We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Lago

Save Saved
You added Villa Del Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Del Lago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Snow Package
Ranked #3 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great views of the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment with our 3 kids in July. We especially enjoyedthe stunning views from both balconies on the first and second floors. The major dissapointment was the layout of the apartment, it has 3 stories with 1 bedroom on the top level, the middle level is the living area with kitchen/laundry, dining and TV room, the lower level has 2 more bedrooms. All of this is great except that the 2 bathroom/toilets are both on the lower level right next to each other.
Free wireless was not included, it is available at cost.
Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaDelLago_11, Owner at Villa Del Lago, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, these are important to us and we appreciate that people take the time after their holidays to post these.
We must point out for the benefit of other guests, that Wifi is offered complimentary to all guests, this is stated on our website and in our Guest Information folders in our apartments. There is an option for people to pay for Wifi access online if they visit the "Surfspot" website, this service is there for people other than our own guests who require internet access. We apologize if this was not clearly communicated to you on check in. Inrrespect to the bathrooms, may we point out that one bathroom is an ensuite off the master bedroom and the other is across the hall from 2nd bedroom. There access is not situated side by side.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
179
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a weeks stay at Villa del Lago in a modern spacious one bedroom apartment with excellent views over the lake. Owners were magnificently friendly, room cleaned daily, and only a 20minute walk along the lake front to town. Fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom and laundry facilities made this a wonderful stay. Would recommend a stay here to anyone!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Loved this property, we had a 3 bedroom apartment that was really a spacious 3 level house. Every room was well furnished spacious and warm. Great bathrooms with underfloor heating, Kitchen was large and well equipped. Views from living areas and lower level bedrooms amazing. There was a queen size bedroom in the loft opening up over the lounge. We were welcomed by very friendly management staff who had already lit the gas log fire in the living area. Location is great if you like to be on the edge of town, there is a lovely lakeside walk from the back of the complex into the centre of town. It takes only a few minutes by car into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had 6 people stay in a 3 bedroom apartment for 6 nights and it was awesome. It was close to the city, had the most amazing view and was a very spacious, comfortable and cosy apartment. The service was faultless as well and made our stay so much more convenient. We could book all our activities from the comfort of our apartment and we were very well looked after. We would definitely want to stay here again when we come back to queenstown. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 5 days and it was heaps bigger than we were expecting - my 5 year old loved having the extra room to run around. This was the perfect home away from home with a large kitchen, dining area and living area. We stayed in the middle of winter and we never once felt cold while inside so the gas fire definately does its job. The apartments are only a short drive from the town centre. It has amazing views of the lake and mountains. I will definately be visiting queenstown again and I will be staying here!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Did expected a lot and it has met all my expectations.
Managed with a lot of love and dedication by the owners and staff.
My 8 year old daughter is still talking about her great babysitting evening with Stephanie.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We had 5 fabulous nights at Villa Del Lago the location is great with wonderful views. The apartments are well appointed and very comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend Villa Del Lago and will be certainly staying there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Lago

Address: 249 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Del Lago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with it's own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lago Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.