We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stargazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing

Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing
Brecon Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
034410101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 199 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched high above Queenstown, keen stargazers have the opportunity to access a 'hidden world' not seen by the naked eye. Skyline Stargazing will take visitors to a specially-constructed area high above the Gondola, where there is no trespassing light, allowing for an unbelievably clear view of the night sky. Top-of-the line telescopes give stargazers the chance to view an amazing array of stunning sights, from the iconic Southern Cross, to nebulas, planets, the Milky Way and other galaxies.
Ipswich, Queensland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stargazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our second time to Queenstown and the traditional gondola trek however we decided to do the dinner and stargazing as well this time...the dinner was ample but not a fantastic experience...nothing wrong with the food though it was just the atmosphere of a large buffet...however Collette and the stargazing stole the show...it was truly amazing...she ensure every one had the opportunity to sight the notable constellations and with a little bit of laughter to make this amazing experience ever more memorable. We managed to book online well in advance and got a really good deal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The family enjoyed this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a fun excursion. The guide was knowledgable and gave a good presentation.

This is not a genuine dark sky experience because light pollution was present from the city. It was however much darker than you normally get.

We only looked at a small number of objects. The most interesting was Saturn. For me the tour would be better still if there was less talking and more looking through the telescope; in our tour I probably spent only two minutes looking though the telescope.

Worth doing once and a good add-on for after dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My partner and I booked the Stargazing and restaurant package and had a wonderful time. Our guide was informative and an excellent speaker and guided us through the night sky including the moon, old galaxies, new galaxies and Saturn plus much more. I am an avid star fanatic and I was very impressed with how much the guide knew and was definitely teaching me a lot of new info.

The bitterly cold night was made bearable by the warm jackets provided and by the delicious hot chocolate served afterwards.

Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out of this world...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend trip to Queenstown, my partner is interested in space, planets, stars etc so I booked on this attraction as a surprise - I honestly think it was me who was more converted afterwards! We were very lucky to pick such a clear crisp night, as it really did showcase this attraction to best of its ability. We dined at the buffet / restaurant first which we also definitely recommend. Our guide for the evening was Collette, a bonny Irish girl who made the entire evening fun, knowledgeable and interactive. We learnt so much, got great opportunities (which we will probably never get again) to see our magical galaxy / planets. You are provided with a Canadian down feather jacket that definitely keeps you snug during the experience - to top the night off, upon our return to the main centre we were greeted with a delicious hot chocolate and marshmallows, perfect! If your heading to Queenstown, you must add this attraction to your list...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkylineQueenstown, Stargazing Guide at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive feedback on Skyline Stargazing. It's always great to hear from Kiwi's, especially now that you are converted to an astronomer! I am delighted you enjoyed your evening and come back down south anytime to learn more; it's easy to find Due South as you now know :) Thanks again for your comments, come back and enjoy Skyline Queenstown on your next trip. Collette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic, one of best experiences for me in Queenstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What an awesome night. Greeted with some huge warm jackets and a hot chocolate. Information given during the tour was fun and detailed. but to top it off we saw Saturn perfectly, just our luck though as it was orbiting close to Earth. Highly recommend this tour, goes for the perfect amount of time, just make sure you pick a clear night. Thanks again for the experience!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SkylineQueenstown, Stargazing Guide at Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for your comments on Skyline Stargazing, We are glad you enjoyed your evening so much. Saturn definitely is a sight to behold and it will be clearly visible for the remainder of winter. Our Canadian Goose Down jackets are certainly welcomed and keep us all cosy. Thanks again and we hope to see you in Skyline Queenstown again soon. Best regards, Collette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyline Queenstown - Stargazing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.