We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Peaks Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Peaks Lodge to your Saves list
Blue Peaks Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 Sydney Street | P.O. Box 17, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms were nice enough and the staff was even nicer. The rooms did get a bit too hot/too cold as the heaters seemed to be super powered heaters. Our view was ok, but the power lines were not so beautiful. We did enjoy the location - very close to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of a bus tour I booked of south island. As I was travelling on my own the apartment I was given was huge. It was for three people, the main bedroom didn't get used. Cleaned every day to a high standard and amenities were given and topped up. Nice service. I used the phone to make local calls and was worried about the price but it came to 20 cents! Location is ok although you have to walk up a steep hill to return from the centre of town. There is a park with a short cut but it is poorly lit and I only used it a night when I saw others walking through it. Walk into town takes about 5 mins. Location is good if you want peace and quiet. Free half an hour internet every day then you paid after that. Seems as though NZ hasn't adopted the free wifi so prevalent across the globe in other accommodation types. I was asked if I wanted skimmed or full fat milk on my arrival and am yet to receive it - my only complaint really. There are plenty of leaflets and pieces of information for Queenstown and the surrounding area, e.g. I ordered a takeaway on my first night here thanks to their takeaway section. Would recommend, but more families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We promise that next time you come and stay with us you will definitely receive your fresh milk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at Blue Peaks for 9 nights while skiing in New Zealand. Is a great place to stay! Clean, room got serviced every day - toilet paper replaced, fresh towels, dishes put away/washed, bed made. Not flash but has everything you need and is just a 5 min walk to town. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

as advertised :"This self contained 2 bedroom apartment features an open plan living, separate main bathrooms and ensuite Facilities include: full designer kitchen, laundry facilities, underfloor heating ."

the reality : no ensuite , no oven (stovetop only) , no stereo and no underfloor heating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Blue Peaks has two properties - the Lodge which is motel standard accommodation and the Apartments which are luxury self-contained apartments with the features you mention in your review. It looks as though a description of the Apartments has been confused with the Lodge on one of our online listings and we are looking into how this occurred. We apologise that this will have created a false expectation of Blue Peaks Lodge for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinders
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Blue Peaks, walk to the centre of town, walk to bars for a drink but far enough away from everything to be quiet and relaxing.
As travelling with 2 teenage boys the rooms were fanatastic, very roomy and the full kitchen in our room made things extremely easy for breakfasts and lunches.
The staff at the front desk were very helpful with all our requests through out our stay and were fantastic with knowing the tourist attractions and making our bookings for us.
Made our stay in Queenstown very enjoyable and we will definitely be back.
Thank You Blue Peaks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After driving around the south island in a campervan that you can't even stand up in it was a real welcome to stay at the Blue Peaks. Location is perfect, very close to town centre but not next to any bars so we got a good night's sleep. The bed was comfy, the room was clean, simple and had a kettle and fridge, all you really need. I've stayed in many high rate/end' hotels around NZ and Europe and even though they may have more facilities or an extra special chocolate on the pillow :) , they're all the same in one way or another and all in all a hotel/accommodation is just a place to lay your head around the time you go out and explore the town, eat good food and do amazing activities. All you need to ensure is that the place you stay is in a good location, clean with modern fittings and friendly staff and the Blue Peaks definitely fits this description.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stayt at Blue Peaks Lodge.

We are please to read the positive feedback we have been receiving lately. Thank you to everyone who has taken the time write a review.

We look forward to seeing you when you stay with us on your next trip to Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Second time staying here, this time I was staying on the section on Sydney street on the 2nd level. Room was clean and comfortable and very spacious. Location is pretty good, just a short stroll into town if you know the shortcut (be warned the walk back is up a very steep hill). I had a room with a fully equipped kitchen which was very handy! Service was a little hit and miss; when I arrived to check in I was the one to initiate the conversation as the lady just sort of looked at me expectantly, it only seemed to be one staff member in particular who had this bit of an attitude- the rest were very pleasant. Only a few small criticisms- there was a very bright porch light near the rear door of the room and whilst there is a blind for the door and window it doesn't stop this light streaming through of a night. The whole room was illuminated and as my sleep is easily effected by light I had to rig up a towel and hang clothes over the blinds in an attempt to stop some of the light. Perhaps this lights could be dimmer or be able to switch them off? Probably could do with a few more parks on this side of the complex, had to park on the street a few times, which isn't desirable when you're in a rental. Wifi situation was the least economical of all my stays; most other places would give you say 30 mins to use and this could be used in seperate blocks, however here if you purchased 30mins of time, you had to use it all in one sitting. Skip it and go to an internet cafe in town.
Overall a pretty great place to stay with only a few minor flaws (and really thats being picky). Have stayed twice now and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Peaks Lodge

Address: 11 Sydney Street | P.O. Box 17, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#36 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, modern motel accommodation in 1 & 2 bedroom or studio units, most with kitchen facilities. All of our clean and comfortable guest rooms have ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, Sky Digital TV and complimentary WiFi internet. Ideal family accommodation and one child under 5 years stays free. Two bedroom wheelchair accessible unit (sleeps up to 4). Blue Peaks has an on-site guest laundry and a friendly reception team available from 07:30 - 22:00 hours. We also offer free off-street parking, free DVD hire, luggage and cycle storage and daily room servicing. We can serve a continental breakfast to your room. Blue Peaks Lodge is conveniently located an easy 5 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Peaks Hotel Queenstown
Blue Peaks Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Peaks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.