We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Del Lago to your Saves list
Villa Del Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a return visit and this time we had an even better suite to watch the ever changing magnificent views over Lake Wakipatu to The Remarkables. Despite being in Dec there was a light dusting of snow on the peaks the night prior to our arrival but the full length glass doors gave access to the vista whilst also offering warmth from the very good gas heater.
Nik and Charlotte, the Villa del Lago hosts, had been at for a very short time but this did not reduce their capacity for great advice when sought. The big picture items are covered with a full kitchen which is well stocked with all the items to self cater and having dinner with that vista is hard to beat; and also the smaller things are covered too such as replacing washing detergent and other consumables each day.
A 25 min walk to the town centre along the lake - many people also on bikes and for a return trip there is the option of a water taxi that leaves the Queenstown wharf on the hour and can drop off at the Villa's own jetty. The jetty is a pleasant place to sit for a while as well and the very cool lake refreshing on the feet after a day of walking.
Items accidently left behind were posted back with minimum fuss and maximum helpfulness. One of the best places we have ever stayed and hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    45
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
195
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spacious, clean appartment with stunning views over the lake. Only downside are the stairs. The hotel is on the side of a hill that runs down to the lake. We had to park at the top and walk up and down several long sets of stairs. This is okay if you are young and fit, which we are not! However, despite the stairs, we would definitely stay here again. The staff are helpful and friendly. The appartment had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The rooms were serviced every day. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The shower, which is over a bath, had lots of hot water with good pressure. It was so nice to stay somewhere that had a dishwasher and washing machine, it makes life easier when travelling around. The layout of the rooms and fittings in the appartment was good and we had our own balcony. We enjoyed our time here and look forward to staying again when next in Queenstown.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, check with management to see if there is an appartment with minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights across new year . Great location, stunning view. Just make sure you have back up transport incase your water taxi gets cancelled due to lake conditions. Staff are all very friendly

This complex has a lot of stairs from the rooms to the carparks so be prepared!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hospitality! It's been our second stay in Villa Del Lago and the services were still outstanding. The living room is spacious with a great view of lake Wakatipu. The kitchen is great so that we could have cantonese food for dinner two out of four nights stay. The location is quite convenient, 3 mins drive to shopping area and 5 mins drive to airport. I was feeling comfortable and relax just like at home again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Out of all our stays in Nzl, Villa Del Lago definitely ranked first. We had an amazing view of the turqoise lake, snow capped mountains and blue skies all in one. The full length glass doors made it all the more magnificient. Our room was 2 stories down from the carpark, which meant lugging of our heavy luggages was needed as well as running down to escape the wind. Nevertheless, this meant: 1) better views 2) privacy + quiet and 3) just a new steps down to the walking track + lake. We loved all of this. The apartment came with a huge kitchen with all the necessary. We enjoyed that bathroom that had a heater and heated heated racks. The bedroom had ventilation (which we did not find in our last few stays). The electric fire place was also great! We drove around queenstown so I have no idea how convenient it is to walk but it sure didnt feel far. Cheers to this great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Loved walking up every morning with a mountain view! Really clean beds. Three levels was nice but had to walk down all three levels to get to the bathroom.The balcony overlooking the lake is spectacular. Wonderful staff- more than helpful. We rented Lord of the Rings every night for free.
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lovely customer service even though we accidentally set off the fire alarm! Very accommodating, clean and neatly kept apartments with amazing (jaw-dropping) views. Parking available and close to city and mountain ranges (for skiing).

Would definitely book again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with it's own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.