible seamless service and the most spectacular scenery from every window then this is your place.
From the moment you arrive at the Airport your Azur experience begins. Every aspect of our stay was exceptional. Lazing in the bathtub with windows wide open to some of the most majestic scenery one could imagine. Breakfast prepared with such style and elegance to one's special request by Maria and Keiko. Wonderful afternoon teas with freshly baked tarts, to nightly canapes and fine wines. A car is unnecessary as Gavin, Tanya ,Sharon and Anna were always ready to whisk us off to wherever we wanted to go. This remarkable team arranged all our excursions and activities flawlessly. All that is left to say is we plan to visit Azur again and again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
155
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Azur and again this is one place where we would like to stay longer. Gavin collected us from the airport and gave us a tour of Queenstown before taking us to Azur. We loved everything about the place, perfect location, best breakfasts we had in New Zealand, and the free shuttle service made for a very relaxing break. Gavin, Tania and Maria run the place very efficiently and nothing was too much trouble. When we returned to collect our luggage the day after we checked out; (had a night out at Milford Sound) we where again treated to their wonderful hospitality and coffee or two! We look forward to returning again soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Ever wanted the luxury of a 5 star room with the personal service of a B&B? That's exactly what you'll get at the Azur. Every part of this stay exceeded our expectations. The room is incredible. The views are spectacular. We stayed in villa 4 which was nice and private, but I imagine that all of them are very private. We just didn't have anyone on our right side, just the gorgeous views. The room is so clean, comfortable, with every amenity you can and can't imagine! Floor heaters, de-misters on the bathroom mirrors, soft ground lighting you can switch on from your bed in case you need to get up in the middle of the night for a bathroom run but don't want to blind yourself turning all the lights on. Drinks and snacks in the room and minibar are all complementary. A previous reviewer was right -- they don't nickel and dime you here.
When we first arrived, we were sat in a living room of what was a house before. It was just beautiful, so modern. We were introduced to Maria who makes the most incredible cookies and banana nut bread. In fact, as we were given the tour and we passed the kitchen, I smelled the bread and they quickly offered to have it warmed and sent up to our room after we had our dinner! And they did just that, yum!
Breakfast was awesome -- we sat in their very modern dining room where breakfast was laid out. Then Maria came and asked if you'd like anything cooked -- anything you want! You just name it. I asked for scrambled eggs and chocolate chip pancakes. The best part is that they don't have an 'end time' for breakfast -- they let you come and go as you please and they know exactly when all of their guests have eaten or not (there are only a few villas here!). The fact that they have so few rooms really allows them to be extra extra attentive to all their guests.
Yes, this place is expensive but this is one of the few, if any, places that I would say is 110% worth it. You won't find a place like this anywhere -- I feel truly lucky to have been able to stay here. You will NOT be disapointed. If you are coming all the way to Queenstown for your vacation, make the most of what it has to offer and stay here!

  • Liked — Location, personalized service, the modern villa with the nicest amenities
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing. This place was PERFECT!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Azur is most certainly a very beautiful place to stay. The views are stunning and the actual accomodation is very pleasant. Everyone is friendly and really helpful.

However I have stayed in NZ many times and given the Azur is roughly twice or more the costs of anywhere else I have stayed, it was definitely not worth the extra money

The mini bar is free but was not filled up each day, mistakes were made when things were booked. Breakfast was pretty average and the toilet didn't work properly for the whole time we were there

Having the guys drop you in town and pick you up whenever you like is great but the reality is you probably would not stay that far out of town unless they did or you hired your own car as its not a hike you would make each time

Nothing about the place is actually bad at all. However the experience is not in line with the cost. When you pay NZ$1400 a night you expect something that blows you away.

Azur is lovely, Sharon and Tanya were great but there are plenty of places where the view and the accomodation is equally amazing and you can step into any cafe and be greeted by equally lovely people and save yourself about NZ$ 400 a night to spend on your hols

  • Liked — View, friendly staff, room
  • Disliked — Paying over the odds
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Only had a few days in town, but felt we had to stay here to due to all the glowing reviews. I will have to admit that I had pretty high expectations (given the user reviews and the price ), the resort did not disappoint, the service was excellent and unpretentious. Gavin, Tanya, Sharon were all great and bent over backwards to make the stay memorable. The views from the rooms were great, and the view from the bathroom was one of the best we have ever seen. Evening drinks/appetizers were all very good, and we wish we would have had more time to enjoy some of the made to order crepes that Maria served for breakfast. The hotel also did not nickel and dime you for every expense (which is nice given the ~ $1400nz / night rate they charge, granted it was the week of Xmas) free mini bar, breakfast, appetizers, internet, and transportation whenever you wanted it. Everyone there was very knowledgeable about the area and gave great recommendations for activities and restaurants, an added treat was the little dog Elvis who was the cutest jack russell we have ever seen. Great spot in a great town.

  • Liked — Staff, Room, Views
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

From the moment of being greeted at the airport by Gavin, we knew we had chosen the perfect place to stay. Gavin was friendly and warm, stopping to show us beautiful sights on the way to the Azur. The Azur was amazing, the staff were beyond amazing. Tania, Gavin, Maria, Sharon, Max, and Sophie saw to our every need, from Tania rearranging excursions (several times), to Sophie coming to town to pick up our shopping treasures and return them to our villa while we stayed in town to enjoy dinner, to Maria cooking any breakfast we ordered, to Sharon chauffering us around town at any given moment, to Max running to town to pick up Monteith's and crisps because we simply felt like staying in for the day, every detail of our stay was amazing. The villa itself was beautiful, heated floors a delight, and the view is breathtaking. Pricey? Maybe, but you get what you pay for, and at the Azur, you get it all. Best place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Liked — The staff, the villa, the view, the privacy.
  • Disliked — No internet in the individual villas, but I think they are in the process of adding it to each villa.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

What an absolutely amazing place to stay! As a couple with very high expectations, we were completely blown away by every aspect of Azur.

The service is impeccable, the scenery is divine and the bed is what dreams are made of. Breakfast at midday, cakes for afternoon tea and delightful canapes just make the views even more magical.

Our stay for seven nights was the highlight of our honeymoon, surpassing phase one which was spent in a villa in Thailand. Azur is truly original and totally without pretension.

Max is an amazing host who will do anything to accommodate his guests. He didn't even blink at our request to pick up burgers and deliver them straight to our villa - he even surprised us with hokey-pokey ice cream for dessert!

Tanya is quite possibly the most delightful host that we have ever encountered and will bend over backwards to make you feel relaxed, indulged and a million miles from reality.

Their advice on restaurants, wine and massages was spot on and ensured that every day was pure indulgence.

We can't wait to stay at Azur for our first anniversary. It was such an amazing hotel that it now holds a special place in our luxury-travel hearts.

  • Liked — Original luxury without pretension
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a more perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains, Azur is a beautiful property set amongst 3.5 Acres of native bush. Featuring a main lodge and nine identical 90sqm freestanding villas. Azur captures the best of both worlds; amazing views and a tranquil setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.