We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough for a night or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Sherwood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Discovery Sherwood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Sherwood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   554-558 Frankton road | Goldfield Heights, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Sherwood Manor Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice enough for a night or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This motel has a great location- off the main road between Queenstown airport and the town centre and was easy to find. Overlooks the beautiful lake.
We stayed in a lake side view self contained unit. View was nice and parking right outside door was handy.
Room was quite basic but warm, clean and comfortable.
Bathroom could do with heating and ventilation. Was very cold in there a lot of the time.
Also being right near the main road and no double glazing meant traffic noise was quite loud from about 5:30am.
No free wifi which is a shame.
Had dinner and drinks in the bar/restaurant which was nice.
Basically I would say it was ok for a night or two if travelling through but wouldn't have wanted to stay for a longer time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrit H, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Sherwood Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi 29Jetsetter.Sounds like you are traveling a lot with a name like that. Thanks for your review. Sorry that we don't have bathroom heating/ventilation in the room you stayed.
Also don't know many budget hotels that offer free wifi. We only have a minimal charge of $5 for 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
35
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tonight is my last night of stay at Discovery Sherwood. Here are the conclusions of the stay gathered with my family of 4.

Pros:
- Near to Queenstown center - only 2km away.
- Parking right in front of unit.
- Cheapest in town

Cons:
- One bedroom motel appeared dated and the toilet looks old and kinda smells. They are still using CRT TV here and the in-house movie is ireggularly manned by receptionist.
- Water pressure is weak which is quite frustrating in winter time
- No fresh towels when requested. Was told that they ran out of clean towels and we have to make do with our still wet ones.

We decided to stay here due to the low costs and what we paid is what we get. So only stay here if you are on a VERY TIGHT budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrit H, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Sherwood Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Three Pros versus three Cons. So we better improve on the cons. Our premium rooms already have 32 inch flatscreen tv's; and our reception plays three inhouse movies daily.
Sorry about the low water pressure, but the hotel was build with a low water pressure system to conserve water.
We now have extra stock of towels on hand to prevent running out in hotel rooms.Unfortunately in your case it was our supplier that had delivery issues.. Not much help for you unfortunately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because of a promotion it was holding. To stay one night and to get a continental breakfast. The promotion boasted lake views and a modern room, however, to our surprise, it was everything but. We arrived after a large drive to Queenstown and 2.30, to be told that we had to wait another hour to check in. Weren't too fussed about that as was a chance to have a coffee break in Queenstown. Came back and it sounded like we were being downgraded. This new room had a "larger lounge" but not too much of a view. Definitely a downgrade when someone tries to talk up the room.
- Room was out-dated, no view.
- It was spotless though.
- Bedroom was right beside a busy back road.
I personally would not stay again as I was pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good value for money and nice room. We had a room at the back with no view but staff were lovely and so was room and it had everything we needed. Would be happy to come back. There was a spa pool that was lovely after a hard days walking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having never been to Queenstown we booked this through reviews and for the value for money. It was reasonably good value for money but we would look around more next time. The rooms are quite dated and we had 2 bedrooms upstairs and the only (very old) bathroom was downstairs down a very creaky staircase, which with 3 children meant a very broken nights sleep with people going up and down the stairs. The views were lovely, the room was clean and warm the price was good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,212 reviews 1,212 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
2,069 helpful votes 2,069 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Required lodging prior to a week at The RIDGE RESORT in Queenstown, and the Discovery Sherwood Hotel is a few blocks away.

Great choice for the motorist as one approaches Queenstown from the Airport Road.

Capable but busy management, and front desk receptionist is very busy.

Hotel rooms are modern, and we selected the Lake Wakapitu view with a small kitchen.

Comfortable rooms, bed, and convenient to Queenstown w/o the fuss of downtown.

We recommend this property as well as the hotel's restaurant. Menu adequate, but not adventurous.

The tariff is appropriate for the fare.

Room Tip: Request Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I'd actually give this a rating of 3.5. We stayed for one night in a ground floor apartment, number 406, and it was spacious and perfectly nice. There was a back bedroom with a double bed (good and dark so we both slept like logs; no noise when we stayed) and the living area had a sofa and a single bed which we used to unpack and re-pack our suitcases on. With a month of travelling, we couldn't stay in posh places every night, and this was fine for the money. In fact, we stayed there again for another night a few days later. The first evening we went to the hotel restaurant for dinner, having a glass of Lindaur sparkling wine and the special main dish, which was salmon with roast potatoes, greens and Hollandaise, with some wine. The fish was tasty, but rather bony! Guess I'm too used to well-filleted fish - we both found a dozen or so bones. It was fair value for money though (NZD$60 with drinks) and the view of the sunset outside was lovely, and the waiter chatty and nice.

Room Tip: We had apartment 406 which was perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Sherwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Sherwood Hotel

Address: 554-558 Frankton road | Goldfield Heights, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Sherwood Manor Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Sherwood Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few minutes from Queenstown, set above the shores of beautiful Lake Wakatipu with enviable views of the Remarkables Mountain peaks, Discovery Sherwood Hotel provides an idyllic setting for your holiday. Laze by the pool on warm summer days, relax in our spas and sauna, dine in our fully licensed restaurant or enjoy a quiet drink in our intimate bar by a roaring open fire on cold winter nights. Summer or winter, Discovery Sherwood is a true all seasons home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Discovery Sherwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Manor Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Sherwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.