We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready for an upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Queenstown Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Queenstown Central to your Saves list
YHA Queenstown Central
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   48A Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly McFees)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ready for an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 4 bed en suite mixed dorm room. Strange that YHA are renovating the front facing exterior of the building. The rooms, interior in general and prices are more in need of an urgent upgrade. The mattress and pillow case were very uncomfortable. Not enough hooks or socket points. Shower and en suite was good. There is noise from the renovation works from about 08.30 each morning. There is also some street noise, and in particular, from the Altitude bar into the early hours.
Rooms, decor and the interior in general is late 70's, early 80's style. If it wasn't for the really clean and well kept kitchen, along with the lake view dining area, I'm afraid I would have been disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    47
    24
    12
    0
See reviews for
10
31
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a nice stay in Queenstown, hostel is centrally located. We rented a private ensuite room and it was perfect for our needs, Due to its location it is a little noisy from the street. It wasn't too bad considering it was New Years. The hostel was safe and secure. All in all we had a nice stay here. Plenty of activites, bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Hostel is suited for all ages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is kind of dated but very functional with good sized double rooms. The kitchen is very nice with amazing views of the lake. the reception was open regularly and offered trip/activity booking and advice. You can't beat the location and it was very quiet for the 4 nights we stayed there. Wifi was cheap and relatively fast. We had friends staying in Base and Nomads and we all thought that YHA Central was the best value and location for us.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen TV. It did get quite stuffy in the room with no air con but the windows opened a little.

The kitchen and communal seating area was spotless. Lots of cooking equipment and crockery and good recycling facilities. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. One word of warning, take the door code with you as the door is locked at 10pm with no other way in!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in room #132 and #133 with ensuite and full kitchen.

Pluses
+Right in the middle of town
+Super friendly and helpful staff. They entertained all of our questions about the various activities available and helped us choose things to do.

Minuses
-Because of how central the location is, there is no parking
-This also goes for the noise level...Our rooms were also facing a bar that blasted music into the morning light
-Our rooms were right next to the doors to our floor and every time the door would open or close, we would hear the door and then our doors would rattle loudly.
-Dated building and interior

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went in June with friends for a snowboarding trip.

Positives:
First impressions excellent. Location right in the heart of the town. The room we stayed in was excellent, we were expecting a very average quality room for what we had paid, which was 2 beds and a bathroom. We ended up getting a nice little court yard with some nice views of the mountains which was a surprise. The common room was good with excellent views, although the balcony was tiny. There was also a great mix of people from many backgrounds and cultures.

Negatives:
Storage room for snowboarding and luggage was packed to the brink, not much room at all in there.

Common room closed at around 9pm, meaning no late night meals or tv etc.

The main negative was at night time they had a watchman that patrolled the rooms. He was not very friendly at all and when we got back from a night out alittle noisey just 3 of us. He attacked us with questions asking what room we were in etc. when we had gotten back to our room he came back with our booking papers and said that only 2 people were booked for a room and no guests we allowed even though the 'guest' had a room just down the corridor. We asked him why we were not allowed to sit and have a chat in our room and he said that if the person did not leave he would cancel our stay with no refund. The person left but lator came back to retrieve stuff they had left, the watchman opened the door without knocking and threatened us with the cancel of stay. Leaving us feeling like we were treated like children on a school camp or something.

Room Tip: I would suggest paying that little bit extra for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a great stay here. The hostel is clean, modern , secure and very central to everything in Queenstown. Staff were very friendly and courteous.We had our own private room ( one double bed and one single)with an ensuite, tv and even our own balcony complete with sunchairs. The communual kitchen and lounge had picture postcard views over lake Wakatipu and the Earnslaw as it steamed in and out of port. Windows were double glazed and the only noise was a wee bit from other guests returning later at night which of course you could get wherever you stay. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Queenstown Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Queenstown Central

Address: 48A Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly McFees)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Queenstown Central 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel couldn’t be more aptly named – nestled between the Wakatipu lakefront and Shotover St, it's right in the rapidly beating heart of this famous little resort town of Queenstown. Everything is on your doorstep – cafes, bars, restaurants and the waterfront with all its activities. Previously part of the ‘Old Mountaineer Hotel,’ one of the first hotels in Queenstown, all the accommodations at the YHA Queenstown Central hostel include en-suites and TVs (with free movies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Queenstown Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Queenstown Central Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Queenstown Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.