We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azur

Save Saved
You added Azur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Azur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon for 5 nights in April, 2013. Like many others, we booked our trip with Claudia from Pacificforless.com (who, by the way, is awesome). Today, sadly, is our last day here and we don't want to leave! We are so happy with our experience here that I wish to share it here.

Location
If you are coming to Queenstown, you simply cannot beat the location at Azur. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows to an 180 degree view of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains. Although it is a only a short 5 minute drive from the center of town, looking out the window, you would never have guessed it. The villas are strategically placed to make you feel like you are deep in unspoilt nature while giving you the convenience of proximity to wonderful food options in Queenstown. During one of our days, we actually walked to town, which took under 30 minutes. No photos can do the view justice either- you really have to see it for yourself.

The Room
This is one of the most luxurious rooms I've ever stayed in. Full surround sound stereo system, flat screen TV, rainforest shower heads, extra-large jacuzzi, king sized bed, fireplace, heated floors in the bathroom, this room has outfitted with the most up-to-date amenities. There is even a fridge stocked daily with soft drinks, beer, and snacks. All complimentary. And did I mention the view?

Service
The service here is unparalleled. The staff here is very international ranging from Europeans, to Asians to New Zealand locals. The fact that there are only 9 villas on site means that the service is extremely personal. For instance, my wife has a long and complicated list of allergies and EVERY STAFF MEMBER were made aware of them and made the effort to make sure that ANY food that they served or delivered was free of those ingredients. Azur offers a service where they deliver food from some of the best restaurants in Queenstown- which we took advantage of. We were able to enjoy fine dining in the comforts of our room... and our pajamas. Another example of their attention to detail- when they pick up your food, they bring their own oven to keep the food warm in transit. Basically, anything you can think of to ask they will do. Want to go downtown? They will drive you. Want to fly on a helicopter to Milford Sound? They will make it happen. I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff are here.

Food
Although there is no on-site restaurant at Azur, they do serve a KILLER breakfast that they can deliver to your room prepared by a professionally-trained chef. And afternoon tea. And canapes. And late-night dessert. And it's all awesome. And complimentary. Plus you can always order from the myriads of menus from restaurants downtown and they deliver. Warm. In fine china.

Summary
If you are looking for a luxurious accommodation with personal service delivered with professionalism- this is it. You will not find comparable level of luxury anywhere else at these rates. My wife and I cannot be more happy that we chose Azur for our honeymoon. Thank you Gavin, Maria, Lana, Ana, Kako, Amanda, and Tanya for making our dream honeymoon come true!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Azur Lodge is an incredible experience - superb luxury accommodation with what must be the best views on the planet! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we where made to feel welcome and nothing was a problem, they even drove us into town and collected us for a fab night out in Queenstown.

Room Tip: All lodges the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I took my wife to Queenstown for a significant birthday, staying 5 nights at Azur. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were pampered.
After being picked up from the airport and shown around the main lodge, we were taken to our villa, where a chilled bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates were waiting for us. On hearing that we hadn't eaten on the flight we were immediately offered canapes to tide us over, and these were promptly delivered.
All staff were very knowledgable and helpful in making bookings for tours, which were simply charged to the room for convenience. Advice on restaurants and locations of shops, galleries etc. was also readily available. Transport to and from town was also provided immediately on request.
Breakfasts were as good as previous reviewers have said, and delivered anytime. One day it was delivered, hot, at 6;30 am, to our villa prior to leaving for a day tour to Milford Sound. The next day we had it at 12 noon on our private terrace, enjoying the sunshine and magnificent views.
The villas are spacious, clean and fitted out to a high quality and the views from all parts of the villa are spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In February, 2013, my wife and i stayed at Azur Lodge. We swear by Andrew Harper travel, on any continent, and when they suggested Azur Lodge, we said, fine, book it.

I remember watching the Super Bowl, having breakfast in our suite on a high floor overlooking Hong Kong. For years i thought the MO was the best ever. Full stop. Azur Lodge beats it...but then there is no comparison. Different? Yes, but both 5 stars for incomparable facilities and service. Yes, in the spectacular views.

We walked into Queenstown for dinner (couple miles). But, on way back, called them from the hiking trail and said, please come pick us up. they picked us up 5 minutes later. That was four nights in a row.

Queenstown is the jumping off point for Lord of the Rings scenic tours. We took one of the tours and recommend it highly. But, all one really needs to do is look out the floor to ceiling walls of glass, or sit on the deck outside, and the Remarkables (a row of incredible mountains) are right in one's face. They are a major feature of LOTR. Right there at Azur.

There are only 9 exactly alike villas. Hasten to this place.

Room Tip: all nine villas are exactly alike and have the same views of the mountains and lake.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

As a former travel agent and somebody who has travelled extensively, I can say that Azur Lodge is one of the finest hotels in the world.
The view from our free standing unit was breath taking; the service top notch and
friendly; the baked goods by Maria memorable.
The complimentary drop off and pick up in Queenstown only 10 minutes away is a wonderful
service.
It is difficult to understand why many other deluxe hotels in New Zealand charge twice
as much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Not having been to Queenstown before, we could not have envisioned the frenetic, tourist oriented town it is. Certainly remarkable scenery, true to the name of the nearby mountains, and the beauty is absolutely jaw dropping. But the city/adventure scene can be a little much. Likewise, in town accommodation options are not so great, unless that's what you are looking for.

Happily, Azur is a short 3 km from the heart of downtown, a doable walk home along a beautiful waterfront trail, followed by an incline, but you may not want to leave. The facilities, the rooms, the architecture, the amenities are absolutely superb, at the highest level we experienced anywhere on our trip (here or elsewhere).

Each of nine rooms are uniquely secluded, situated with living, sleeping, separate bath closet areas etc. Short walk up to the main lodge where an à la cart, whatever you would like breakfast is here, in addition evening drinks and canapés. Do take advantage of the I room dining option one night.

My wife and I have sometimes found that places of exceptional architectural appeal can want for the human touch. Not so at the Azur. Here, the personal service and the what can we do for you attitude prevailed morning noon and night, accommodating every request with a smile. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 2.5 weeks in South Island New Zealand and stayed at various lodges and retreats. Azur Lodge is one of the top ones overall that we would be more than happy to recommend any travellers visiting Queenstown. There are only handful of rooms at Azur Lodge so you can ensure that your needs can always be taken care and cared for. Each room has a full range of the views of the lake and each day we were greeted by the amazing sun rise and the romantic sunset. We stayed total 3 days in Azur Lodge and each day we did various activities in and around Queenstown. We rent car so taken care of our own mid-longer term distance travel in Queenstown, but if we want to just take a short stroll in the city center, Azur Lodge staffs would always be happy to drive us to the city center (about 8 mins) or to pick us up. We visited during the busy X'mas season but never felt the lodge was overly occupied, and we always felt a lot of privacy during our stays. Highly recommend this lodge for the services, location, views, and the food (daily canapese provided before the dinner!)

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk up and down the hills everyday to reach to your room, you could request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azur

Address: 23 MacKinnon Tce | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azur 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It would be hard to imagine a more perfect view than the one from Azur. Set to best capture the views of both Lake Wakatipu & the surrounding mountains,Azur is beautiful property set amongst 3.5 acres of native bush, it features a magnificent lodge and nine 90 sqm freestanding villas. It captures the best of both worlds, amazing views and it is in a tranquil & isolated setting yet only 5 minutes from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Queenstown
Azur Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.