We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Court Suites & Apartments to your Saves list
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent one night at the Garden Court Suites after doing the Kepler track in Te Anau. The apartment was clean, modern and warm. It was very close to the town centre, about a 10 minute walk. I would really recommend this place:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    91
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
113
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We loved staying here! We had a great 1 bedroom balcony apartment looking over the lake with plenty of room for 2 ppl. The furnishings were good, the apartment was clean and it was serviced each day. It had a full kitchen if we wanted to cook (great for family's or those wanting to save a dollar) but with the town centre 2 minutes walk away, we made use of the nearby restaurants!
The continental breakfast was a bit pricey ($16) and we got better deals in town so passed on that.
Overall, we loved the place, location and price and would consider staying again if we are back in Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent five nights are the Garden Court Suites. The apartment was very well appointed, clean, modern and quiet. It is very close to the township and involves about a 10 minute walk through the park - all downhill. Walking back up was no problem for us. We weren't expecting daily servicing but it was most appreciated. There were two special touches which I have not experienced at similar accommodation before. There was a form in the room to fill in and leave with the front desk with any complaints. We asked for a few simple things after our first day there and these were delivered within 12 hours. The Garden Court Suites have a policy of no noise after 10pm which if broken incurred a pentaly fee of $50. this ensured a quiet night's sleep for all residents. We would return again without hesitation.

Room Tip: close enough to the township for walking - but a word of warning. no noise tolerated after 10pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTland, Oregon, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2013 - initially when I booked this hotel online, I had requested the upstairs one bedroom with balcony (based on reviews here) and got an email confirmation. However when we checked in, we were given a first floor room with no view. I was disappointed and went back to the main office and told her about the email confirmation. The lady was nice and found the email verification and we were able to get the upstairs room as promised. So just a cautious note to other travelers - definetely get the upstairs room w/ view of the lake and get an email confirmation - otherwise they may not offer the same.
After that initial hickup, things went great -- the room was nice, the apt was clean and the cooking facilities were great. We only made breakfast for the 3 days we were there and whatever they had was sufficient - you have to buy cooking oil. The view of the lake from balcony was amazing - that was the highlight of this apt, and we enjoyed a nice dinner on the balcony while enjoying sunset. Other than that, it was a great experience - close to town, and a short walk to the river -- though a steep uphill on the way back. Our 2 little kids had plenty of room to play -- but you need to bring your own dvd's.

Room Tip: Defineltey take the upstairs corner room with two balcony --- it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 8 nights at the Garden Court - 2 of us in twin room and a third on a very comfortable sofa bed. The apartment was lovely - clean, comfortable and very well equipped with everything you'd expect including a washing machine and tumble dryer. Our apartment was on street level and was accessed by a locked gate leading to a courtyard with patio table and chairs - upstairs apartment also used the same gate but this was not a problem for us- and there was a double patio door into the apartment. There was very little noise to concern us and nights were very peaceful. Garden Court is very convenient for town centre - about a 10 minute walk - and for lakeside path and there are bus stops very close by. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is available although we did not partake. Garden Court is a lovely place to stay and if I am fortunate enough to return to beautiful Queenstown I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here four years ago and we stayed in the same type of room a one bedroom balcony apartment, the only difference is that the trees on the property next door are getting so big that the view is restricted. Staff were great and It is close to town so it's a easy walk to town. Garden Court does have sky TV but it only worked half the time we were there as it had no signal, so take your dvd's if you want to watch something.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view, you may have a partial lake view but a full mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCManager, Manager at Garden Court Suites & Apartments, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments.
We did have issues with our SKY TV reception during your stay which must have been very frustrating.
We too were annoyed and investigated the problem, which ended up being problems with our decoders.
We have since had these all replaced, and I am happy to report that is the end of our SKY reception issues!!
I sincerely hope that you still managed to enjoy yourselves in Queenstown.

Take Care
Sheena Salter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We found this motel to suit our needs exactly. Very spacious, clean and very well stocked. We did not have a balcony but the windows were very large and opened to allow evening breezes to flow through the room. We had very good views of the lake and hills beyond. Can easily walk into town from here. I would highly recommend this hotel, a great base from which to explore Queenstown and the surrounding countryside. Used on site laundry, very good and well equipped.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Suites & Apartments

Address: 41 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Garden Court Suites & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Queenstown Apartments. Widely regarded as Queenstown's finest luxury accommodation. Choose from our one, two or three bedroom luxury apartments at Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden Court Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Suites & Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Garden Court Suites And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Suites & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.