We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Del Lago to your Saves list
Villa Del Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 4, Pay for only 3!
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Perfect for your Queenstown area stay. Our apartment had everything we could have possibly needed to feel right at home. Spotlessly clean with modern furnishings. Good bathroom toiletries, and all you need to cook a full meal. Spectacular vistas over the lake and mountains. Very friendly hosts, who will advise on day trips, restaurants, taxis and the weather! They will also help take your luggage up and down all those stairs - nothing is too much of a problem. We really loved our one bed roomed accommodation,we would stay at Villa del Lago again in a heartbeat. An excellent choice for families and those wanting all their home comforts.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
212
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Been here two years ago with friends! I highly recommend the place! It's very hard for us to drive all the way from Wellington to the north island! However this hotel makes me fells relax after the long drive! Very clean and great spot! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Self-contained room was fully equipped, including washing machine and dryer, iron and ironing board, DVD player, two tvs (one in living area, one in bedroom), gas fire, umbrellas, blanket in living area, spacious kitchen etc. and the list goes on! View of The Remarkables and lake from our room was unimpeded and the walking track along the lake is at the doorstep of Villa Del Lago. It's a 20 minute walk into town, or a few minutes drive. Cannot fault our stay and could not ask for anything more!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Best accommodation during our 15-day South Island trip! Just several stairs up from the lake front walk way. Nice, and big room with all facilities that you can think of, warm fireplace and heater, electronic blanket, full set of kitchen wares. And it was the the only accommodation that provides in-room washing machine and clothes dryer! Very nice and helpful host, during booking we preferred lakefront rooms at the lowest level closest to lake (room tips from Tripadvisor), and our wish was granted!

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms at the lowest level closest to lake offers most unobstructed view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Fully self contained apartment with absolutely stunning lake views.
The staff and managers were all excellent and could not assist us enough with booking our various tours. The weather was somewhat inclement on our first day, but it was not a problem for the booking staff to shuffle our itinerary.
Everything you could possibly need, right down to umbrellas in your room on arrival! Spacious bedroom and lounge room, decent wifi included in the cost, shower with excellent water pressure and a toasty warm fire made for the perfect getaway.
A reasonably easy 25(ish) minute stroll to town via Frankton Road (The walk back is rather hilly) or a longer scenic journey along the lake path.

Loved it, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Our apartment had amazing views out across the lake and (although there were others really close) it felt like our own private space. There were a few stairs to take down to it, but it was definitely worth it. It also meant we were only metres from the lake. The space of the apartment was perfect for the few days we were there - enough to spread out and make it feel like home. Having cooking facilities is definitely a bonus, although we did take advantage of the short 5 min drive to the restaurants most of the time. This is a great option if you are going to be around for a couple of days as it was more comfortable than a hotel room. The only disadvantage was one ply toilet paper - I didn't even realise people still bought it. Perhaps something to put on the shopping list.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well, we wish it had been a month! This is fantastic accommodation. Our apartment was beautifully decorated and so well equipped for a self-catered holiday. The views were sublime at all times of the day. We loved the walk into Queenstown around the lake and the helpful, friendly staff. We used the local buses that stop close by to go to Arrowtown and they also run into town regularly, as do the water taxis, if you don't want to walk. We couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: The slope is steep so if you have any mobility issues you would need to request an apartment higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with it's own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.