We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R & R at Azur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azur

Save Saved
You added Azur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Azur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“R & R at Azur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived at Azur not realizing how much we needed some rest and relaxation. We were shown around the property with our excited two and a half year old in tow, brought a delicious homemade cake for afternoon tea, and left to enjoy the view.

We explored wineries, went horseback riding, and slowed down during the day, them ordered in at night and lay for hours in our jacuzzi tub. The staff - Gavin, Tania, Maria, Keiko, and others - knew when to lavish us with service... And when to leave us alone. This is a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
129
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fabulous personalised attention!
Staff could not have made our stay more comfortable, picked up at the airport, driven into town, and the drop off points for walking tracks, help and priceless advice on organising tours, the breakfasts, afternoon teas and pre-dinner drinks and canapaes, fetching our Fergburgers for us: all fabulous.
And yes, that bath and the view from it is completely amazing...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our splurge on our South Island holiday. From the moment we pulled up in the car park and were greeted by name it set the scene for our stay. You really did feel like you were part of an extended family without the additional intrusion that can sometimes come with! The villa had the most magnificent views of Lake Wakatipu and those heart achingly beautiful mountains which surround it, including the Remarkables. You wake up, open the blinds and are slapped with that view which goes on forever. Nothing in front of you to spoil it either - no roads, no rooftops... just view. The room was everything you would expect for the price - extremely comfortable and luxurious. The bathroom is definitely a highlight - I found any excuse to have a bath!! Our host Gavin recommended a number of tours and drives around the area and was only too happy to book these for us. The Dart River Jet Boat Safari was a highlight as was the drive to Glenorchy. Plenty of eating options in Queenstown and his recommendations were again spot on here. The hotel is a fair distance from town but any of the hotel staff will be very quick to offer you a lift to wherever you would like to go. When you want to go back to the hotel all it takes is a phone call and they will be there to pick you up within 10 minutes, so this made up for the hotel being located outside of town. The canapés offered in the afternoon/evening as well as the afternoon tea treats were always very delicious. The made to order breakfast which you can opt to have delivered to your villa was always absolutely lovely and a very relaxing way to start the day. This really was a very luxurious yet warm and friendly stay. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We simply loved at stay at Azur Lodge. It is luxurious without being pretentious. The villas are large and are totally designed to drop you smack into 'that' view. There are no streets or roof tops between you and the mesmerizing and dramatic views of the lake and the Remarkables Mountain range. They seem to change colour and mood right in front of you - it is like Mother Nature's TV that you can just keep watching...no remote required.

We loved that we didn't have to eat another fancy lodge meal. The staff were super friendly and each evening would make a restaurant recommendation and drive us the 3-4 minutes to town and pick us up. And one night we didn't want to leave our view so they went and picked us up take out food and put it on plates for us and served it to our room. We loved dining on the deck with our view.

I hope to visit again on our next anniversary as the bathtub is worth the entire room price. Next time I will spend the whole holiday in the bathtub!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stunning!
My partner and I had the chance of spending last week at Azur and it was superb.

Being both in the high end hospitality industry we are pretty picky and have high expectations and the entire team of Azur delivered what we call honest and genuine care and hospitality. From the drives to town when you need it, to the little touches added to the villas when we wanted something, it was an excellent stay. The lodge is in a superb location which gives you the access into Queenstown but also gives you the privacy and ''getting away feel'' that we all need on a holiday. The villas are well positioned with stunning views over the lake and the mountains and furnished with everything you need if you wanted to totally escape from the world and not venture outside. It was one of my most ''appreciated'' time away in a very long time, chilled, relax and full of adventures with some skiing and socialising in the evening.
Our warmest thanks again to a wonderful team of professionals and let's hope we return very soon for more.
Thanks F&A

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is somewhat difficult to put into words the overall feeling of total relaxation that overcomes you once you are settled into your Villa at Azur.
My wife and I arrived after a long 6 hour drive and were welcomed warmly by Tania who showed us around the main lodge building but then recognising we were tired took us to our villa. Afternoon tea is included at Azur and so this soon arrived, beautiful cake, coffee and wine, what a great way to start a Queenstown vacation!
The 9 villas are spacious and private with unbelievable views. It is like your own private, constantly changing movie, fantastic.
Everything about a stay at Azur encourages you to relax and let the staff take care of your every need. Be it breakfast in your villa, a transfer into Queenstown (5 minutes away) or dine in at night using local restaurants that the staff work with (a fabulous concept that even has the lowly hamburger transformed into a delightful meal).
We were bitterly disappointed to leave after just 2 short nights and could have easily spent a week here.
Azur lodge is located just out of the township of Queenstown itself but with your own car and the lodge transfer service this is not an issue. The views alone more than make up for this.
The lodge unlike many of the 'super' lodges does not include dinner but with so many excellent restaurants in the Queenstown region you would only miss out if they did. The in Villa evening dining comes at an extra cost but is a great way to dine in. You order off the a la carte menu of several local restaurants and the villa staff pick the meal up for you, bring it to the lodge, flash things up and bring it to you, brilliant.
The views from every part of the villa are amazing, and that includes the bath.
We found our stay here to be amongst the best we have ever experienced and the staff played a big part of that. You felt almost part of the family, they were relaxed, friendly but always professional. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My partner and I were excited to go on our first trip together and I took it upon myself to organize the accommodation. I wanted something special as with our busy schedules we rarely get a quiet moment to really soak in each other's company. After browsing the reviews on TripAdvisor, Azur caught my attention.

On arrival, we were personally greeted and made to feel at home immediately. Although we have both traveled New Zealand extensively, my partner and I were extremely impressed by the views out of our private villa - so much so that the first night we decided to stay in and make good use of the wonderful spa bath.

Although part of the charm of Azur are the well appointed private villas, is really the staff that make this place extraordinary. They manage a fine balance between ensuring you are comfortable during your stay, all while allowing you to have the privacy to feel like you're at home. Because there are only 9 villas you are always of upmost priority to the staff and they make it very clear nothing is too much trouble.

The location is incredible - you drive down a private residential street to arrive at Azur, which is housed on the tip of a hill, allowing sweeping views that are absolutely breathtaking. Despite the secluded location, you're only 5 minutes from the center of Queenstown and the staff provided complimentary shuttle service to ensure you can make the most of your time here.

If you're looking for something special in Queenstown, there's no better choice. This is luxury with a homely and personalized service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a more perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains,Azur is beautiful property set amongst 3.5 acres of native bush, it features a magnificent lodge and nine 90 sqm freestanding villas. It captures the best of both worlds, amazing views and it is in a tranquil & isolated setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.