We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights in Queenstown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Queenstown Lakeside to your Saves list
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    1,003
    257
    61
    18
See reviews for
501
964
140
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I've stayed at many novo tells, but I was not impressed with this one at all. The room felt dirty, grey, dull and there was smell of dampness in the room. The interior was old and it felt like I had stepped back to 1980s. The lobby was noisy and badly coordinated - people everywhere. Even the bathroom n towels were dirty. Not worth the money! Queenstown is beautiful though.only good thing is location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear PekingDuck123

Thank you for your response - it was disappointing to hear that your experience of our Hotel was not as you would have expected.

Without further information it is difficult to identify what the issues were that you faced and why this was the case - the vast majority of our guests have positive feedback for us.

The smell of dampness is of concern . Since you stayed with us we have identified a room that appears to have had an issue with water seeping in under a door to the outside garden - this issue has been remedied and we believe will have fixed the issue being faced. Of course this may or may not have been the issue that you faced so I have asked our Housekeeping team to be particularly vigilent to see if there are any other issues,

If you do have any specific comments you would like to make please contact me at Jim.Moore@accor.com and I will see what I can do to assist.

It was good to see that you enjoyed Queenstown and that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel. We hope that you will understand that the issue you faced is not a regular comment for us and that we will take action to over come the issue you have raised.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Novotel is in a great location in Queenstown.
Very modern and comfortable with lifts.
It is a level 5 minutes ( Max ) to the main drag and all the buzz.
Buying a dining/ entertainment card is good value as adults are 2-4-1 and kids eat free. The food is very good. It can be used at any Accor hotel as well.
It is 1 minute to the beautiful lake.
If you are skiing, the ski bus stops here and is one of the first stops so you can get a good seat. Cardrona is the best resort in my opinion !
We got a 20 dollar taxi here from the airport. Customs are very strict regarding mud and dirty shoes and will give you a hefty fine if you get busted......

Room Tip: Level 3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear EoinL
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us during your winter holiday in September.
Great to hear that you enjoyed our ideal in-town and lakeside location as well as the nearby ski fields. We look forward to welcoming you back this winter.
Kind regards
Mia McGregor
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel. We arrived in the evening and have no complaints. Check in was simple and as Accor members we were given vouchers for a complimentary drink at the bar for that day. We were late getting back and didn't use them but were given the option of using them after we had checked out,

We had a nice room on the lakeside, It was clean, comfortable and quiet. It is a really nice hotel and we would have liked to stay longer. No complaints at all,.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Eat_Sleep_Play

Thanks for your review - we really hope to see you for longer next time. Queenstown is so easy to get to from Sydney and offers a different experience all year around.

We look forward to having you back.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Spent two nights here. Great, central location. Only minutes from the lake shore via well tended gardens.
We had a ground floor room so not much of a view or privacy but still pleasant. The only real problem was the overwhelming smell of damp throughout the room. Breakfasts were very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear travellersince78,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we appreciate all of our guest comments.

It's pleasing to read you enjoyed our great location and being so close to lake. A lot of our guests enjoy being on the ground floor, with the easy access from your room to the outside world - something very much a personal preference. It was nice to read that you found breakfast to be good and able to start you on your day well.

Thanks again for the review.

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with contemporary decor and attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown’s iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel recently underwent a major refurbishment and offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features inspiring artwork by renowned New Zealand artists, comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.