We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Queenstown to your Saves list
Bella Vista Queenstown
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   36 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Good overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We only stayed here for a single night and booked through the iSite. The motel is located next to the school playing fields and is only a short walk from the town centre even with wheelchair.

Our room was comfortable and well equipped. No free internet voucher was provided (the only place we in NZ we stayed at without some free access) but we still had the voucher we had been given free at another Bella Vista and the voucher code worked allowing us access.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Bella Vista Queenstown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi thanks for taking the time to log your thoughts - we are pleased to read you found the location suited your requirements!! We are very lucky to be only a stones throw away from the centre of Queenstown -
We hope you enjoyed your trip to Queenstown and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit town.

With thanks,
The Team at Bella Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    87
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
129
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Very warm and helpful welcome and continuous support from the front desk staff.

Consistently clean, compact room but very well configured with modern trimmings all in good order plus comfortable bed.

Excellent location on reasonably quiet street with close access to town or gondola.

Bathroom very good quality, excellent shower.

Complimentary limited wifi welcome.

Only downside is noisy guests upstairs, clomp clomp!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Bella Vista Queenstown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi thanks for your commentss - it was great to read that you felt well looked after by the team at Bella Vista and you found your room clean and most importantly you had a good sleep in a comfortable bed!!
We have recently introduced the complimentary 250 MB Wifi on check in - and it seems to be very well received.
Thanks for your kind comments, we hope to host you again next time you visit Queenstown.

With thanks,
Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here over winter for a snowboarding holiday. Great location, got to watch the paragliders land through our window. Easy 10 minute walk to town or to the bus to the slopes. Hosts were very friendly and gave us some great tips on where to eat. Would recommend to my friends. Even closer walk to the supermarket.

Room was compact, but it was comfortable with heating and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We used this motel as a base so my partner and I could travel around the Queenstown area and Otago. Perfect setting, only 10 minutes from town on foot, and we had a spot to park the rental car each day - or could leave it parked if we went on foot. We had a room with kitchenette which was perfect, they even provided a plunger (cafetierre) for the coffee. Nice clean cutlery. Spacious room, comfortable bed. We used the laundry room several times: washer and dryer. So convenient over a fortnight. We found everything was very clean, the room was serviced daily by a lovely team. The reception staff were all very friendly and really helpful. Good selection of rooms, ours was up a flight of stairs (not a problem for us) and each room had a balcony area to sit outside if you wished. Wifi worked well. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: we had a studio room with kitchenette - room 21 - no problems at all with it. Up a flight of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Bella Vista Queenstown, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Sue, thanks for taking the time to log a review of your recent stay at Bella Vista Queenstown.
It's great to read you were happy with your stay and felt the room/amenities and Wifi met your requirements. We are very lucky to be situated so close to Qtwn central, many guests enjoy the short flat walk in to town!
We are also really pleased you both felt well looked after and the team were friendly and helpful, we aim to ensure every guest is well looked after and that they leave with a positive impression, so its good to know we are getting it right! We will be sharing your comments with both the housekeeping team as well as the Front office team.

Thanks again and we trust you had a safe journey home!

With thanks again,

Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had two nights last week at the Bella Vista in Queenstown. Whilst nice and quiet location just a little bit too far to walk in and out of the town. We booked a large studio room and the room was spacious and very clean. Our bed was extremely comfortable. Shower over bath had no handrail. Albetit badly needs redecorating including the furnishings. The big negative came from my husband when he realised the room didnt have Sky!!! and the cricket was on!!! However it was very reasonably priced and the gorgeous Irish girl on duty was just delightful and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Bella Vista Queenstown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Grania,
Thank you for taking the time to log your review - we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that the room was spacious and spotless - we will pass those comments on to the Housekeeping team, as they work very hard to maintain those standards.
Regarding your comments about Sky TV - the decision was made to cease offering Sky TV throughout Bella Vista Queenstown several months ago, since then we now offer Freeview throughout all of the rooms and we will also soon be able to offer a constant stream of films/documentaries that will stream constantly throughout the rooms.

It is always interesting receiving guest feedback, as many people have such varying comments and opinions - you mention that the walk in to town was slightly too far, yet we are one of the closest Motels to central Queenstown, coupled with the fact that being located on Robins Road means we are on the only flat road, therefore there are no hills and it only takes only 4 mins to get from the Motel to the top of Shotover Street, which is the heart of Queenstown.

We do aim to please every guest, but on occasion differing expectations means we can try our best but it may not always meet the mark, as some things are out of our control.
We hope you will opt to stay with us again in the future, as ensuring excellent cleanliness and wonderful guest service is a strong focus of ours.

With thanks,

Lee Exell - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We couldn't find anything to fault here. Bella Vista Queenstown is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. I was expecting the hill that it's on to be quite steep but it was the opposite, with hardly any gradient at all (so an easy walk back too). The staff were very helpful indeed. The rooms are modern and clean. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Bella Vista Queenstown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Steve, thanks for your review - great to know that you were pleasantly surprised to find Bella Vista is a flat walk in to Queenstown - as you mentioned, it only takes a few minutes to walk in to the centre of town, which is ideal for guests.

We are also glad to know you felt well looked after and we hope to host you both again next time you are visiting Queenstown.

With thanks again,

Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A very clean compact room situated on a quiet street within walking distane of the town centre. There was a charge for wifi but we were not told this and assumed it was free like the bella vista in franz josef. When we returned to our room after eating and decided to use wifi, reception was closed. Very annoying

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Bella Vista Queenstown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for your comments. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed re the Wifi as we do offer 250 MB of complimentary wifi on check in to all guests who request access.
As new owners, we have just taken this step to offer complimentary wifi as our aim is to enhance the guests experience whilst at Bella Vista.
On the positive, it is good to know you found the location quiet and close to central Qtwn!

We hope that next time you are visiting Queenstown you do opt to return as we promise to ensure you are given the wifi on check in to enjoy during your stay.

With thanks,
Lee Exell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Queenstown

Address: 36 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - Bella Vista Queenstown is the perfect place to stay, being only a short, flat 3 min walk to central Q'twn. If you are looking for clean, comfortable & affordable accommodation in a central quiet location, then look no further! Bella Vista is a 4 star Qualmark rated complex, with a variety of room/studio options to suit both couples, families, corporate & group travelers. Situated right next to the playing fields, looking up to the Gondola, surrounded by gorgeous alpine scenery. Shops, Supermarkets and a variety of Restaurants, cafe's & bars are all within walking distance. Enjoy complimentary Wifi on check in, plenty of on site parking. So close to all the activities Qtwn has to offer! Our warm friendly & informative service will make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. Relax & watch the tandem paragliders land in the field next door to the complex after a days skiing or sightseeing! We look forward to hosting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Bella Vista Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.