We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11/10 Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Del Lago to your Saves list
Villa Del Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 4, Pay for only 3!
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“11/10 Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a week at Villa del Lago in July 2012 and were amazed by the beautiful and clean rooms, breathtaking views, and wonderful customer service. From the moment we stepped out of our cab, we were welcomed outside by the staff by name, and they helped us inside and were quick to explain everything to us including how to use their Wi-Fi, which was great! We were constantly using the wifi to look up new restaurants and things to do, as well as email and sharing photos, and when we ran out of data they happily supplied us with more. Rooms were immaculately clean, beautifully furnished, and a wonderful kitchen we used for cooking, baking, frying, even preparing pasta for 4 from scratch. The lovely walkway below by the lake made for easy access to town, and the views were just spectacular.

Our experience was 11/10, and we are returning to Queenstown later this year, and made the obvious choice of staying at Villa for another week.

Room Tip: All are lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
212
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We received a really friendly welcome from Charlotte who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. She happily spent 15 mins on the phone sorting out a fairly complicated bungee jump order (involving various vouchers), and spent ages with my Dad and aunt sorting out a trip to Doubtful Sound. When we got to the rooms we were wowed - we'd asked for lakeside views and weren't disappointed. The rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows and the big double room my partner's parents took had an astonishing near-180 degree panorama of the lakes and mountains. The rooms are big, modern and well-equipped with a huge flat-screen TV (with Sky Sports) and DVD, excellent kitchen (incl dishwasher), decent bathroom (though I'm never a fan of showers in baths) and comfy king-size bed. The rooms were pretty cold when we arrived but the heaters are really quick to work their magic. There's no restaurant but taxis are plentiful and cheap, or you can walk into along the lakeside (or order a water taxi). The whole place was quiet (it helped that it was out of season) and relaxing. Superb value at $210 for our single room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDelLago_11, Owner at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Wow, thanks for your review. It's great to see your description of the apartment, with added details we don't have on the website - a fantastic addition to what we already say. Come back again! Kind regards, Charlotte, Nik and the Villa del Lago Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms were spotless, spacious and a flawless view from Queenstown.

We were able to relax in the multi-level view while enjoying the walking paths, closeness to Queenstown downtown and awesome view of the lake,

The hosts were helpful at providing locational guidance and anything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Villa Del Lago has everything you could want! A warm welcome and then waking up to a fabulous view. Very spacious apartment with full amenities and as we had just done the rail trail it was great to have our own laundry facilities to prepare for the final days of our holiday. 3 nights here could have been longer so we will return for a longer stay and will choose VDL for all our Queenstown stays in the future.
Very clean, comfortable modern furnishings and well appointed. The villas are on a hill so stairs are involved but note most of Queenstown is on a hill anyway and most accommodation tries to take advantage to get the best views. It is a great walk into town along the lake about 20 minutes for us but we are quite fit and we like to walk. Don't blame it on the owners if you struggle with walking and stairs. I am sure you can discuss with the owners a suitable apartment if you think this might be an issue for you as they are very friendly and helpful. We think VDL is great value and highly recommend.!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had several nights in this comfortable spacious apartment. We're in unit 15 close to the water and walkway to town. It was just so relaxing, everything was supplied, no hassles and the hosts were marvellous and pointed us to some excellent places to explore.
Views across the Frankton Arm to the Remarkables were outstanding. A joy to wake up in the morning and to return to at night.
The only downside were the 3 levels of steps to get down to our unit but the apartment was worth every step.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived on a chilly, Fall day. The friendly staff showed us to our lake view room where the cozy fireplace was already on! This one bedroom condo was modern, clean and comfortable. We were happy to use the in-room washer and dryer! We took a longish walk into town for dinner, but short taxi ride back to the hotel! Don't miss this one in Queenstown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The best Apartment in the town, with stunning views of lake and large floor area. The apartments are well furnished with modern furniture and comfort. This place is very near to the city and nice secret walk can takes few minutes only. You can also have private access to the lake which is worth. We stayed in Apartment 12 (3 Bedroom) last week and was awesome experience. If your are with family then this is the place to stay in Queenstown in any season.

Room Tip: Must choose lake view no doubt about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with it's own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.