We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Sheep Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Sheep Backpackers
13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Hi, this is James , i would like to thank you to Black Sheep, i was enjoying spa and good Service ,there are very quite, warm, friendly places, and it is near to the town, just 2 minutes walk to the town, i will come back again, strong recommended this backpacker lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi James, thanks for taking the time to review us. and glad you loved the staff, spa, warm and quiet nature of the lodge and being 2 minutes to the town. we look forward to your next visit to the Black Sheep Backpackers Lodge :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    32
    17
    16
See reviews for
5
54
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

As a study abroad student in New Zealand, I was used to no heat, limited wifi, and lack of general other "necessities." For 25 dollars, we had a central location, comfortable beds, unlimited free wifi, free access to bikes and a hot tub, as much heat as our heart desired. It was an awesome backpackers inn and not outrageously expensive! Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Fitness center being free bikes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are really Happy that for $25 our low season dorm rate you got all and more than you needed by the sounds of it...lol, HEAT, WIFI, EXTRA STUFF, bikes, spa, new beds etc and lots of outdoor space hope fill your list i can see and thats great. Our aim is to provide us much as we can for the best price and we are glad you could enjoy this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mold
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

centraly located . just a 5 minute walk into the town.
limited parking but plenty of on street parking.
unfortunatly had a basement room so was rather dark and noisy next to the car park.
great decking area
limited seating in the kitchen dining area
friendly hospitable staff
good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Again another guest liking the location which is great (as that's something we cant really change lol). glad you manged to find parking either in the car park or on street which is free and safe.
Sorry you had some noise during your stay but got to enjoy the deck area with spa and BBQs. we have added a small bench in the kitchen to seat more people and hope to add more seating in the future during further improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I definitely recommend this hostel .. is comfortable and you have a very friendly reception, where you can schedule all your tours from there! Easy to make new friendships and pleasant environment, really close to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for recommending The Black Sheep as a friendly and comfortable location. Pleased that you found the relaxed lounge and deck areas a great place to meet like minded travelers from NZ and around the globe. Also good to take advantage of our location and we really hope to see you again. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Inexpensive accommodation, very comfortable beds and clean ablution facilities. Located very close to central city area. just 10 minutes from all the action.. Excellent heating in rooms, clean linen and overall excellent reception servic. Free WiFi internet connection and two computers avaialble in lounge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliana s, General Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to respond to us. very glad you found our newer beds comfortable, and just a short stroll to the action and nice and clean. Also the new heating system we can see made for a comfortable stay. Due to the popularity of free internet we now have added an extra computer free in the lounge for guests to use. we hope you stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've stayed at several different backpackers on frequent visits to Queenstown and this is my favourite. Beds are comfortable and dorms are warm. Kitchen is excellent. Lounge is cosy and love the movie nights with popcorn on Sunday night. The spa is great, as is the free internet. Occasionally, other houseguests can be a bit noisy, but hey, this is Queenstown. Staff are all friendly and helpful. I won't stay anywhere else. Too convenient. So easy to find a free car park. Anyone who doesn't think that this is excellent accomodation should book into the Millenium up the road and pay the price. This is great value for money.

Room Tip: Just ask at the reception for room options and they will always oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hey Guys,

So good to hear you have tried a few places in Queenstown and you found us the best! as there are many options. new beds serve our customers well. glad you liked the well equipped kitchen. and the bonus of the movie night and comfy warm lounge with the log fire. Free Spa & internet again a winner. sorry you had a couple of other people a bit noisy our location aims for chilled, relaxed people and we try and keep tabs on the noise from our onsite team of night staff. car parking at this location is easy if our car park is full.

again the third review i have responded to today equal of a hotel value so thats wonderful thanks so much, reception will always try and accommodate your requests.

We would love to have you stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Black Sheep is a great place to stay in Queenstown if you are looking for value for money accomodation close to town and are happy to share your space with energetic international travellers. The double room we had was warm and comfortable. The very clean bathrooms and kitchen facilities equaled many of the more expensive motels we have visited and the friendly and helpful staff made a very good impression on us. We took advantage of the free 4 hour mountain bike hire service to get out and about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliana s, Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hey Guys,

So happy you loved our location and loved the standard of the double room, kitchen and clean bathrooms, similar standard to that of an expensive hotel or motel :-)

the free internet WIFI, computers and free bikes seem to be a real winner so that's great to hear again from another valued customer and we always strive to offer the best 5 star service.

We hope to have you stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Black Sheep Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 75 Specialty lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Sheep Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Black Sheep Backpackers to your Saves list